SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5525 

62 more reviews
Viewed 1054 times 
Reviewed by:elainemay
photo

 
 
About elainemaystarstarstar
Member since: 2/4/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:4/10/10 11:50 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Susannah_sews said...
Lovely, Elaine. I was watching progress on your blog, and only realised when you had finished it that this was the same pattern I had bought to make a coat for my daughter. She wants a winter weight coat, so we have selected a (relatively) light wool/cashmere blend in black. I found your comments about the cut encouraging. I had been a bit concerned that the pattern might be a bit loose fitting, but I am more reassured that I will be able to get a good fit for her without making too many alterations. I think I can say nice things about you on pattern review when you are being Elainemay. I couldn't possibly say nice things about Ms Selfish - it would go to her head!!
4/11/10 0:35 AM
valerie sews said...
What a lovely lovely spring coat. I didn't notice that the collar and belt could be scaled down an infintesimally small amount until you mentioned it. It looks great as is. The material looks fresh instead of craftly quilty. Arrrgh! I'm jealous!
4/11/10 2:51 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Totally gorgeous trench! I'd love one of these in my wardrobe.
4/11/10 4:10 AM
Paris75008 said...
Wow. Simply stunning. Looks like it came from a top designer fashion line. Thanks for the helpful review. Pictures in the park are great. congratulations due to the photographer!
4/11/10 6:25 AM
Lori V said...
Your trench is beautiful, the polka dot fabric is amazing.
4/11/10 8:14 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice - the fabric is lovely for this style.
4/11/10 8:59 AM
becca a said...
This is a great trench! I will have to pull this pattern out and try it.
4/11/10 9:48 AM
JanaL said...
Great coat! I love the combination of fabric and pattern that you've put together, and it looks so nice on you.
4/11/10 9:56 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Lovely! Thanks for the tip on the double backstitch (?) hint. Your topstitching is great. I will definitely be checking to see if my Bernina has this option!
4/11/10 10:31 AM
sewtime said...
The perfect spring coat! I love the fabric that you used!!
4/11/10 11:06 AM
Raye Ann said...
lovely finished trench! you achieved your goal of a non-crafty looking coat:) the buttons are perfect.
4/11/10 4:34 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Great, fun, trendy trench coat. I was admiring it on your blog before it was finished. I'm in the middle of making a trench coat and your posts are really helpful. I think the sleeve bands do help andI will steal your idea. Thanks.
4/11/10 8:26 PM
AuntieShel said...
Absolutely beautiful!!
4/12/10 8:38 AM
Mazzygirl said...
lovely jacket, great use of print fabric too! I'm now inspired to give prints a go in this style - thank you!
5/13/10 4:32 PM
poppykettle said...
I just love the fabric pattern on your coat! It looks really great on too - I'm inspired - think I might make this one next as winter is approaching fast (where I live, anyway).
3/24/11 6:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Burda 7866

photo
by: biink

Review
Vogue Patterns 1020

photo
by: Timmithea

Review
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now