SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8607 (Pants)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1594 times 
Reviewed by:eodwif

About eodwif
Member since: 7/30/03
Reviews: 5 (patterns: 5)
Skill level:Intermediate
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/04 10:19 AM
Last Updated:4/5/04 10:24 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
cynthia w said... (5/3/04 2:46 PM) Reply
I am a fellow Utahan. Do you live in Utah County, like I do? If so, tell me your favorite place to buy fabric. It is slim-pickins here in Provo except for Joann's. Email me at [email protected]
MsConnie said... (4/19/04 10:00 PM) Reply
Your pants look great! I have made these pants 4 times myself & I love love love them! The pattern photo looks very low cut, but they fit me perfectly. I shortened the length about 1" & it was all they needed. All of them are from fairly drapey fabric - the linen pair is too large, so I'll need to adjust them before wearing this year. My least favorite choice was the "muslin" I made from a Hawaiian printed sheet - a little too stiff! And I've been sewing over 40 years, so it's an ongoing process to get the perfect match!
Hilary said... (4/5/04 5:32 PM) Reply
Cute pants! I agree fabric choices make a huge difference, and it does take some practice (I think a class would be great for new sewists) I always had trouble with that and just recently started getting better results~ Mini's idea is a good one~I always take a potential fabric to the mirror and drape it over myself to see if I like it. Since I started doing that I have actually been able to (happily) wear the things I make :o)
Mini said... (4/5/04 3:52 PM) Reply
This look like another excellent Burda pants pattern that I will have to try. Fabric does make a difference! Usually, I find that a smooth fabric is more slimming, and a napped (fuzzy) surface adds visual weight. But if you wear the red pair with a longer smooth fabric top, the pants will look slimmer. Sometimes you can test for "fat" or "skinny" fabric in advance just by draping the intended fabric on your figure and taking a candid look in the mirror.
CarrieA said... (4/5/04 11:34 AM) Reply
Oh boy, can I relate to choosing the right fabric! I think I'm about 50/50 when it comes to that. My wadders are usually due to fabric choice, not so much construction, so I totally agree that a class in that makes great sense. If we analyze your fabric choices, did the green have more body (or less drape) than the red?
Oopsy-Daisy! said... (4/5/04 10:38 AM) Reply
Your pants look great! I must have skipped over this one in the catalog. Sometimes I can make the same pattern,no changes, but with a different fabric get an entire different look...and fit! We are all in the same boat! :)
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew House Seven Alberta Street Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Sew House Seven Alberta Street Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Pattern Details