Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4491 - Vintage dress (Vintage cocktail dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 389 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:jorth
photo
About jorthstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/10 1:52 AM
Last Updated:3/9/10 3:18 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireEmily said...
Hilarious review! Great dress!!!
3/9/10 2:07 AM
no7262 said...
I LOVE IT! You did a awesome job! Nora :)
3/9/10 6:46 AM
AuntieShel said...
If I make this dress, will I have as much fun as it looks like you are having in the photos? Couldn't even believe you painted it--inspiring. And your review was hysterical.
3/9/10 8:25 AM
ElizabethDee said...
marvelous in every way. i feel as if you brought the party to me! thanks! (p.s. would love to know what kind of paint you used and how you applied it.)
3/9/10 8:57 AM
carolynw said...
Love the dress but even more love your photo shoot - you seem to be having a ball in this dress and that's a good thing!! So glad to know I am not th eonly one to drop the F bomb when things go not as planned in the sewing room - no children around!!
3/9/10 9:37 AM
colorkitten said...
Love it!
3/9/10 11:33 AM
kwpanthermom said...
I love this dress, and I would never have believed it was from a vintage pattern because it looks so modern! I didn't know what I was looking at when I first opened your pictures..."how did she get the print design to be so shaded like that?? What a COOL dress!" and then I was flabbergasted to read you had taken a vintage design and then painted it! absolutely brilliant.
3/9/10 1:42 PM
nellc said...
I love your dress and your photo shoot!
3/9/10 3:09 PM
jorth said...
Awwww thanks everybody! These comments have made my morning! ElizabethDee, I used a paint from my local fabric store called "Jones Tones". They come in little tubes, and I just diluted them with 15 ml of water before applying to the dress. It really was waaaay to much fun!
3/9/10 3:15 PM
TalyQ said...
Looks great!!! I am glad you could save it.
3/10/10 1:51 AM
Gelbean said...
Great looking dress. The photo shoot looks like it was a fun time. Thanks for the entertaining review!
3/10/10 7:30 AM
becca a said...
Very cute dress! It fits perfectly and looks like lots of fun. Great paint job!
3/10/10 7:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2008-102 Jacket
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 1/1/09
Read Review

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate W Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate W Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5591 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by sunnysewin... on 10/3/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0120 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0120 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2576 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2576 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us