Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6890 (Men's Shirt) - Type:Mens    printable version
Viewed 402 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/10 11:24 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
LOVE IT! Nora :)
3/28/10 12:17 PM
Mirakel said...
It looks great, glad you were able to successfully cut around your "stains"! I love that you use sheets, I do also, as well as curtains - so much more affordable!
3/28/10 1:10 PM
zazzie said...
What a smart look. Love it. (One thing I know - and love - about wood clappers is that they are not only a very flat surface, which helps pressing, but they also absorb humidity (steam). I could not live without one!)
3/28/10 1:39 PM
Nan Kay said...
Peter, I think you have advanced past the beginner status! Great shirt, and you are a very creative fabric shopper!
3/28/10 2:37 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Glad to see the finished shirt! I enjoy reading about your up-cycling, especially with great sheet finds! I wonder if tea-dying would hide those stains? I've been eyeing the wood clapper, maybe I'll just have to get one now.
3/28/10 2:57 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great job! I think using sheets is a great idea.
3/28/10 3:52 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely smart shirt.
3/28/10 4:27 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY nice in every respect. And you can NEVER have too. many. photos. :o)
3/28/10 5:20 PM
AuntieShel said...
OMG what a fabulous shirt, can't believe you have just started sewing. This is so professional. And I was rolling reading about your "fabric." Wow, I have a clapper bought several years ago, didn't know they were antiques these days. Guess I'll hang onto it.
3/28/10 7:18 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Wonderful! I especially was impressed looking at your sleeve placket. I worked menís wear at a very established store and you should be exceptionally proud of your shirt. Love the collar too!
3/28/10 10:34 PM
Karen Easter said...
Hey, Peter, you did a great job with the shirt. And the top-stitching is really good! I agree with Nan Kay -- you're not a beginner any more!
3/28/10 11:32 PM
TracyB said...
David Beckham runs a remote second to the well-dressed, articulate, and generally good looking Peter Lappin who has the most happening blog ever.
3/29/10 1:07 AM
Maree P said...
This is a great shirt Peter....great slim cut, great collar and exceptional sewing on the placket. Your shirt reminds me of Jay's (ie Robert Redford) fabulous wardrobe in The Great Gatsby.
3/29/10 6:14 AM
feldmanTcat said...
Thanks for this review - the shirt looks great. I bought this pattern last year to use for my fiance and I have not yet tried it. I need to get a copy of the book you used, because those weird sleeve placket methods often confuse me and yours look absolutely perfect.
3/29/10 8:06 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Sadly, making those plackets is a little like origami. Thanks for the comments, everybody!
3/29/10 10:13 AM
BettyMike said...
Love your shirt. I really need to start looking for these vintage patterns for my husband. I love your reviews and your blog!
3/29/10 7:24 PM
CathrynR said...
Good job, very nice shirt. I also particularly like the collar. Can you tell specifically what (part of the shirt) you used the clapper on?
3/30/10 6:02 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Hi, Cathy. Primarily the collar and the plackets. It can be used anywhere you want a truly sharp, flat crease.
3/30/10 10:58 PM
DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE said...
You may have convinced me to raid Moms patterns again...... she won't like that, but my husband will. You're right about that collar. Classic with a difference. Very nice.
3/31/10 10:46 AM
Skymom said...
Great-looking shirt! I've always liked that club collar, but most guys can't really wear it--you have to be slim and hip to make it work, so it looks perfect for you. I think seeking out patterns from the 1970s is a great idea if you want to get that fitted look; things got pretty baggy after that, and even today, men's shirts seem generally to be cut on the large side. Also, if you can make a shirt this nice, and jeans, and a coat, you need to promote yourself at least to intermediate!
3/31/10 5:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
Totally GQ, Peter!
3/31/10 9:38 PM
Englishstitch said...
Wow! You look great, your shirt is so stylish and cool. Move over Becks!
5/8/10 5:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2008-112 B
photo
Review by Birgitte on 1/10/08
Read Review

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5858
photo
Review by optimistic on 1/16/10
Read Review

Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse City Dress
Loes Hinse City Dress

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us