Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5303 (Help with fitting....) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1167 times 1 more reviews
Reviewed by:ReneeO
photo
About ReneeO
Member since: 10/20/03
Reviews written: 3
patterns reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/17/04 7:55 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Here are my thoughts for the 2 cents their worth. It looks like your bust is larger than the B-cup that patterns are designed for. You need to do a full-bust adjustment. The sleeve problem is probably due to the fact that the armholes are too large, therefore too low. You will need to shorten the pattern above the bust to bring them up. Then you will have to also shorten the sleeve cap the same amount so the sleeve will still fit into the hole. It doesn't seem that the sleeve band is too small, it's just that the sleeve is too low and therefore pulling. I suggest you use FFRP's method of enlarging a dart instead of fastfit's method. While I have both books, I find FFRP infinitely more useful. (That's Fit For Real People by Palmer and Alto).
3/17/04 8:42 PM
ReneeO said...
WOW Sherril, your fast! Thank you for taking the time to comment. I knew something was wierd about the armholes but really wasn't sure what it was. Your right I am a D cup not a B. I thought those lines running from my boobs were a bit much LOL. Looks like I have some reading to do. And now I have a perfectly valid excuse to head to Barnes and Noble hehehe Thanks again!
3/17/04 9:03 PM
SouthernStitch said...
I think Sherril hit the nail on the head. I use Kwik Sew patterns alot and the armscye is always too long there too. It does feel like the sleeves are on backwards if that's the case. Otherwise, the sewing of the top looks great!
3/17/04 11:10 PM
AnneM said...
I can't help you much with the fitting issues, although I would agree that the size is generally correct and Sherril seems right one. I have the same type of pull problems when I raise my arm, although for a completely different reason (I'm an AA cup, but I have a wide back, I think). I find FFRP a bit overwhelming; I haven't dove into it in detail yet.
3/18/04 7:58 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Renee, I just wanted to add that it looks like you will probably also need a sway-back tuck. Please read FFRP all the way through, kind of like a novel before you use it. Many alterations affect other changes so you need to understand how they work together. For example, when you do the petite adjustment above the bust to reduce the armscye, you will then need to lower the dart. It looks already like your dart is kind of high and this adjustment will only move it higher! Or, when you shorten the sleeve cap to make it fit into the reduced armsyce, you may need to lengthen the sleeve as you are making the entire sleeve shorter.
3/18/04 6:23 PM
mClones said...
Thanks so much for the review, Renee, and for asking the fit question. Those are exactly my top fit issues as well and I benefitted greatly from your question and Sherril's answers.
4/25/04 8:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sew Liberated N103
photo
Review by gameCoder on 12/14/08
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Coin Purse
You Sew Girl Coin Purse

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

KnipMode Magazine 06-2011-06 Dress
photo
Review by treefrog on 7/19/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0114 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0114 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3847 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3847 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us