Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2009-115 (Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 469 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/10 4:49 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
I love it! Great accent color and very Jackie O lines. Ideal lining too. Perfect for brightening up these winter days. The decision on reduction of collar width was good as the proportions look right.
2/4/10 5:49 PM
petro said...
I love the colour on you, and the scarf collar.
2/4/10 5:51 PM
Enid E said...
I love the lines of your coat. The length and collar reduction was a good choice, as was the lining fabric....and the color looks wonderful on you! Nice work, as usual...
2/4/10 6:06 PM
ssssdeb said...
Very attractive coat! I hope the color grows on you because you look smashing!
2/4/10 6:07 PM
marjenann said...
I love everything about this coat! The fabric, color and design. You sewing is impeccable too. Just a really super looking coat.
2/4/10 6:09 PM
Nancy K said...
Great coat even if you aren't sure about the color. Good tip about narrowing the collar. Silk charmeuse that looks like an animal print? It's fabulous.
2/4/10 7:40 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
It's a showstopper! I love all elements of your coat. Lovely as can be!
2/4/10 8:13 PM
VtMartha said...
I think it's spectacular and I love the color!
2/4/10 8:27 PM
sewing for fun said...
Well, I LOVE that green! Yes, it is intense, but very pretty and definitely striking. I might put an accent pin of a different coordinating color (maybe a fabric flower) on the shoulder or scarf area.
2/4/10 11:25 PM
DorothyK said...
The coat is really quite spectacular - color and all. I love the seams and lining. The coat looks really good on you. I think Sewing for Fun's suggestion about a pin is a good one about adding a pin of some sort. It would take some attention away from the green, if that's what bothers you.
2/4/10 11:39 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's fabulous and it looks good on you, so I hope you come around to the colour.
2/5/10 1:17 AM
Rebecca D said...
It's a great statement coat, fits your style very well and I hope you will feel like wearing it after it 'marinates' a little.
2/5/10 6:26 AM
becca a said...
I love your coat! I think the scarf detail is fun and flattering. I can see not wanting to wear this color every day with everything, but I hope you do wear it because the color is cheerful and looks great on you. Thanks for the great review with reminders of important steps glossed over by Burda.
2/5/10 7:46 AM
digs57 said...
Looks great! I love cheerful colours in winter outerwear. I got the same bathrobe comment from my son, so I had a good laugh at that. Your lining is TDF.
2/5/10 10:44 AM
lbrundage said...
Oh, Ann, it's just fabulous on you! Such a perfect color for a coat!
2/5/10 11:52 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Oh, Ann, I did the "close your eyes" test--when I opened up, I first saw YOU and then the "green coat"!! FUN!! STUNNING!! L-O-V-E the lining!! ;)
2/5/10 12:50 PM
OP Gal said...
When you think you can't stand wearing that color, just lay down until the feeling goes away. That green is amazing, and you look fabulous in your coat. The lining is super cool, the scarf is stylish and the seam detailing is marvelous, making the whole coat fabulous.
2/5/10 9:26 PM
Baltosew said...
Wonderful job and the green is really fabulous! Take those compliments seriously. Thanks for the informative review.
2/6/10 12:38 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
That coat is fantastic, so unique and the intense color just makes it more so.
2/12/10 7:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Self Drafted Pattern 29655-1000
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 8/5/07
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Camille's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Camille's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-30 Groovy skirt
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/3/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6510 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6510 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7095 Pattern
Burda 7095 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us