Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2010-103A (Circle Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 297 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:EveS
photo
Friend of PR
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/10 10:52 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
OH, my gosh! Eve, you are not seeing yourself correctly! You look BEEE-OOOO-TI-FUL in this! Your skirt may have caused you grief, but it was worth it for how nice it looks on you. Pleeeeease go look at yourself in the mirror again!
3/8/10 12:03 PM
Karen6790 said...
I think it's a fabulous skirt. So what if the pleat isn't all that visible - it's concealed by beautiful fabric and it looks really good on you. And you're right, only Burda could complicate a circle skirt. Yeesh.
3/8/10 12:44 PM
Tenshi said...
I second the other commenter's opinion: It looks fabulous on you! Love the fabric.
3/8/10 3:35 PM
Michelle L said...
I think you look really great in the skirt, please don't let your difficulties with the pattern color how you see yourself in it, because you really do look fantastic.
3/8/10 3:54 PM
lamstu said...
I like this skirt on you too. Perhaps the darker color of the fabric is more slimming than you realize? I know what you mean about missing the sewing mojo, but it's out there somewhere. Sometimes, I will sew things for other people (DD, DS, friends) for that quick jolt of success. I enjoyed reading your review!
3/8/10 5:42 PM
Kellie R. said...
I think the skirt is really cute! And you're right, nobody will notice the little things like the threads on the rolled hem except for you... Further, I'm thoroughly impressed that you are doing any sewing at all!!! Let alone turning out cute skirts ! :)
3/8/10 6:46 PM
Rhoda K said...
I love your skirt - actually the complete outfit. Sorry you had such problems with it. I would think that an embroidered fabric could cause some problems, too.
3/8/10 8:34 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your skirt is very pretty! You look great!
3/8/10 10:13 PM
Margie T said...
I love your skirt. You look great in it.
3/9/10 7:24 AM
fryman said...
I do think your choice of fabric is the winning element of the skirt. I was unable to see much of a pleat but I believe your change was a benefit to you. This skirt calls out to be worn with a top worn under the skirt and of course, as you know, that is slenderizing whereas a top hanging over the tummy could be confused with maternity wear. Nice job. Pleas make another. Go Girl!!
3/9/10 8:12 PM
becca a said...
This is a lovely skirt and looks great on you! The whole outfit is great. I looked at the picture and then was surprised to read your pattern evaluation as you look so put together. Your troubles with the pattern don't show in the skirt.
3/9/10 11:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 3881
photo
Review by colourbynu... on 5/11/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3503
photo
Review by Ejegmama on 8/25/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1478 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1478 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5181 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5181 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us