Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2009-114 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1071 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:Mahler
photo
Friend of PR
About Mahlerstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/28/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/10 11:59 PM
Last Updated:1/30/10 0:01 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Fashions said...
Classy!
1/30/10 0:15 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow!! That is a great dress..and it looks so sharp with th bolero!
1/30/10 0:27 AM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty!
1/30/10 0:33 AM
erinw83 said...
Glamourous!
1/30/10 0:45 AM
Elke said...
Gorgeous dress and it looks great on you!
1/30/10 0:50 AM
Terri A said...
I LOVE and adore the fabric you used. It is hard to explain until you see and feel it in person. Gorgeous!
1/30/10 1:07 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Beautiful dress - thanks for the great review!
1/30/10 1:49 AM
CynthiaSue said...
you look so much better than the model. Your version would make me buy the pattern, THIER model would not!!
1/30/10 2:15 AM
Christas said...
Mahler, this is a gorgeous dress, and it fits you so perfectly! I thoroughly enjoyed your review. It is also nice to know that the English instructions for Burda aren't the only instructions that are hard to understand. Even with the incomprehensible instructions, you have made such a wonderful dress.
1/30/10 2:36 AM
Puddin Pop said...
ditto, CynthiaSue.
1/30/10 2:45 AM
aunt saidee said...
I want your figure and this dress and an event to wear it to.... in my next life! Fabulous and I enjoyed your review.
1/30/10 3:04 AM
SpinningJenny said...
I always love to see your creations because you know what suits you, and you provide so many delightful details about the fabric, or the pattern, or your reasons for making particular design decisions. An elegant dress on you, and wonderful styling with the almost invisible bolero and the stunning jewellery. Bravo!
1/30/10 3:42 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful! much more elegant than the burda version! and the fabric looks gorgeous!
1/30/10 3:55 AM
Michelle L said...
Very pretty! Love the fabric.
1/30/10 5:44 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Excellent review and beautiful dress! That neckline is gorgeous and I'd overlooked it in the magazine because of that big flower!
1/30/10 5:57 AM
Claire in Montreal said...
Absolutely beautiful !
1/30/10 6:42 AM
digs57 said...
Perfectly chic! Will you tell us the pattern number of the Vogue bolero?
1/30/10 7:26 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
Beautiful!
1/30/10 7:42 AM
Denise L Perry said...
Absolutely stunning! Thank you for a wonderful review!
1/30/10 8:19 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
A wonderful, helpful & funny review--as usual!! You look m-a-r-v-e-l-o-u-s, cherie!! ;)
1/30/10 8:38 AM
DorothyK said...
Stunning dress. I love it with the jacket and the beautiful jewelry. Well done!
1/30/10 9:31 AM
carolynw said...
Talk about your dream LBD - this it in spades. Simple - elegant and you look marvellous as always - great review
1/30/10 9:34 AM
Nancy K said...
It's a lovely dress and looks great on you. You may not be totally happy with the fit, but it fits you better than the model. Susan Khalje wrote an article in Threads several years ago about using boning in other than strapless tops. One example was precisely like your wide neckline. It keeps it flat and close to your body.
1/30/10 9:37 AM
okie2thdoc said...
You look amazing. Thanks for the tip on the godets.
1/30/10 9:56 AM
Mahler said...
Thank you Nancy, this is such a great tip. I will look for it. Thank you for the wonderful comments, this site is such an inspiration.
1/30/10 9:58 AM
emeraldjul said...
Stunning!
1/30/10 10:05 AM
Immelu said...
You look fantastic in this dress. I love the neckline on you.
1/30/10 10:34 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous dress! I agree with Nancy K that your dress fits you better than the model's dress fits her. I so enjoyed your very, very helpful review! You photograph beautifully, by the way, so I am certain that you look gorgeous and elegant on video, as well. I am inspired by your successful project!
1/30/10 10:52 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ooh la la, you look so fine and fabulous in this dress! Where have you been all this time? I enjoyed your fun and informative review. Definitely glamour, fame, and admiration is on YOUR side, yes it is, yes it is!
