Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2009-123 (Carrot Pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 308 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/10 9:54 PM
Last Updated:4/25/10 10:03 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Janie, these aren't your normal style, but they look great on you! I really like them A LOT! As for your sewing table - I am sooo glad you showed that picture! We're TWINKIES! All I have to do is borrow Bernard's music stand (he plays trumpet - surely he won't miss it!) and then my sewing will be sooo much easier!!! Excellent review as always!
4/25/10 10:04 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVED Kay's pants, and I LOVE yours, too. :o) And I agree, if we could clone Kay AND YOU, we'd all be a few steps ahead -- ha! Your construction is impeccable, as usual, and I REALLY like the silhoutte on you. These would be AWESOME in white linen, don't you think? :o) AND I now have another use for my music stand -- ha!
4/25/10 10:17 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Those turned out very nicely!! I really need to try this pattern!! Great review. My desk looks a lot like your sewing table!!
4/25/10 10:50 PM
pterion said...
I have to admit, when I saw this pattern in the magazine I wondered who this style would look good on, but these pants really are flattering on you. Great review with some really helpful links.
4/25/10 11:25 PM
Sarsez said...
Great pants. On my list of things to do - but as comfy outdoor work pants!
4/26/10 1:59 AM
jaeng said...
I love it. I'm glad that you made it.
4/26/10 8:26 AM
Peggy L said...
These pants look so great on you. You have the figure and the height to wear this style so well. Beautiful construction and wonderful review.
4/26/10 12:57 PM
Karendee said...
Janie, what a delightful post with your trendy "carrot pants." To my eye, these are so modified from the Hammer pants of the 80's and present quite a trendy look. I agree with Annette about the white linen pants using this pattern; it would be a perfect look. Honestly, could you look bad in anything? I think not, but your expertise is sewing is evident in all your garments. Thanks for the upclose look at the pants details and your sewing table/desk. The review is most helpful!!!
4/26/10 3:23 PM
madronadesign said...
love these! I tried on a pair in the mall made of a soft, washed, still fairly substantial silk (in a chamois colour). How bout that for your next pair? That's what I'm on the lookout for, and definitely I'll be looking at your excellent inspiration (and Kay's).
4/27/10 2:16 AM
eugenia123 said...
I love how the garments that you make are always so interesting and carefully chosen. Even though these pants are not your normal style they really work for you - you clearly have a special instinct for what will look good on you. They look so cool and elegant but also very comfortable - what more could you ask from a pair of pants. As always, your review was wonderfully helpful.
4/27/10 10:24 AM
Kay Y said...
Hey, these pants are being made by more people! Yay! Needless to say I got a kick out of your review :)
5/1/10 2:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2009-12
photo
Review by 21wale on 12/1/11
Read Review

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 123171-1000 Self Drafted
photo
Review by maedchen on 6/7/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3053 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3053 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us