SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2886 

23 more reviews
Viewed 968 times 
Reviewed by:DreinPA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About DreinPAstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/5/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/10 10:50 AM
Last Updated:6/5/10 10:55 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Victoria Jones Collection


Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site

So Vintage Patterns


Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
Your review illustrates the trials of working with a border print with stretch. Thanks for a helpful review. It looks good so far.
4/25/10 12:59 PM
susiestitcher said...
This is a really neat fabric. I think your ideas are on track. Having just finished my first garment in stretch cotton chino or sateen, I know that this fabric does grow a bit. I hope that lining the bodice with non-stretch helps here. I love the pattern you picked, too! Keep going and you'll have a fabulous dress at the end!
4/25/10 4:32 PM
susiestitcher said...
I forgot to say that the photo of the project had me thinking you just released a billion balloons into the sky! :)
4/25/10 4:33 PM
my horse said...
Love reading your thought process while working through this design. I think you have a great start on it. Sleep on it and mull it over to give time for missed 'AH-HA' inspirations to suface. Great fabric BTW. And I have to thank you for the best laugh I've had today. Your dressform bust enhancements cracked me up! Necessity is the mother of invention, right?
4/25/10 11:37 PM
sarahinlafayette said...
Wow! I used that fabric in a top - see my review of Lekala 5769 - and it was challenging! I'd love to be able to ask the fabric designer WHAT they were thinking. Good luck.
5/14/10 12:11 PM
kathleencramer said...
I know there are a few things that you are not satisfied with, but the over all effect at the end really is great. I think it looks beautiful and would be happy to wear it myself. great job on the review.
6/5/10 11:05 AM
chicaem29 said...
I know you are not entirely happy with the results but I think it looks great - it's such a cute fabric that it really distracts from the less-than-ideal fit, etc. Sometimes when something doesn't turn out how you want it really colors your vision and you can't see the success of it. I can understand wanting to wear the dress with a bolero to cover up the gaposis at the armhole, but I do hope you'll wear it - it's really cute.
6/5/10 11:12 AM
drsue said...
You really did an AMAZING job on the pattern placement for this dress. I think, unfortunately, the nature of the fabric itself was not quite right for the dress design itself. Pleats and fabrics with wovens with stretch just don't go together. Ditto on the gathers on the bodice. That type of fabric needs close fitting designs with minimal ease. Personally I hate the stuff and never use it. With that lesson learned, and your obvious talent at design, I can only imagine how fabulous your next project will be.
6/5/10 11:30 AM
Rhoda K said...
You did a great job despite the obstacles involved, but hopefully you can get some wear, as it is a beautiful dress. You may like it more after you wear it a few times.
6/5/10 12:19 PM
pfaffkj said...
I think you are being a little hard on yourself! It is a nice looking dress. Give it a wear and see how it behaves as the day goes on. And remember: most folks don't sew and won't see all the 'wrong' things that you see! I'm sending 'I can wear this afterall' thoughts your way. Thank you for a wonderful review.
6/5/10 12:21 PM
homejewel said...
When I look at the original picture, I didn't see a thing wrong with it until I read the review and saw the details. I definitely think it is still wearable, but with all of your effort, think you should give it another try and make it just right since you now know the problem areas. The border print is very cute and it really does look good on you. Sorry it was such an ordeal, though. So what fabric do you recommend for this pattern? My 15-yr old daughter bought this pattern and wants to make it.
6/5/10 12:26 PM
Time4me said...
Hmmm. Well I really like it. I love the fabric and the dress. Perhaps you will have a bit kinder opinion of it if you hang it in your closet for a week or two.
6/5/10 12:48 PM
MNBarb said...
I chuckled at the eyes on the back of the bodice. I just made a big floral and was sure I would end up with a blossom on my bosom. I think this dress is wearable despite your frustrations. A shortie sweater with short or 3/4 sleeves would cover all of the bothersome details. Note to self, no border prints until I can upgrade to "advanced" status.
6/5/10 5:03 PM
Skymom said...
Please don't be so hard on yourself and your dress. It's adorable. You did a great job of managing the giant repeat in the print. Even though you're aware of "problems" with the stretch fabric, they don't show in the photos. Let this hang for a week or so and then wear it--maybe you can enjoy it more later. If I saw this in a store, I'd be immediately attracted to it.
6/5/10 8:46 PM
Robin Denning said...
I am sorry the dress gave you such a hard time, but the end result is really beautiful. I love the way you used the border print! Just go shopping and look at RTW and your dress will look wonderful by comparison!
6/5/10 9:35 PM
susiestitcher said...
I really love your finished dress, even if you don't. You overcame lots of problems to end with such a cute dress. The weight and hand of the stretch sateen definitely was the culprit, not your great eye for fabric placement. The black bolero idea is great, if you really don't like the fit of the bodice. I agree with others that you might hang it up for a while and then see how you like it in a week or two. Or...send it to me!!!
6/5/10 9:57 PM
Hilary said...
I agree with many of the comments-I think this dress looks fantastic on you! It's beautiful, #1, and you have the figure for it (nice and tall! and slender!) and my 7 yr old DD said "isn't she beautiful?" when she saw the pic :o) and I agree! I hope you get some wear out of it! It really is pretty, and retro-cool!
9/6/10 1:45 PM
whirrclunk said...
Just spotted this review, what amazing fabric!!! And great placement of pattern pieces, it works so well!
6/1/11 1:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Simplicity 2512

photo
by: colormefun

Review
Simplicity 3559

photo
by: Jasst282

Review
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now