SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4954 (Victorian Lady Suit view A & B)

6 more reviews
Viewed 678 times 
Reviewed by:droxy
photo

 
 
About droxy
TX USA
Member since: 9/25/07
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/10 0:32 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
droxy said...
I dont know how to directly reply to a question. I dont get email notifications. LDT2011. You can easily modify commercial patterns and making the jacket a duster or long coat. I am not sure how that bustle pleat will behave, so I'd put some interfacing in it if I made it longer.
9/28/13 12:45 PM
LDT2011 said...
Looks fabulous. Can I ask would it be easy to lengthen the jacket 'tails'? I'd like to make mine more knee length...
7/11/13 5:23 AM
Jrhee said...
OMG, this is the real thing!
5/22/12 6:26 PM
Laurasupernails said...
Nevermind I got it!! Thank you for the picture of the sleeve hem! The picture on the pattern of step 37 Confused me. Jacket turned out awesome :)
4/25/12 3:42 AM
Laurasupernails said...
Help!! Step 37 is vague
4/24/12 5:05 AM
NiamhR said...
This looks great. I'm trying to finish this pattern and have got to the pesky pleat. I'm finding it very tricky but looking at your pictures, I may have had a lightbulb moment. @cowboy sewer, my husband often has to help me visualise stuff too.
8/8/11 10:49 AM
cowboy sewer said...
Thanks SO much for the pictures! I was completely stuck trying to figure out the sleeve hem but your picture explained the method much better than the pattern instructions did. My husband took one look at the picture and knew how to pin it for me. I'll take all the help I can get!
8/26/10 8:53 PM
Paris75008 said...
That's a great costume and the jacket is really well made. Well done! Great photos
5/20/10 7:40 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Great outfit! I love it!
5/19/10 10:11 PM
nancy2001 said...
Terrific outfit. Even a magician like Harry Potter would be amazed.
5/17/10 4:24 PM
Judy Kski said...
Beautiful jacket. Thanks for such a detailed review. Your step-by-step pictures will be very helpful to anyone making this pattern.
4/25/10 12:23 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
This is a great Harry Potter costume! Congratulations.
4/24/10 11:31 AM
AliciaNoel said...
You've done a great job on this! Love the green
4/23/10 1:28 PM
MagpieJen said...
That looks wonderful, droxy! You got a great fit, and it drapes just right, I think. I really appreciate your progress photos and all the advice on this pattern!
4/23/10 10:00 AM
tildatoo said...
Wonderful! Love the detailed photos too, thanks.
4/23/10 8:31 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
4/23/10 7:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

brerrabbit.com The Maker's Journal

photo
by: Carolyn.S

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 5514

photo
by: sewnotwork

Review