SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6198 (Making History)

Viewed 1385 times 
Reviewed by:yarnivore
photo

 
 
About yarnivorestar
NY USA
Member since: 11/23/03
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/04 10:34 PM
Last Updated:3/28/04 10:40 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tini said...
You look faboulus! I made a similar Simplicity pattern once, but without knowing that the seamallowance is included in american patterns, it came out waaaay to big. I really love your costume!
3/29/04 1:09 AM
SewingSusan said...
Your outfit looks wonderful. I have this pattern and would love to make it for ren faire this summer. Thanks for this helpful review!
3/29/04 6:00 AM
Karen Bowers said...
wow! what a great outfit! the style is very flattering on you. good for you to persist and overcome a difficult pattern.
3/29/04 8:22 AM
Ann C said...
Looks very nice. I remember putting a blouse and skirt like this together for a medeival costume I did a few years ago. (Luckily for me, the corset part wasn't requested.) Anyway, yarnivore, you're right about the seemingly ridiculous amounts of fabric.
3/29/04 8:46 AM
SewTabby said...
Very nice, Yarnivore! I don't know how you put in your grommets, but after much trial and error I found that the best way for me is to use an x-acto knife with a brand new blade to make small X cuts where you want the grommets to go. The blade will slice through multiple layers of fabric, interfacing, and lining, and you have a perfect opening to insert the grommet. Again, really nice job-corsets are challenging!
3/29/04 12:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 6331

photo
by: mskellytay...

Review
Other 000

photo
by: gdgtmma

Review
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now