Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2886 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 941 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:DreinPA
photo
Friend of PR
About DreinPAstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/5/06
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/10 10:50 AM
Last Updated:6/5/10 10:55 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
Your review illustrates the trials of working with a border print with stretch. Thanks for a helpful review. It looks good so far.
4/25/10 12:59 PM
susiestitcher said...
This is a really neat fabric. I think your ideas are on track. Having just finished my first garment in stretch cotton chino or sateen, I know that this fabric does grow a bit. I hope that lining the bodice with non-stretch helps here. I love the pattern you picked, too! Keep going and you'll have a fabulous dress at the end!
4/25/10 4:32 PM
susiestitcher said...
I forgot to say that the photo of the project had me thinking you just released a billion balloons into the sky! :)
4/25/10 4:33 PM
my horse said...
Love reading your thought process while working through this design. I think you have a great start on it. Sleep on it and mull it over to give time for missed 'AH-HA' inspirations to suface. Great fabric BTW. And I have to thank you for the best laugh I've had today. Your dressform bust enhancements cracked me up! Necessity is the mother of invention, right?
4/25/10 11:37 PM
sarahinlafayette said...
Wow! I used that fabric in a top - see my review of Lekala 5769 - and it was challenging! I'd love to be able to ask the fabric designer WHAT they were thinking. Good luck.
5/14/10 12:11 PM
kathleencramer said...
I know there are a few things that you are not satisfied with, but the over all effect at the end really is great. I think it looks beautiful and would be happy to wear it myself. great job on the review.
6/5/10 11:05 AM
chicaem29 said...
I know you are not entirely happy with the results but I think it looks great - it's such a cute fabric that it really distracts from the less-than-ideal fit, etc. Sometimes when something doesn't turn out how you want it really colors your vision and you can't see the success of it. I can understand wanting to wear the dress with a bolero to cover up the gaposis at the armhole, but I do hope you'll wear it - it's really cute.
6/5/10 11:12 AM
drsue said...
You really did an AMAZING job on the pattern placement for this dress. I think, unfortunately, the nature of the fabric itself was not quite right for the dress design itself. Pleats and fabrics with wovens with stretch just don't go together. Ditto on the gathers on the bodice. That type of fabric needs close fitting designs with minimal ease. Personally I hate the stuff and never use it. With that lesson learned, and your obvious talent at design, I can only imagine how fabulous your next project will be.
6/5/10 11:30 AM
Rhoda K said...
You did a great job despite the obstacles involved, but hopefully you can get some wear, as it is a beautiful dress. You may like it more after you wear it a few times.
6/5/10 12:19 PM
pfaffkj said...
I think you are being a little hard on yourself! It is a nice looking dress. Give it a wear and see how it behaves as the day goes on. And remember: most folks don't sew and won't see all the 'wrong' things that you see! I'm sending 'I can wear this afterall' thoughts your way. Thank you for a wonderful review.
6/5/10 12:21 PM
homejewel said...
When I look at the original picture, I didn't see a thing wrong with it until I read the review and saw the details. I definitely think it is still wearable, but with all of your effort, think you should give it another try and make it just right since you now know the problem areas. The border print is very cute and it really does look good on you. Sorry it was such an ordeal, though. So what fabric do you recommend for this pattern? My 15-yr old daughter bought this pattern and wants to make it.
6/5/10 12:26 PM
Time4me said...
Hmmm. Well I really like it. I love the fabric and the dress. Perhaps you will have a bit kinder opinion of it if you hang it in your closet for a week or two.
6/5/10 12:48 PM
MNBarb said...
I chuckled at the eyes on the back of the bodice. I just made a big floral and was sure I would end up with a blossom on my bosom. I think this dress is wearable despite your frustrations. A shortie sweater with short or 3/4 sleeves would cover all of the bothersome details. Note to self, no border prints until I can upgrade to "advanced" status.
6/5/10 5:03 PM
Skymom said...
Please don't be so hard on yourself and your dress. It's adorable. You did a great job of managing the giant repeat in the print. Even though you're aware of "problems" with the stretch fabric, they don't show in the photos. Let this hang for a week or so and then wear it--maybe you can enjoy it more later. If I saw this in a store, I'd be immediately attracted to it.
6/5/10 8:46 PM
Robin Denning said...
I am sorry the dress gave you such a hard time, but the end result is really beautiful. I love the way you used the border print! Just go shopping and look at RTW and your dress will look wonderful by comparison!
6/5/10 9:35 PM
susiestitcher said...
I really love your finished dress, even if you don't. You overcame lots of problems to end with such a cute dress. The weight and hand of the stretch sateen definitely was the culprit, not your great eye for fabric placement. The black bolero idea is great, if you really don't like the fit of the bodice. I agree with others that you might hang it up for a while and then see how you like it in a week or two. Or...send it to me!!!
6/5/10 9:57 PM
Hilary said...
I agree with many of the comments-I think this dress looks fantastic on you! It's beautiful, #1, and you have the figure for it (nice and tall! and slender!) and my 7 yr old DD said "isn't she beautiful?" when she saw the pic :o) and I agree! I hope you get some wear out of it! It really is pretty, and retro-cool!
9/6/10 1:45 PM
whirrclunk said...
Just spotted this review, what amazing fabric!!! And great placement of pattern pieces, it works so well!
6/1/11 1:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 4077
photo
Review by Jackie02 on 11/19/08
Read Review

Burda 8376 Pattern
Burda 8376 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6612 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6612 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9826 Skirt
photo
Review by KathleenS on 9/10/05
Read Review

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us