Online Sewing Class: Fun with Fitting - PANTS
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-123 (Carrot Pants)

4 more reviews
Viewed 310 times 
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo

 
 
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews: 20 (patterns: 17)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/10 9:54 PM
Last Updated:4/25/10 10:03 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said... (5/1/10 2:59 PM) Reply
Hey, these pants are being made by more people! Yay! Needless to say I got a kick out of your review :)
eugenia123 said... (4/27/10 10:24 AM) Reply
I love how the garments that you make are always so interesting and carefully chosen. Even though these pants are not your normal style they really work for you - you clearly have a special instinct for what will look good on you. They look so cool and elegant but also very comfortable - what more could you ask from a pair of pants. As always, your review was wonderfully helpful.
madronadesign said... (4/27/10 2:16 AM) Reply
love these! I tried on a pair in the mall made of a soft, washed, still fairly substantial silk (in a chamois colour). How bout that for your next pair? That's what I'm on the lookout for, and definitely I'll be looking at your excellent inspiration (and Kay's).
Karendee said... (4/26/10 3:23 PM) Reply
Janie, what a delightful post with your trendy "carrot pants." To my eye, these are so modified from the Hammer pants of the 80's and present quite a trendy look. I agree with Annette about the white linen pants using this pattern; it would be a perfect look. Honestly, could you look bad in anything? I think not, but your expertise is sewing is evident in all your garments. Thanks for the upclose look at the pants details and your sewing table/desk. The review is most helpful!!!
Peggy L said... (4/26/10 12:57 PM) Reply
These pants look so great on you. You have the figure and the height to wear this style so well. Beautiful construction and wonderful review.
jaeng said... (4/26/10 8:26 AM) Reply
I love it. I'm glad that you made it.
Sarsez said... (4/26/10 1:59 AM) Reply
Great pants. On my list of things to do - but as comfy outdoor work pants!
pterion said... (4/25/10 11:25 PM) Reply
I have to admit, when I saw this pattern in the magazine I wondered who this style would look good on, but these pants really are flattering on you. Great review with some really helpful links.
Heidi Ho said... (4/25/10 10:50 PM) Reply
Those turned out very nicely!! I really need to try this pattern!! Great review. My desk looks a lot like your sewing table!!
Annette1 said... (4/25/10 10:17 PM) Reply
I LOVED Kay's pants, and I LOVE yours, too. :o) And I agree, if we could clone Kay AND YOU, we'd all be a few steps ahead -- ha! Your construction is impeccable, as usual, and I REALLY like the silhoutte on you. These would be AWESOME in white linen, don't you think? :o) AND I now have another use for my music stand -- ha!
Christas said... (4/25/10 10:04 PM) Reply
Janie, these aren't your normal style, but they look great on you! I really like them A LOT! As for your sewing table - I am sooo glad you showed that picture! We're TWINKIES! All I have to do is borrow Bernard's music stand (he plays trumpet - surely he won't miss it!) and then my sewing will be sooo much easier!!! Excellent review as always!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Create Kids Couture Sages Ruffle Shorts

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Pattern Details
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Pattern Details