SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4954 (Victorian Lady Suit view A & B)

6 more reviews
Viewed 661 times 
Reviewed by:droxy
photo

 
 
About droxy
TX USA
Member since: 9/25/07
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/10 0:32 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
4/23/10 7:06 AM
tildatoo said...
Wonderful! Love the detailed photos too, thanks.
4/23/10 8:31 AM
MagpieJen said...
That looks wonderful, droxy! You got a great fit, and it drapes just right, I think. I really appreciate your progress photos and all the advice on this pattern!
4/23/10 10:00 AM
AliciaNoel said...
You've done a great job on this! Love the green
4/23/10 1:28 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
This is a great Harry Potter costume! Congratulations.
4/24/10 11:31 AM
Judy Kski said...
Beautiful jacket. Thanks for such a detailed review. Your step-by-step pictures will be very helpful to anyone making this pattern.
4/25/10 12:23 PM
nancy2001 said...
Terrific outfit. Even a magician like Harry Potter would be amazed.
5/17/10 4:24 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Great outfit! I love it!
5/19/10 10:11 PM
Paris75008 said...
That's a great costume and the jacket is really well made. Well done! Great photos
5/20/10 7:40 AM
cowboy sewer said...
Thanks SO much for the pictures! I was completely stuck trying to figure out the sleeve hem but your picture explained the method much better than the pattern instructions did. My husband took one look at the picture and knew how to pin it for me. I'll take all the help I can get!
8/26/10 8:53 PM
NiamhR said...
This looks great. I'm trying to finish this pattern and have got to the pesky pleat. I'm finding it very tricky but looking at your pictures, I may have had a lightbulb moment. @cowboy sewer, my husband often has to help me visualise stuff too.
8/8/11 10:49 AM
Laurasupernails said...
Help!! Step 37 is vague
4/24/12 5:05 AM
Laurasupernails said...
Nevermind I got it!! Thank you for the picture of the sleeve hem! The picture on the pattern of step 37 Confused me. Jacket turned out awesome :)
4/25/12 3:42 AM
Jrhee said...
OMG, this is the real thing!
5/22/12 6:26 PM
LDT2011 said...
Looks fabulous. Can I ask would it be easy to lengthen the jacket 'tails'? I'd like to make mine more knee length...
7/11/13 5:23 AM
droxy said...
I dont know how to directly reply to a question. I dont get email notifications. LDT2011. You can easily modify commercial patterns and making the jacket a duster or long coat. I am not sure how that bustle pleat will behave, so I'd put some interfacing in it if I made it longer.
9/28/13 12:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

McCall's 5533

photo
by: MadeByMeg

Review
Simplicity 5547 (vintage)

photo
by: ajhewing

Review
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now