SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Other> Duvet Cover (Duvet Cover)

Viewed 1051 times 
Reviewed by:Donnamae
photo

 
 
About Donnamaestar
CO USA
Member since: 3/20/03
Reviews: 23 (patterns: 18)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/04 9:01 PM
Last Updated:4/4/04 9:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said... (4/10/04 9:22 AM) Reply
Donnamae, Oh thanks for the link. I will study it and compare with my instructions. I have also used velcro for keeping the insides from shifting. I read somewhere about adding a ruffle around the bottom of the cover, in case the cover isn't big enough to mask all of the mattress and springs. Another option that I have done: Sew a coordinating ruffle to a mattress cover, then install it on top of the springs (and under the mattress). This also hides any unslightly mattress/springs box stuff.
Annette H said... (4/6/04 4:52 PM) Reply
Donamae, I went through a phase of making artistic duvet covers. With panels of Indian sari fabric , with stripes on one side and hearts on the other - I had a lot of fun. But double-bed size really is a lot of fabric to handle. I'm about to make a single size in a natural linen - I also make the pillow cases to mix and match. People love them!
Donnamae said... (4/6/04 12:00 PM) Reply
Penelope, the link to the directions is the pattern photo. You are right about getting exactly what you want by making it yourself. I am happy with the results.
JDpenelope said... (4/6/04 8:24 AM) Reply
Donnamae, where did you get your instructions? I know what you mean about the time and expense of making one of these! But, problem is, it's difficult to find exactly what you want sometimes. Now that it's done, it's worth it, don't you think--even if you wouldn't do it again! I like your button idea and agree about the ties. You remind me that I really *must* make the 2nd of two matching fleece covers. I used a print and plain fabric (for framing borders). I added panels at the top and bottom, which increased the complexity of the math logarithmically!
AnneM said... (4/5/04 8:18 PM) Reply
The cats had to make certain to get their fur on it! Wow, 10 yards. I can see someone using this in multiple fabrics to reduce their fabric stash. :p
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Simplicity A1738 OOP

photo
by: lbrundage

Review
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Pattern Details
The Essential Tote Paper Pattern

The Essential Tote Paper Pattern

Pattern Details