Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8620 (JACKET) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1040 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:sew2little
photo
Friend of PR
About sew2littlestar
CA USA
Member since: 1/12/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/10 7:33 PM
Last Updated:1/30/10 7:05 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DaisyEsq said...
Thank you for a great review. Your jacket looks wonderful.
1/22/10 7:44 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I was thinking this pattern would be boxy but on you it looks very shapely. Thanks for taking the time to include a photo on you. It's helpful, as was your review.
1/22/10 8:29 PM
Fashions said...
Absolutely LOVE it! Love the collar and I actually like the sleeve length too. I had my eye on that pattern for a while now. If I decide to make it I probably won't lengthen the sleeves.
1/22/10 9:51 PM
Patti B said...
Oh, I like it! And of course you need another jacket in this style. It looks as if it will be great with pants or a pencil skirt (your favorite -- not).
1/22/10 10:07 PM
moushka said...
Great looking jacket, very flattering. Thanks for a thoughtful review.
1/22/10 10:29 PM
Fictionfan said...
Excellent review, thanks! Looks great on you, better than I thought the pattern could look. Great collar for you, flattering jacket. Very Nice!
1/22/10 10:38 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for the review. You have certainly paved the way for the rest of us to make successful jackets.
1/22/10 10:40 PM
Michelle99 said...
Great jacket. I didn't look twice at this pattern, but now I might. Is the zipper uncomfortable around your chin when it's zipped up? Or would you just not wear it zipped all the way?
1/23/10 4:08 AM
Rebecca D said...
Your jacket is fantastic, thanks for such a helpful review, especially as regards sizing which is often a challenge with Marcy Tilton patterns. You should totally make this jacket again with the graffiti pattern and orange zipper. As for styling, I think it looks great with your jeans and I wonder if you could wear it over a simple shift/sheath dress.
1/23/10 8:11 AM
lmg said...
Oh thanks for the review. I have this cut out and with your info I think I will cut it down a size. Lovely jacket.
1/23/10 12:42 PM
sew2little said...
Thanks, everyone! Michelle99--the zipper stands away from the body when it's all zipped up like a giant turtleneck, so the zipper isn't a problem, but it's probably not a look I'd wear. When I zip it up a bit more, it looks fine.
1/23/10 2:28 PM
lamstu said...
Very cute and wearable muslin! I am still on the fence about this jacket. Thanks in particular for mentioning your experience of trying to pair it with a skirt.
1/23/10 10:40 PM
Jane S said...
WOw, I love how this turned out. You look so chic in this jacket. I've been wondering about getting this pattern but it's so wearable but cool, too. bravo!
1/24/10 1:52 AM
Kay Y said...
Your jacket looks fabulous on you - casual but surprisingly shapely, and lovely neckline. I hadn't considered this pattern at all but now ... hmmm.
1/24/10 2:33 PM
crazygrad said...
That jacket rocks the casbah! I really love the Clash!
1/30/10 7:20 PM
Barbara V said...
Marci, Both of your jackets are fabulous. One being denim and the other an artsy print lends to a feel of completely different jacket styles. Your fine tuning the fit and proportions make them look just right for you. Nice work and very helpful review!
1/30/10 7:41 PM
kkkkaty said...
oh, gosh, I love it....
1/30/10 8:09 PM
digs57 said...
That looks like the perfect jacket for warmer weather. The open neckline is very flattering. It looks fabulous in that fabric.
1/31/10 8:04 AM
carolynw said...
gorgeous - your jacket is so eye catching in the nicest way. great review
1/31/10 9:38 AM
Rebecca D said...
Love it in the latest fabric - just stunning!
1/31/10 9:51 AM
DorothyK said...
Fantastic jacket, and of course I love the fabric. Next time I should ask you to shop for me.
2/1/10 0:45 AM
marjenann said...
Striking jacket!! Love what you did with this fabric!!
2/2/10 7:42 AM
Patti B said...
Gosh, I hadn't seen version 2! Nice!
3/2/10 7:36 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I love your version with such unique fabric. I looks great.
5/31/10 8:20 AM
Michele W said...
I adore this fabric! Your jacket looks fabulous on you.
4/6/11 6:02 PM
marec said...
Wonderful jacket-I love that grafitti print.
10/28/11 8:57 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm stalking your pattern reviews to get ideas. This jacket is so originally wonderful. I love how the right fabric can make a pattern go from so-so to terrific. You have a good eye for what will bring a garment to the "next level".
2/17/12 7:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 3698
photo
Review by Saint Nolt... on 1/7/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2007-102 Dress
photo
Review by samiroquai on 6/3/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1547 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1547 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6203 Pattern
New Look 6203 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us