Online Sewing Class: The Contemporary Couture Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1054 (skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 195 times 
Reviewed by:Fictionfan
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Fictionfanstar
VT United States
Member since: 5/19/06
Reviews: 35 (patterns: 18)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/11 3:24 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yorkshire lass said... (3/7/11 7:25 AM) Reply
Gorgeous skirt. Love the whole suit. The ruffles are absolutely perfect. Worth waiting to find just the right thing.
SewWil said... (3/6/11 11:23 AM) Reply
Beautiful skirt! Thanks for the detailed review. Will go look for the jacket.
1SewSweet said... (3/6/11 5:47 AM) Reply
Great work, this is beautiful! I know what you mean, other than sewing, the computer is my big time eater too!!!
Fictionfan said... (3/5/11 7:15 PM) Reply
Thanks for the compliments! I just posted the jacket review. It's even longer, so maybe you should stretch and refresh yourself before reading it!>>>moving on to my next challenge and getting away from the computer because I've been typing all day>>>
loti said... (3/5/11 7:08 PM) Reply
Beautiful skirt, you'll get a lot of wear out of it, it's just so classic.
cloudyhn said... (3/5/11 5:39 PM) Reply
so classy...
Re Becca said... (3/5/11 5:32 PM) Reply
Very pretty. I love your choice of fabrics, the colors and textiles really bring out the best in each other. I love Marfy patterns, but I will admit that I have had to add some pockets and it can be tricky to add change the size but they are impeccably designed. You did a fabulous job pulling off those details! I can't wait to see the jacket review.
Kay Y said... (3/5/11 5:02 PM) Reply
I was wondering about the trim - may have to get my ruffler out and experiment. Your skirt is very pretty; will watch for the jacket review.
solosmocker said... (3/5/11 4:17 PM) Reply
Exquisite. The trim is just perfect. You really show off your workmanship with this one.
Christas said... (3/5/11 4:17 PM) Reply
Very BEAUTIFUL work! I always admire those who are able to sew with Marfy patterns, especially when the finished product looks as nice as your outfit.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Simplicity 2694

photo
by: BeckiP

Review
Pamela's Patterns 110 Pattern

Pamela's Patterns 110 Pattern

Pattern Details
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Pattern Details