SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6198 (Making History)

Viewed 1394 times 
Reviewed by:yarnivore
photo

 
 
About yarnivorestar
NY USA
Member since: 11/23/03
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/04 10:34 PM
Last Updated:3/28/04 10:40 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewTabby said... (3/29/04 12:00 PM) Reply
Very nice, Yarnivore! I don't know how you put in your grommets, but after much trial and error I found that the best way for me is to use an x-acto knife with a brand new blade to make small X cuts where you want the grommets to go. The blade will slice through multiple layers of fabric, interfacing, and lining, and you have a perfect opening to insert the grommet. Again, really nice job-corsets are challenging!
Ann C said... (3/29/04 8:46 AM) Reply
Looks very nice. I remember putting a blouse and skirt like this together for a medeival costume I did a few years ago. (Luckily for me, the corset part wasn't requested.) Anyway, yarnivore, you're right about the seemingly ridiculous amounts of fabric.
Karen Bowers said... (3/29/04 8:22 AM) Reply
wow! what a great outfit! the style is very flattering on you. good for you to persist and overcome a difficult pattern.
SewingSusan said... (3/29/04 6:00 AM) Reply
Your outfit looks wonderful. I have this pattern and would love to make it for ren faire this summer. Thanks for this helpful review!
Tini said... (3/29/04 1:09 AM) Reply
You look faboulus! I made a similar Simplicity pattern once, but without knowing that the seamallowance is included in american patterns, it came out waaaay to big. I really love your costume!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Pattern Details