Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 3438 (Men's Underwear and Sports) - Type:Mens - Underwear    printable version
Viewed 430 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/10 12:11 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
Thanks for this review, its interesting that you got such a good result with just a straight stitch machine,especially on the neck and armhole finishing.
3/8/10 1:31 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Enjoyed looking at the shirts, great fit, you got the knits down pat. I'm also curious on sewing the knit with a straight stitch; did you stretch the material as you sewed it? Before I got a serger I made all my H t-shirts and he would always pop the seams on me. Enjoy your reviews!
3/8/10 2:46 PM
vivianna said...
Wow, great T shirt. What a wonderful result with a straight stitch machine.
3/8/10 4:06 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice T-shirts. It's interesting that you are getting such good results with straight stitching. I've done very little sewing with knit fabrics myself but when I do, I use a fine zigzag (short stitch length, not too dense) and it works well enough.
3/8/10 5:14 PM
sew2006 said...
Love your Singer machine!
3/8/10 7:39 PM
gabrielle said...
Ha, I have that machine!! I love it dearly, and I also have great results with knits. Doesn't seem to stretch them out of whack as much as my modern machine. Anyway, love the stripy top (fave look is w/cardigan)
3/9/10 1:52 AM
voet said...
Another great job, Peter. I like how you used just the yellow stripe for the binding. You describe a method for attaching the binding to the neck line that seems to have worked well on this tank top. However, for a t-shirt where you want the neck to keep its shape, the method they tell you to use in the pattern might work better. You actually want the neck binding to pull in the stretch of the knit. The way to do this is divide both into quarters and pin the quarter markings together. The binding should be a little bit shorter than the neck edge, so you will have to stretch it a bit as you sew. The quarter marks help you to distribute the stretch evenly. Once you get the hang of it, I think you will be pleased with the result. It creates a neck line that lies nicely against the body.
3/9/10 8:55 AM
ggf2005 said...
Great Job Peter. I'll bring the margaritas!
3/9/10 1:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 4077
photo
Review by tehsquishy on 3/15/09
Read Review

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Towne Purse
Towne Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2831
photo
Review by sunnysewin... on 5/7/12
Read Review

McCalls 4364 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML )
McCalls 4364 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML )

Details
Price: $11.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8894 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8894 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us