SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2009-114 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1080 times 
Reviewed by:Mahler
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mahlerstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/28/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/10 11:59 PM
Last Updated:1/30/10 0:01 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristineX said...
I love love love this dress!
7/15/10 10:54 AM
Corinne said...
Your review is fantastic! And... you look fabulous in that dress! Also, with not being able to read the instructions and with all the alterations, you are also a fantastic seamstress!
2/11/10 12:35 PM
LindsayT said...
Très chic, n'est-ce pas?!
2/1/10 4:55 PM
Catbird said...
How fascinating, Anne-Marie! Gaudi's work is wonderful; such a free imagination.
2/1/10 9:47 AM
senaSews said...
Beautiful LBD! Wow, great work!
2/1/10 3:52 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Bee-utiful!!
1/31/10 11:13 PM
Mahler said...
I think I have a budding architect. For the 7 years he has been drawin only buildings and for the past 5 years or so he reads only architecture books. In march 2011 we are going to Barcelona to see all Gaudi's building, his wish.
1/31/10 8:55 PM
Catbird said...
That's so sweet. You might have a budding designer there!
1/31/10 7:53 PM
Mahler said...
Janie, my son was very pleased with the final result. He stated that THIS is a real cocktail dress.
1/31/10 5:32 PM
Catbird said...
This looks INCREDIBLE on you. The neckline and unusual armhole are so flattering, and the bolero is perfect on top. I think having the godets only in the side seams was a brilliant mistake! It gives such a sleek silhouette. I love that fabric (and the necklace, too). Was your son pleased with the result? He's got a good eye for fashion! I like both his pattern choices. This is so beautiful and so chic and I love all the pictures. Congratulations to you and your students on the prize!
1/31/10 1:59 PM
Kellie R. said...
Congratulations on your second place! The dress, however is the grand prize! Gorgeous, chic, classic all wrapped in one. Great job.
1/30/10 10:00 PM
sew2little said...
As usual, your dress is fabulous and you look fabulous in it!
1/30/10 8:16 PM
Diane E said...
"bla bla cheri" -- ha ha cherie! Loved the review and the dress is utterly gorgeous. Très élégant.
1/30/10 8:10 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Stunning dress and a great review. Love all the photos.
1/30/10 5:20 PM
Kay Y said...
The dress is super nice, but I'm so jealous that you got to sit next to Gregory Charles!!! I bet he loved your dress...
1/30/10 5:04 PM
MissCelie said...
Stunning and classy!
1/30/10 3:22 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW, Anne-Marie, you are truly stunning in this little confection that you've concocted. I love the "go with the flow fashion" of the godets only at the sides. I like it BETTER this way. The bolero is the perfect addition, as is your dad's necklace that he gave you. I hope you have LOTS of occasions to wear this dress, and I KNOW you can find a way to dress it down a bit if necessary, so you CAN wear it LOTS AND LOTS! :o) Mucho Love-isimo to you. :o)
1/30/10 2:12 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a classy dress! It will be a workhorse LBD for you. :-)
1/30/10 2:10 PM
nellc said...
Stunning dress, the square neckline on this is so pretty.
1/30/10 1:04 PM
becca a said...
You look so glamorous! What a lovely dress. Your review is excellent, as always.
1/30/10 12:37 PM
Twinset said...
J'adore cette petite robe noire!!! Seriously, you are so sexy and elegant in this! Your fabric is wonderful and I just love the neckline. Très chic et très classe.
1/30/10 12:33 PM
Brine said...
Absolutely stunning dress!
1/30/10 11:46 AM
mochimo said...
So classy! (aaarrgh, I don't have this issue of Burda mag :-(
1/30/10 11:42 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow, there's a great dress hiding under that awful shoulder flouf that Burda shows! It looks fabulous...nice paring with the Vogue shrug, too. They look meant for each other. ;)
1/30/10 11:40 AM
sewbehind said...
Love the dress. It is beautiful. I thought your review was very humourous. Loved it!
