Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5885 - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 355 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Longarm
photo
About Longarm
USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/10 1:09 PM
Last Updated:3/17/10 7:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Historylover said...
For what it's worth, I really like this top on you. It's very feminine. The neckline is just right and the three-quarter sleeves balance everything very nicely.
3/15/10 3:40 PM
Christas said...
Poor choice of fabric?! I LOVE the fabric! I clicked on your photo in the gallery because the fabric looked so cute sewn in your pattern. I think you have made a REALLY cute top! I would TOTALLY copy it: fabric and pattern!
3/15/10 5:19 PM
Longarm said...
Amazed at the positive comments! Well, I have not thrown it away yet. Maybe I am going through a low self-opinion week? Another thing is that I seldom wear prints and this bold print is just pretty shocking to my system. Your feedback puts a smile on my face.
3/15/10 8:18 PM
Historylover said...
I don't think the polka-dot fabric is too bold for you or this top. If you had orange and lime green polka dots on a purple background--now that WOULD be bold! It also appears that this fabric has a really nice drape. I think it's a keeper!
3/15/10 8:38 PM
wendlesue said...
So cute - especially the fabric! Much better than the boring white on the pattern envelope!
3/15/10 10:59 PM
newmama said...
My first thought when I saw the picture larger was "What a cute top!". I love the ruffles and the shape of the sleeves and neckline, and the cuffs on the sleeve. So I was really surprised when I started to read your review and found out it didn't work for you! I really like it. I am not very daring in my clothing choices, and I thought the print was just the right amount of interest. The only reason I wouldn't copy your fabric is because I can't pull off brown :) I'd take it in blues or pinks though! I'm actually adding this pattern to my wishlist right now...
3/17/10 9:02 PM
mpbh said...
I am shocked that you are unhappy with this top. When I looked at your photo, I was so impressed with your fabric choice. I think you look FABULOUS. It is perfect for you!
3/17/10 9:12 PM
petro said...
I also like this top on you in this fabric, its very pretty. I think the fabric adds interest, and no way does it come across as too bold.
3/18/10 3:34 PM
sewnsew43 said...
I think this top is great on you. My first reaction was how cute it is and the print is not really bold. The soft fabric makes it drape nicely. Keep it!!!!
3/18/10 4:26 PM
GermanKleinigkeit said...
That is you and you look adorable in it! Keep it, I'd say, too.
3/18/10 6:56 PM
db1 said...
I agree with the other commenters -- I think the top came out great in terms of color, print and drape. And it suits you!
4/7/10 0:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6170
photo
Review by rmusic1 on 8/10/13
Read Review

Vogue 1247 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
Vogue 1247 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6083 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6083 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 6207
photo
Review by Poppycat22... on 1/16/11
Read Review

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us