SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5303 (Help with fitting....)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1169 times 
Reviewed by:ReneeO
photo

 
 
About ReneeO
Member since: 10/20/03
Reviews written: 3
patterns reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/17/04 7:55 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mClones said...
Thanks so much for the review, Renee, and for asking the fit question. Those are exactly my top fit issues as well and I benefitted greatly from your question and Sherril's answers.
4/25/04 8:00 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Renee, I just wanted to add that it looks like you will probably also need a sway-back tuck. Please read FFRP all the way through, kind of like a novel before you use it. Many alterations affect other changes so you need to understand how they work together. For example, when you do the petite adjustment above the bust to reduce the armscye, you will then need to lower the dart. It looks already like your dart is kind of high and this adjustment will only move it higher! Or, when you shorten the sleeve cap to make it fit into the reduced armsyce, you may need to lengthen the sleeve as you are making the entire sleeve shorter.
3/18/04 6:23 PM
AnneM said...
I can't help you much with the fitting issues, although I would agree that the size is generally correct and Sherril seems right one. I have the same type of pull problems when I raise my arm, although for a completely different reason (I'm an AA cup, but I have a wide back, I think). I find FFRP a bit overwhelming; I haven't dove into it in detail yet.
3/18/04 7:58 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I think Sherril hit the nail on the head. I use Kwik Sew patterns alot and the armscye is always too long there too. It does feel like the sleeves are on backwards if that's the case. Otherwise, the sewing of the top looks great!
3/17/04 11:10 PM
ReneeO said...
WOW Sherril, your fast! Thank you for taking the time to comment. I knew something was wierd about the armholes but really wasn't sure what it was. Your right I am a D cup not a B. I thought those lines running from my boobs were a bit much LOL. Looks like I have some reading to do. And now I have a perfectly valid excuse to head to Barnes and Noble hehehe Thanks again!
3/17/04 9:03 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Here are my thoughts for the 2 cents their worth. It looks like your bust is larger than the B-cup that patterns are designed for. You need to do a full-bust adjustment. The sleeve problem is probably due to the fact that the armholes are too large, therefore too low. You will need to shorten the pattern above the bust to bring them up. Then you will have to also shorten the sleeve cap the same amount so the sleeve will still fit into the hole. It doesn't seem that the sleeve band is too small, it's just that the sleeve is too low and therefore pulling. I suggest you use FFRP's method of enlarging a dart instead of fastfit's method. While I have both books, I find FFRP infinitely more useful. (That's Fit For Real People by Palmer and Alto).
3/17/04 8:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Simplicity 7161

photo
by: Judy Kski

Review
Butterick 5353

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

More Info
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

More Info