SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6035 (MISSES' SHIRTS)

32 more reviews
Viewed 569 times 
Reviewed by:knitmachinequeen
photo

 
 
About knitmachinequeenstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/10 7:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
This is still a sharp looking top!
3/3/10 8:30 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Wow! what a quest you embarked on--but you know, the blouse now looks quite fabulous on you. How did you melt the ironing board cover??! I have melted all kinds of things like brand-new chalkoners, but not yet the cover :)
3/4/10 1:43 AM
birdmcfarland said...
What a timely review. I just finished trying to make a muslin for this shirt and could not figure out what was wrong - for me, it's that the bust point is about 1.5 -2 inches lower than it should be. And I agree with you about the princess seams. I am trying to decide if I want to go to the trouble of redrafting it or just bag it and move on. I logged on to PR to see if anyone else had trouble with this. Thanks for reviewing! You saved me a lot of hassle and aggravation!
3/4/10 12:46 PM
sewtime said...
What a beautiful blouse!! Again I love all the creations you make, great fabric great style!
3/4/10 2:34 PM
susiestitcher said...
Sorry you had such a time of things, but the result is quite lovely. I really like the sleeves. As far as the princess seams, I think that princess seams closer to the center front only really work for ladies with small bustlines, where the emphasis is more as a decorative design than a proper fitting tool. I think that sometimes, designers get caught up in style and forget about function and what will fit nicely on a real body! Anyway, kevlar aside, I love the fabric. Maybe you needed to rivet it together. Great blouse.
3/5/10 7:43 AM
sarasotagirl said...
Bless you for reviewing this! I'm a beginner and I've been struggling with the location of the princess seams on this one, too. (I also cut a D-cup.) Now I know it's not just me. Thank you!
4/29/10 10:25 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Your blouse is lovely and such a helpful review. Now that you mention the placement of the princess seam I can see exactly what you mean looking at the McCalls model. I didn't notice it before but now I have I won't make this pattern. You saved me a lot of wasted time. Thanks! Your review is why I love PR.
5/5/10 0:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 08/2012 120

photo
by: Westy85

Review
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now