SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8598 (MISSES' SHIRT)

6 more reviews
Viewed 462 times 
Reviewed by:kidmd
photo

 
 
About kidmdstarstarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 4/20/09
Reviews: 276 (patterns: 274)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/10 8:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Finicky Petite said... (11/5/10 9:48 AM) Reply
Very cute blouse! I love the sleeves, but I can see what you mean about the fitting. I don't understand sizes at all, because according to the size chart, I should be cutting one or two sizes larger than what actually works for me. One quick question about the sleeves... the two photos that are provided at the Vogue website http://voguepatterns.mccall.com/v8598-products-10474.php?page_id=259 make the sleeves look like they impede arm movement. Neither of the models looks like she could raise her arm any higher than it is in the picture. Do you have that experience with your blouse?
janet said... (3/20/10 6:24 PM) Reply
You do beautiful work and look lovely in your blouse.
Christas said... (3/15/10 11:41 AM) Reply
Was your high bust a 12? From the pics you do look like you need to go down a size and then do an FBA. This blouse has such cute style details. You can tell that you have sewn it so nicely.
Beek said... (3/15/10 10:17 AM) Reply
Great shirt. In my experience, I always size up 4 sizes from my RTW size. For example, I buy a size 8 off the rack at Neimann's so I sew a size 12 in Vogue, McCalls, Butterick, etc.
Hilary said... (3/15/10 9:28 AM) Reply
Your shirt is really pretty~I read your blog, and saw the pictures. My first thought on the fit is that you definitely need to go down at least one size! It fits well in the back overall, but there is way too much fabric in the upper chest area (as you noted). I always have to go way down in size to fit the neck/upper chest too. Then I do a massive FBA, LOL! I hope you give it another try-it'd make a great TNT. Even with the fitting woes, it still is really cute.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2014-122

photo
by: tenderbutt...

Review
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details