SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4491 - Vintage dress (Vintage cocktail dress)

Viewed 391 times 
Reviewed by:jorth
photo

 
 
About jorthstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/10 1:52 AM
Last Updated:3/9/10 3:18 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
becca a said... (3/10/10 7:48 AM) Reply
Very cute dress! It fits perfectly and looks like lots of fun. Great paint job!
Gelbean said... (3/10/10 7:30 AM) Reply
Great looking dress. The photo shoot looks like it was a fun time. Thanks for the entertaining review!
TalyQ said... (3/10/10 1:51 AM) Reply
Looks great!!! I am glad you could save it.
jorth said... (3/9/10 3:15 PM) Reply
Awwww thanks everybody! These comments have made my morning! ElizabethDee, I used a paint from my local fabric store called "Jones Tones". They come in little tubes, and I just diluted them with 15 ml of water before applying to the dress. It really was waaaay to much fun!
nellc said... (3/9/10 3:09 PM) Reply
I love your dress and your photo shoot!
kwpanthermom said... (3/9/10 1:42 PM) Reply
I love this dress, and I would never have believed it was from a vintage pattern because it looks so modern! I didn't know what I was looking at when I first opened your pictures..."how did she get the print design to be so shaded like that?? What a COOL dress!" and then I was flabbergasted to read you had taken a vintage design and then painted it! absolutely brilliant.
colorkitten said... (3/9/10 11:33 AM) Reply
Love it!
carolynw said... (3/9/10 9:37 AM) Reply
Love the dress but even more love your photo shoot - you seem to be having a ball in this dress and that's a good thing!! So glad to know I am not th eonly one to drop the F bomb when things go not as planned in the sewing room - no children around!!
ElizabethDee said... (3/9/10 8:57 AM) Reply
marvelous in every way. i feel as if you brought the party to me! thanks! (p.s. would love to know what kind of paint you used and how you applied it.)
AuntieShel said... (3/9/10 8:25 AM) Reply
If I make this dress, will I have as much fun as it looks like you are having in the photos? Couldn't even believe you painted it--inspiring. And your review was hysterical.
no7262 said... (3/9/10 6:46 AM) Reply
I LOVE IT! You did a awesome job! Nora :)
ClaireEmily said... (3/9/10 2:07 AM) Reply
Hilarious review! Great dress!!!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Butterick 5438

photo
by: gautrann

Review
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Pattern Details
StyleArc Sandra Narrow Leg Jean

photo
by: clothingen...

Review