SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1091 (Marrakesh Drawstring Pants)

12 more reviews
Viewed 910 times 
Reviewed by:Michelle L
photo

 
 
About Michelle Lstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 1/20/08
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/10 9:23 PM
Last Updated:1/23/10 9:16 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 49 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pammieh said...
Great review - I have the Hot Patterns Hello Sailor pants and I am waiting until I get more skills - great tip and superb pants!
1/21/10 9:27 PM
michellep74 said...
Great looking pants and a very helpful review.
1/21/10 9:44 PM
katlew03 said...
Thanks for a great review. You gave a lot of information. I have been thinking about trying this pattern company, and am glad you gave so many tips and instructions.
1/21/10 9:44 PM
Elona said...
What a thoughtful review! Black always is difficult in photos, but the line of the pants looks very good.
1/21/10 10:07 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Love the pants! Enjoyed reading your detailed review. Thanks for posting
1/21/10 10:20 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
great review, thanks for taking the extra time in explanations. I second everything you said! You look quite sleek in these--& I love the pocket lining :)
1/22/10 2:10 AM
JAS said...
Thank you for your thorough review and your comments on this "issue." I agree with you and felt the criticism of Hot Patterns on the board was quite unfair.
1/22/10 2:46 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for such a helpful and thorough review. This review is going to be helpful to anyone who sews these up. I can't wait to get this pattern up and running for myself. The fit looks great - enjoy your pants!
1/22/10 6:42 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Very helpful, informative, objective review..packed with useful information. I totally agree with your reluctance to post a review. Even though I've only posted a few reviews, after reading that discussion thread, I am not sure if I will ever post another review here...a shame, because I have about 5 ready to post, but don't want to face any "slings or arrows"...sigh.
1/22/10 6:50 AM
librarylady said...
Thanks for a great review. Your pants are very elegant. I agree with what you said about Hot Patterns...
1/22/10 7:54 AM
ElizabethDee said...
Love your version, including your secret zebra pockets! Thank you for going to so much effort to walk everyone through this pattern, especially after the many upsetting comments in that thread. Thank you also for reminding people that HotPatterns labels this pattern for advanced beginners, although when the results are as successful as yours I can see why a novice would want to try them right away.
1/22/10 9:12 AM
becca a said...
What wonderful, flattering pants. Thank you for the very thorough review! They look superb and your review is very thorough and helpful. I'm glad you posted your review despite the mean spirited comments in that thread.
1/22/10 9:32 AM
ClioBklyn said...
Wow! Thanks for your very thoughtful review.
1/22/10 12:08 PM
Sewing Chick said...
What a great review! I just started using Hot Patterns and love them. After your review, I may have to try this one!
1/22/10 1:11 PM
cindyann said...
Great review!
1/23/10 10:52 AM
Heatherrique said...
Michelle, wonderful review and cool looking pants as a result. I have found HP patterns not for the timid. I don't know why I continue to buy HP despite questionable directions. But one thing I learned is not every pattern fits right out of the envelope...Enjoy wearing your new pants!
1/23/10 11:05 AM
MasoumaRose said...
Brava! I'm so glad to see another review of the Marrakesh pants readily available. The pants look great. I also appreciate your diplomatic take on the discussion. I think that there are more sewists who recognize that pattern reviews are not to be confused with sewing lessons. Well done all around!
1/23/10 11:17 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Thanks for taking a deep breath and posting this review for one of my favorite pair of pants, in an intelligent, helpful, and objective manner. Yours look great - loved your blog post on them too. ;-)
1/23/10 1:23 PM
Maree P said...
Thank you for an excellent review. I am pleased you took the considerable time to do this - it is very helpful.
1/23/10 3:40 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
I agree exactly with Debbie Cook's comments about your review. Thank you so much for putting this review up. I need to post my review also as I think this is an excellent pattern. I would love to see this pattern in the top 10 next year!
1/23/10 5:54 PM
Peggy said...
What a thorough and helpful review. Thank you so much. I would love to try these pants sometime and have added it to my wish list.
1/23/10 6:00 PM
gabrielle said...
Thanks for the great review and your hepful comments. It's great motivation for me to finally get started on these pants.
1/23/10 8:51 PM
keelyb1 said...
Thanks for the very thorough review. I was a bit nervous posting a review after reading that thread too, but figured the best I could do was say that I hadn't noticed any issues. I do hope the thread doesn't put people off.
1/25/10 4:24 PM
OP Gal said...
Great review. I'm with you, every pair of pants I've ever made has that peak where the inseams meet. I just adjust the crotch curve like you do. Your pants look great from the front and the back.
6/30/10 4:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2010-105

photo
by: yoshimi

Review
McCall's 5811

photo
by: Josnazz

Review
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now