SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2907 (Diapers)

3 more reviews
Viewed 386 times 
Reviewed by:Tonya
photo

 
 
About Tonyastarstar
CO USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/10 10:05 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Wow detailed review! Very cute!
2/26/10 11:17 PM
DoRight said...
I have not made this pattern but I was wondering if you used the Jalie video available on Youtube? It doesn't seem like your experience was as easy as the video makes it look! You did a great job despite the problems you encountered.
2/27/10 6:06 AM
Tonya said...
Hi DoRight - no, I didn't use the video. I didn't know it was available until I had finished the AIO diaper and was on to view B. I'll have to check it out and see how it compares to the instructions and my experience. Thanks!
2/27/10 7:52 AM
SG1 said...
AIO vs pocket diaper: drying time. AIOs took forever to dry in my dryer. Since you separate out the soaker in pockets, they dry significantly faster. Also, if you need extra absorbency at night it's easier to add more to a pocket diaper.
2/27/10 10:07 AM
newmama said...
To add to the advantages SG1 mentioned, having a pocket diaper also allows you to experiment with what type of soakers give you the best absorbency/bulk combination for your kiddo. I tried cloth diapers on my daughter for a bit and have been thinking about having another go at them, so thank you very much for this review! Also, thank you for the link to the fabric source you used!
2/27/10 9:50 PM
quathy said...
thanks for this review! I'm about to make these for my sister, and the instructions are truly awful. They aren't even numbered right - English instructions have no step 5!!! I am SO glad that DoRight mentioned the YouTube video - I never would have thought to look for it. It does make the diapering look a lot easier, and I love the visual tip of how to turn the finished AIO inside out for drying. I think it would take a long time to stuff the lining back into these after pulling them out of the dryer, but turning right side back out seems really simple!
5/9/11 1:43 PM
frame said...
Great review.
7/3/12 5:26 PM
magpie57 said...
Whew, I think I'll avoid this pattern. My question is why people would spend so much on the AIO diapers when you shouldn't have to wash the outer with every diaper change.
4/21/14 3:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

New Look 6643

photo
by: prosthetic...

Review

Pattern

Butterick 5490

photo
by: annie11

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now