SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4491 - Vintage dress (Vintage cocktail dress)

Viewed 391 times 
Reviewed by:jorth
photo

 
 
About jorthstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/10 1:52 AM
Last Updated:3/9/10 3:18 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
becca a said...
Very cute dress! It fits perfectly and looks like lots of fun. Great paint job!
3/10/10 7:48 AM
Gelbean said...
Great looking dress. The photo shoot looks like it was a fun time. Thanks for the entertaining review!
3/10/10 7:30 AM
TalyQ said...
Looks great!!! I am glad you could save it.
3/10/10 1:51 AM
jorth said...
Awwww thanks everybody! These comments have made my morning! ElizabethDee, I used a paint from my local fabric store called "Jones Tones". They come in little tubes, and I just diluted them with 15 ml of water before applying to the dress. It really was waaaay to much fun!
3/9/10 3:15 PM
nellc said...
I love your dress and your photo shoot!
3/9/10 3:09 PM
kwpanthermom said...
I love this dress, and I would never have believed it was from a vintage pattern because it looks so modern! I didn't know what I was looking at when I first opened your pictures..."how did she get the print design to be so shaded like that?? What a COOL dress!" and then I was flabbergasted to read you had taken a vintage design and then painted it! absolutely brilliant.
3/9/10 1:42 PM
colorkitten said...
Love it!
3/9/10 11:33 AM
carolynw said...
Love the dress but even more love your photo shoot - you seem to be having a ball in this dress and that's a good thing!! So glad to know I am not th eonly one to drop the F bomb when things go not as planned in the sewing room - no children around!!
3/9/10 9:37 AM
ElizabethDee said...
marvelous in every way. i feel as if you brought the party to me! thanks! (p.s. would love to know what kind of paint you used and how you applied it.)
3/9/10 8:57 AM
AuntieShel said...
If I make this dress, will I have as much fun as it looks like you are having in the photos? Couldn't even believe you painted it--inspiring. And your review was hysterical.
3/9/10 8:25 AM
no7262 said...
I LOVE IT! You did a awesome job! Nora :)
3/9/10 6:46 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Hilarious review! Great dress!!!
3/9/10 2:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-118

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
StyleArc Victoria Blouse

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now