SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 950 Karin's Jacket 

Viewed 2211 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 348 (patterns: 345)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 393 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/04 2:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann C said... (3/12/04 9:27 AM) Reply
Love the jacket, Ann. Another showstopper.
GorgeousFabrics said... (3/12/04 6:38 AM) Reply
Great review, lovely jacket, and I love the "ta daaah!" picture! -Ann
Liana said... (3/12/04 1:19 AM) Reply
Great jacket Ann, and a very comprehensive review!
Ann Smith said... (3/11/04 11:09 AM) Reply
Thank you everyone. ChrisK: I just used regular thread and universal needle sz 80 I think. The topstitching looks good on this fabric. The problems I had were related to the tight situation on the sleeves. The fabric was easy to work with except messy....lots of fluff everywhere and every thread clings to it. Elona: Peggy is very slender. Leslie: I believe the fabric may still be available on the Silhouettes website. I only needed 1 3/4 yards. I forgot to mention in my review that Peggy is very helpful. I emailed her with questions about the bust increase and she replied very promptly. She encouraged me to phone her for even better communication.
Elona said... (3/11/04 10:31 AM) Reply
This looks terrific on you, Ann! Thanks for a thoughtful review. Kind of scary to learn about critical omissions in the instructions, though. Peggy's patterns are very attractive, so I've collected a couple of them, but having not worked with them yet, I'm grateful for information from those who have. I have noticed that the bust ease is surprisingly small on the Silhouette patterns I bought; since designers seem to design to their own body type, I wonder if Peggy has a small torso herself.
Leslie in Austin said... (3/11/04 8:08 AM) Reply
Oooooooooo.....pretty! Always love your projects, Ann. Must find some of that beautiful fabric--it's part of my new fabric diet, you know.
Debbie Spriggs said... (3/11/04 7:31 AM) Reply
Your jacket looks just wonderful! I love that fabric! Thanks for such a thorough review!
kathi s said... (3/11/04 7:27 AM) Reply
You did a great job on your jacket and it is very attractive, but, due to your warnings, I don't think I'll try this one.
Gigi Louis said... (3/11/04 6:53 AM) Reply
Really cute jacket, Ann! Thanks for all the tips. :-)
SewingSusan said... (3/11/04 6:30 AM) Reply
Great jacket...I love that pink fabric.
jlg said... (3/11/04 5:55 AM) Reply
I agree - very cute jacket.
ChrisK said... (3/11/04 2:47 AM) Reply
That jacket looks really nice Ann. I've considered using this type of fabric but was a bit scared by it. Perhaps I should give it a go. What needle size and thread did you use for the topstitching?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Pattern Details
StyleArc Wendy Pant

photo
by: clothingen...

Review