Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4954 (Victorian Lady Suit view A & B) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 643 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:droxy
photo
About droxy
TX USA
Member since: 9/25/07
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/10 0:32 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
4/23/10 7:06 AM
tildatoo said...
Wonderful! Love the detailed photos too, thanks.
4/23/10 8:31 AM
MagpieJen said...
That looks wonderful, droxy! You got a great fit, and it drapes just right, I think. I really appreciate your progress photos and all the advice on this pattern!
4/23/10 10:00 AM
AliciaNoel said...
You've done a great job on this! Love the green
4/23/10 1:28 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
This is a great Harry Potter costume! Congratulations.
4/24/10 11:31 AM
Judy Kski said...
Beautiful jacket. Thanks for such a detailed review. Your step-by-step pictures will be very helpful to anyone making this pattern.
4/25/10 12:23 PM
nancy2001 said...
Terrific outfit. Even a magician like Harry Potter would be amazed.
5/17/10 4:24 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Great outfit! I love it!
5/19/10 10:11 PM
Paris75008 said...
That's a great costume and the jacket is really well made. Well done! Great photos
5/20/10 7:40 AM
cowboy sewer said...
Thanks SO much for the pictures! I was completely stuck trying to figure out the sleeve hem but your picture explained the method much better than the pattern instructions did. My husband took one look at the picture and knew how to pin it for me. I'll take all the help I can get!
8/26/10 8:53 PM
NiamhR said...
This looks great. I'm trying to finish this pattern and have got to the pesky pleat. I'm finding it very tricky but looking at your pictures, I may have had a lightbulb moment. @cowboy sewer, my husband often has to help me visualise stuff too.
8/8/11 10:49 AM
Laurasupernails said...
Help!! Step 37 is vague
4/24/12 5:05 AM
Laurasupernails said...
Nevermind I got it!! Thank you for the picture of the sleeve hem! The picture on the pattern of step 37 Confused me. Jacket turned out awesome :)
4/25/12 3:42 AM
Jrhee said...
OMG, this is the real thing!
5/22/12 6:26 PM
LDT2011 said...
Looks fabulous. Can I ask would it be easy to lengthen the jacket 'tails'? I'd like to make mine more knee length...
7/11/13 5:23 AM
droxy said...
I dont know how to directly reply to a question. I dont get email notifications. LDT2011. You can easily modify commercial patterns and making the jacket a duster or long coat. I am not sure how that bustle pleat will behave, so I'd put some interfacing in it if I made it longer.
9/28/13 12:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

New Look 6872
photo
Review by Thera on 1/27/12
Read Review

New Look 6233 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6233 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5919 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5919 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used PinkShirt Pink Shirt
photo
Review by Lesaliciou... on 7/10/08
Read Review

Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us