1/30/10 11:11 AM
sewbehind said...
Love the dress. It is beautiful. I thought your review was very humourous. Loved it!
1/30/10 11:25 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow, there's a great dress hiding under that awful shoulder flouf that Burda shows! It looks fabulous...nice paring with the Vogue shrug, too. They look meant for each other. ;)
1/30/10 11:40 AM
mochimo said...
So classy! (aaarrgh, I don't have this issue of Burda mag :-(
1/30/10 11:42 AM
Brine said...
Absolutely stunning dress!
1/30/10 11:46 AM
Twinset said...
J'adore cette petite robe noire!!! Seriously, you are so sexy and elegant in this! Your fabric is wonderful and I just love the neckline. Très chic et très classe.
1/30/10 12:33 PM
becca a said...
You look so glamorous! What a lovely dress. Your review is excellent, as always.
1/30/10 12:37 PM
nellc said...
Stunning dress, the square neckline on this is so pretty.
1/30/10 1:04 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a classy dress! It will be a workhorse LBD for you. :-)
1/30/10 2:10 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW, Anne-Marie, you are truly stunning in this little confection that you've concocted. I love the "go with the flow fashion" of the godets only at the sides. I like it BETTER this way. The bolero is the perfect addition, as is your dad's necklace that he gave you. I hope you have LOTS of occasions to wear this dress, and I KNOW you can find a way to dress it down a bit if necessary, so you CAN wear it LOTS AND LOTS! :o) Mucho Love-isimo to you. :o)
1/30/10 2:12 PM
MissCelie said...
Stunning and classy!
1/30/10 3:22 PM
Kay Y said...
The dress is super nice, but I'm so jealous that you got to sit next to Gregory Charles!!! I bet he loved your dress...
1/30/10 5:04 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Stunning dress and a great review. Love all the photos.
1/30/10 5:20 PM
Diane E said...
"bla bla cheri" -- ha ha cherie! Loved the review and the dress is utterly gorgeous. Très élégant.
1/30/10 8:10 PM
sew2little said...
As usual, your dress is fabulous and you look fabulous in it!
1/30/10 8:16 PM
Kellie R. said...
Congratulations on your second place! The dress, however is the grand prize! Gorgeous, chic, classic all wrapped in one. Great job.
1/30/10 10:00 PM
Catbird said...
This looks INCREDIBLE on you. The neckline and unusual armhole are so flattering, and the bolero is perfect on top. I think having the godets only in the side seams was a brilliant mistake! It gives such a sleek silhouette. I love that fabric (and the necklace, too). Was your son pleased with the result? He's got a good eye for fashion! I like both his pattern choices. This is so beautiful and so chic and I love all the pictures. Congratulations to you and your students on the prize!
1/31/10 1:59 PM
Mahler said...
Janie, my son was very pleased with the final result. He stated that THIS is a real cocktail dress.
1/31/10 5:32 PM
Catbird said...
That's so sweet. You might have a budding designer there!
1/31/10 7:53 PM
Mahler said...
I think I have a budding architect. For the 7 years he has been drawin only buildings and for the past 5 years or so he reads only architecture books. In march 2011 we are going to Barcelona to see all Gaudi's building, his wish.
1/31/10 8:55 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Bee-utiful!!
1/31/10 11:13 PM
senaSews said...
Beautiful LBD! Wow, great work!
2/1/10 3:52 AM
Catbird said...
How fascinating, Anne-Marie! Gaudi's work is wonderful; such a free imagination.
2/1/10 9:47 AM
LindsayT said...
Très chic, n'est-ce pas?!
2/1/10 4:55 PM
Corinne said...
Your review is fantastic! And... you look fabulous in that dress! Also, with not being able to read the instructions and with all the alterations, you are also a fantastic seamstress!
2/11/10 12:35 PM
ChristineX said...
I love love love this dress!
7/15/10 10:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8317
photo
Review by otterine on 2/28/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-109 Striped blouse
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 6/25/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us