SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB041LI (The Liverpool)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1100 times 
Reviewed by:donna mel
photo

 
 
About donna melstar
MA USA
Member since: 3/7/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/10 2:33 PM
Last Updated:8/5/10 6:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy said...
This is such a sharp tunic. Love your fabric. Thanks for your review.
1/24/10 3:05 PM
kacy22 said...
Beautiful! I made this tunic (haven't done a review) and found the same "issues" you did. I love your fabric choice. Great job!
1/24/10 3:22 PM
busymomof3 said...
I love this on you!! I have been trying decide on this pattern but think it's a go now! I like the back on the fold, no design break-up :)
1/24/10 3:53 PM
busymomof3 said...
oops, double posted.
1/24/10 3:53 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Beautiful tunic, and it fits you so well! I haven't tried any of Amy's clothing either, so thank you so much for this review! Strange that she left out all of those picture views!
1/24/10 8:19 PM
crazygrad said...
groovin', on a sunday afternoon... like it!
1/24/10 8:57 PM
Birgitte said...
You look fantastic in this, I love it. And..."Dear AMY, please give us your bright and fabulous designs in something more than heavy weight cottons." lol I'm so with you, that would be awesome!
1/24/10 9:37 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Thank you so much for your review. You look terrific in your tunic! I have this pattern but have been hesitant to make it because of the sizing. I think I might give it a try now.
1/25/10 0:09 AM
lamstu said...
Love the tunic. You certainly succeeded in your quest for color! (I am in that boat with you.)
1/25/10 6:39 AM
CCQ said...
Looks great on you! I have the pattern and am about ready to cut. Ditto on the Amy Butler heavy cotton!
1/25/10 11:11 AM
JodieT said...
Thank you for your review. I have been hesitant to buy this pattern, but have been so drawn to it. I made her Cabo Halter and was not pleased with it. It needed a lot of altering. It was too short waisted for me, big at the bottom and too tight in the boobs. I am going to try again. I really like the back without the center back seam. It seems to me a lot of independent designers break up patterns a lot with center seam when there really is not need.
1/29/10 3:25 PM
RobinMCPA said...
I love your tunic!! It really looks great on you. I also like that you cut the back on the fold - I will do this too when I make this pattern. No pattern breakup and will also give me a little extra room in the back. Great review!
2/2/10 4:55 PM
PippaM said...
You can see some good pictures on pink chalk studio's blog (especially the sleeve with button).
2/15/10 11:02 PM
donna mel said...
PippaM, thanks for the blog info...i searched hi and low and couldn't find the photos, tho.
2/16/10 7:18 AM
busymomof3 said...
I found the link http://pinkchalkstudio.com/blog/2009/11/13/review-amy-butler-the-liverpool-sewing-pattern/ . Also, I'm getting ready to make this top so I emailed Debbie on the AB site and asked for a drawing or directions on the sleeve cuff. She sent me both immediately.
2/24/10 11:14 AM
donna mel said...
Thanks for sending that link! her photo really does help.
2/25/10 7:15 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous blouse! Thanks also for the helpful review. I like this pattern but without a line drawing I had no idea about the details and I won't purchase a pattern unless I know what I'm getting.
3/24/10 6:10 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Sorry triple post. I'm having issues with the new comment format.
3/24/10 6:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Yeah silly me again. See above. :)
3/24/10 6:12 PM
kimmieal said...
great fabric choice, and lots of good tips on how the pattern was tweaked to suit her! thanks!
4/2/10 2:17 AM
ryansmumAria said...
wow! I absolutely love how that top looks on you. I want one now!
8/6/10 0:03 AM
JessB said...
awesome! Well done - it looks gorgeous. I want one too!!!
8/6/10 0:32 AM
MNBarb said...
I think tunics are a great look for you. It looks so good with the wider cropped pants. I really like the fitted style on you, very flattering!
8/9/10 10:19 PM
koolchicken said...
The top looks great, I think you did a really nice job. If you're looking for additional photos Amy Butlers site has them. Just look under the insperation tab, it shows the backside. I like to look there before I begin her patterns and save the photos to look at while sewing.
12/14/10 9:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 4074

photo
by: maria 6705

Review
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now