Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2009-102 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 418 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:mylittleelephant
photo
About mylittleelephantstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/07
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/10 9:45 AM
Last Updated:2/11/10 11:24 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
I like it! ANd that buckle is faboo!
2/11/10 9:48 AM
joanico said...
Really nice! I love the way the buckle makes it so special
2/11/10 9:54 AM
Peacock Chic said...
wonderful job on the coat!! I totally overlooked this pattern before but your rendition has given me second thoughts. Love it!
2/11/10 10:08 AM
Elke said...
Gorgeous coat! You did a great job & the fabric is lovely.
2/11/10 10:20 AM
CissieW said...
Great looking coat! You did a wonderful job, and I adore the red buckle!
2/11/10 10:41 AM
CShelley said...
Envy!
2/11/10 12:24 PM
Justiina said...
Beautiful! I'm so glad you reviewed this, since I am always on the look-out for "roomy but slightly shaped" coats and had overlooked this! Yours is gorgeous!
2/11/10 12:47 PM
Diane E said...
What a gorgeous coat, and what inspired use of shawls for interlining. Smart construction and very smart to wear.
2/11/10 2:08 PM
Twinset said...
Great coat and wonderful hand sewing on the lining! Love the fabric, and thanks for bringing this pattern to our attention!
2/11/10 2:49 PM
nicegirl said...
So very stylish! And it sounds nice and warm.
2/11/10 5:53 PM
librarylady said...
Beautiful... will go look this up. And love the shawls for interlining.
2/11/10 6:04 PM
katib said...
This is a beautiful coat! i usually like more fitted coats myself, but I can see why you like this particular one so very much. Also, thank you for including a picture of your interlining. It made me smile!
2/11/10 6:47 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very nice! Sharp coat!
2/11/10 9:26 PM
Sarsez said...
Excellent coat, excellent review and j'adore the buckle!
2/12/10 0:13 AM
CynthiaSue said...
looks so professional. i love the inside. you make me want to have better sewing skills.
2/12/10 0:21 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Really lovely coat and I love the idea of using shawls as interlining. Really clever idea.
2/12/10 5:53 AM
Rebecca D said...
Your coat is beautiful and so stylish. Thanks for all the information on your improvements, additions and modifications. Very helpful.
2/12/10 6:42 AM
pt6356 said...
Lovely! I like this style of coat, and it looks great on you. Thank you for such a detailed review.
2/12/10 7:53 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Beautiful work and great details, as always. A nylon lining is wise in cold climates & helpful in windy ones.
2/12/10 9:32 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you so much everyone for lovely comments, I am glad that my worn out previously- called- shawls have been accepted so positively :-), the truth was that it was snowing heavily on that day and I just didn't want to go out shopping, so needed to find something alternative in the house, but it seems to have turned out perfect, and that is why I can seldom throw away left over fabric and why the room is cluttered with it...........
2/12/10 10:33 AM
SVN said...
Oops - double post!
2/12/10 3:03 PM
SVN said...
I'm very impressed by your ingenious interlining... I might not make this particular coat (although your version is enough to tempt me), but will definitely remember the windproof lining idea for any coats I do make!
2/12/10 3:09 PM
marjenann said...
Your new coat could easily be featured in a fashion magazine. It is truly stunning!!! Super review too!!
2/12/10 6:54 PM
becca a said...
Lovely coat! Your belts are great. Thanks for the very helpful review.
2/13/10 8:47 AM
Jane S said...
What a beautiful, chic coat. You look wonderful and added details that make it so special.
2/13/10 7:26 PM
Athene said...
A fabulous coat. Well worth the cost and the effort.
4/26/10 10:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Self Drafted Pattern 11351-1016
photo
Review by Eli on 7/16/08
Read Review

Burda 6953 Pattern
Burda 6953 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6917 Pattern
Burda 6917 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2952 Jacket
photo
Review by KarmenG on 6/14/05
Read Review

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us