Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5525 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1052 times 61 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:elainemay
photo
About elainemaystarstarstar
Member since: 2/4/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:4/10/10 11:50 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Susannah_sews said...
Lovely, Elaine. I was watching progress on your blog, and only realised when you had finished it that this was the same pattern I had bought to make a coat for my daughter. She wants a winter weight coat, so we have selected a (relatively) light wool/cashmere blend in black. I found your comments about the cut encouraging. I had been a bit concerned that the pattern might be a bit loose fitting, but I am more reassured that I will be able to get a good fit for her without making too many alterations. I think I can say nice things about you on pattern review when you are being Elainemay. I couldn't possibly say nice things about Ms Selfish - it would go to her head!!
4/11/10 0:35 AM
valerie sews said...
What a lovely lovely spring coat. I didn't notice that the collar and belt could be scaled down an infintesimally small amount until you mentioned it. It looks great as is. The material looks fresh instead of craftly quilty. Arrrgh! I'm jealous!
4/11/10 2:51 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Totally gorgeous trench! I'd love one of these in my wardrobe.
4/11/10 4:10 AM
Paris75008 said...
Wow. Simply stunning. Looks like it came from a top designer fashion line. Thanks for the helpful review. Pictures in the park are great. congratulations due to the photographer!
4/11/10 6:25 AM
Lori V said...
Your trench is beautiful, the polka dot fabric is amazing.
4/11/10 8:14 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice - the fabric is lovely for this style.
4/11/10 8:59 AM
becca a said...
This is a great trench! I will have to pull this pattern out and try it.
4/11/10 9:48 AM
JanaL said...
Great coat! I love the combination of fabric and pattern that you've put together, and it looks so nice on you.
4/11/10 9:56 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Lovely! Thanks for the tip on the double backstitch (?) hint. Your topstitching is great. I will definitely be checking to see if my Bernina has this option!
4/11/10 10:31 AM
sewtime said...
The perfect spring coat! I love the fabric that you used!!
4/11/10 11:06 AM
Raye Ann said...
lovely finished trench! you achieved your goal of a non-crafty looking coat:) the buttons are perfect.
4/11/10 4:34 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Great, fun, trendy trench coat. I was admiring it on your blog before it was finished. I'm in the middle of making a trench coat and your posts are really helpful. I think the sleeve bands do help andI will steal your idea. Thanks.
4/11/10 8:26 PM
AuntieShel said...
Absolutely beautiful!!
4/12/10 8:38 AM
Mazzygirl said...
lovely jacket, great use of print fabric too! I'm now inspired to give prints a go in this style - thank you!
5/13/10 4:32 PM
poppykettle said...
I just love the fabric pattern on your coat! It looks really great on too - I'm inspired - think I might make this one next as winter is approaching fast (where I live, anyway).
3/24/11 6:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 4084
photo
Review by FullertonR... on 10/13/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2005
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 5/9/07
Read Review

McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )
McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us