SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 950 Karin's Jacket 

Viewed 2202 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/04 2:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChrisK said...
That jacket looks really nice Ann. I've considered using this type of fabric but was a bit scared by it. Perhaps I should give it a go. What needle size and thread did you use for the topstitching?
3/11/04 2:47 AM
jlg said...
I agree - very cute jacket.
3/11/04 5:55 AM
SewingSusan said...
Great jacket...I love that pink fabric.
3/11/04 6:30 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Really cute jacket, Ann! Thanks for all the tips. :-)
3/11/04 6:53 AM
kathi s said...
You did a great job on your jacket and it is very attractive, but, due to your warnings, I don't think I'll try this one.
3/11/04 7:27 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Your jacket looks just wonderful! I love that fabric! Thanks for such a thorough review!
3/11/04 7:31 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Oooooooooo.....pretty! Always love your projects, Ann. Must find some of that beautiful fabric--it's part of my new fabric diet, you know.
3/11/04 8:08 AM
Elona said...
This looks terrific on you, Ann! Thanks for a thoughtful review. Kind of scary to learn about critical omissions in the instructions, though. Peggy's patterns are very attractive, so I've collected a couple of them, but having not worked with them yet, I'm grateful for information from those who have. I have noticed that the bust ease is surprisingly small on the Silhouette patterns I bought; since designers seem to design to their own body type, I wonder if Peggy has a small torso herself.
3/11/04 10:31 AM
Ann Smith said...
Thank you everyone. ChrisK: I just used regular thread and universal needle sz 80 I think. The topstitching looks good on this fabric. The problems I had were related to the tight situation on the sleeves. The fabric was easy to work with except messy....lots of fluff everywhere and every thread clings to it. Elona: Peggy is very slender. Leslie: I believe the fabric may still be available on the Silhouettes website. I only needed 1 3/4 yards. I forgot to mention in my review that Peggy is very helpful. I emailed her with questions about the bust increase and she replied very promptly. She encouraged me to phone her for even better communication.
3/11/04 11:09 AM
Liana said...
Great jacket Ann, and a very comprehensive review!
3/12/04 1:19 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great review, lovely jacket, and I love the "ta daaah!" picture! -Ann
3/12/04 6:38 AM
Ann C said...
Love the jacket, Ann. Another showstopper.
3/12/04 9:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

brerrabbit.com 4800

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now