1/30/10 11:25 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ooh la la, you look so fine and fabulous in this dress! Where have you been all this time? I enjoyed your fun and informative review. Definitely glamour, fame, and admiration is on YOUR side, yes it is, yes it is!
1/30/10 11:11 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous dress! I agree with Nancy K that your dress fits you better than the model's dress fits her. I so enjoyed your very, very helpful review! You photograph beautifully, by the way, so I am certain that you look gorgeous and elegant on video, as well. I am inspired by your successful project!
1/30/10 10:52 AM
Immelu said...
You look fantastic in this dress. I love the neckline on you.
1/30/10 10:34 AM
emeraldjul said...
Stunning!
1/30/10 10:05 AM
Mahler said...
Thank you Nancy, this is such a great tip. I will look for it. Thank you for the wonderful comments, this site is such an inspiration.
1/30/10 9:58 AM
okie2thdoc said...
You look amazing. Thanks for the tip on the godets.
1/30/10 9:56 AM
Nancy K said...
It's a lovely dress and looks great on you. You may not be totally happy with the fit, but it fits you better than the model. Susan Khalje wrote an article in Threads several years ago about using boning in other than strapless tops. One example was precisely like your wide neckline. It keeps it flat and close to your body.
1/30/10 9:37 AM
carolynw said...
Talk about your dream LBD - this it in spades. Simple - elegant and you look marvellous as always - great review
1/30/10 9:34 AM
DorothyK said...
Stunning dress. I love it with the jacket and the beautiful jewelry. Well done!
1/30/10 9:31 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
A wonderful, helpful & funny review--as usual!! You look m-a-r-v-e-l-o-u-s, cherie!! ;)
1/30/10 8:38 AM
Denise L Perry said...
Absolutely stunning! Thank you for a wonderful review!
1/30/10 8:19 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
Beautiful!
1/30/10 7:42 AM
digs57 said...
Perfectly chic! Will you tell us the pattern number of the Vogue bolero?
1/30/10 7:26 AM
Claire in Montreal said...
Absolutely beautiful !
1/30/10 6:42 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Excellent review and beautiful dress! That neckline is gorgeous and I'd overlooked it in the magazine because of that big flower!
1/30/10 5:57 AM
Michelle L said...
Very pretty! Love the fabric.
1/30/10 5:44 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful! much more elegant than the burda version! and the fabric looks gorgeous!
1/30/10 3:55 AM
SpinningJenny said...
I always love to see your creations because you know what suits you, and you provide so many delightful details about the fabric, or the pattern, or your reasons for making particular design decisions. An elegant dress on you, and wonderful styling with the almost invisible bolero and the stunning jewellery. Bravo!
1/30/10 3:42 AM
aunt saidee said...
I want your figure and this dress and an event to wear it to.... in my next life! Fabulous and I enjoyed your review.
1/30/10 3:04 AM
Puddin Pop said...
ditto, CynthiaSue.
1/30/10 2:45 AM
Christas said...
Mahler, this is a gorgeous dress, and it fits you so perfectly! I thoroughly enjoyed your review. It is also nice to know that the English instructions for Burda aren't the only instructions that are hard to understand. Even with the incomprehensible instructions, you have made such a wonderful dress.
1/30/10 2:36 AM
CynthiaSue said...
you look so much better than the model. Your version would make me buy the pattern, THIER model would not!!
1/30/10 2:15 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Beautiful dress - thanks for the great review!
1/30/10 1:49 AM
Terri A said...
I LOVE and adore the fabric you used. It is hard to explain until you see and feel it in person. Gorgeous!
1/30/10 1:07 AM
Elke said...
Gorgeous dress and it looks great on you!
1/30/10 0:50 AM
erinw83 said...
Glamourous!
1/30/10 0:45 AM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty!
1/30/10 0:33 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow!! That is a great dress..and it looks so sharp with th bolero!
1/30/10 0:27 AM
Fashions said...
Classy!
1/30/10 0:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Simplicity 2053

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now