SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Mrs. Stylebook Magazine> MSB153(57/158) (Shirt with Interesting Collar)

Viewed 221 times 
Reviewed by:poplin
photo

 
 
About poplinstar
WA USA
Member since: 5/28/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/10 0:44 AM
Last Updated:2/6/10 1:00 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
I'm sorry it was such a disappointing pattern; it certainly looks interesting.
2/6/10 1:03 AM
katharin said...
It looks great on you in the photo, and I was wondering indeed whether it would be comfortable to wear with such a wide collar opening. Thank you for your helpful description of how the blouse behaves when one moves. Great review.
2/6/10 1:10 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
The pattern looks very interesting, I can certainly see why you tried it!
2/6/10 1:45 PM
Kay Y said...
It is interesting, to be sure. Could you retrofit it by sewing shoulder straps inside the collar? Then the collar could flop all it wants but it would stay on!
2/6/10 4:29 PM
poplin said...
Yes, Kay. I am in the process of figuring out how I can make this shirt work. Your suggestion has been on my list! Please PM me if you have further suggestions on how I can pull this off.
2/6/10 4:42 PM
digs57 said...
It's a unique look, worth pursuing to improve. Thank you for showing the collar draft. The back of the "collar" seems to also serve as a yoke? If so, then sewing a double-yoke shirt and inserting the collar into the back and front yoke seams might work to stabilize the shoulders. Hope you try another version of it!
2/7/10 7:55 AM
ZuleikaD said...
This is a great, detailed review. Comparing your photo and the magazine photo, it also looks like the magazine version is much narrower through the shoulders -- the sleeve seam sits on top of the shoulder, rather than dropped down an inch or two as yours is. I wonder if this would solve the problem of left-right shift? You might make yours more wearable by attaching loops for your bra straps on the inside which would prevent the shift.
2/21/10 3:23 PM
poplin said...
I appreciate your comment, ZuleikaD, as the width of the collar has been much on my mind all weekend. I wore this shirt to my BurdayStyle sewing club meeting the other day for show-n-tell, and during the whole day, I thought about how to fix this shirt to be more wearable.

What I did not show you was an image of the pattern guide for copyright reasons. I followed that pattern guide to a T. My guess is that whoever fitted the model made a few alterations to the pattern. For one, darts were not added though it was specified on the pattern guide. Because of this, I'm tempted to think that alterations were made to suit the model. Either that, or the pattern guide has errors.

Did you notice also how the back of the collar (on the pattern photo) was pushed forward, so that it made shoulder seams? The front of the collar would then jut further out, looking like a crumb catcher? :)

I noticed this detail just now! I've been wearing this shirt with the back and front sides of the collar sticking upwards. I'll try it on again with the back of the collar pushed forward, although this style will definitely make wearing jackets a little inconvenient. Imagine, I have to adjust my shirt to sit right every time I take my jacket off.

As for bra loops, that was my first attempt at stabilizing this shirt on my body. No success.
2/22/10 2:00 PM
Mufffet said...
Very cool looking, but if it isn't comfy, that's it then. Were you able to make it work for you eventually?
5/31/11 0:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
More Knits
More Knits

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Butterick 4859

photo
by: jnageotte

Review
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now