SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6236 

2 more reviews
Viewed 188 times 
Reviewed by:kittykate
photo

 
 
About kittykatestar
Member since: 12/18/02
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 33
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/10 6:16 PM
Last Updated:5/29/10 11:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in NZ said...
Love your duffle!! How satisfying you could make something this nice all from stash (except the piping).
4/29/10 8:56 PM
JDpenelope said...
Aren't you industrious? And frugal. I would never have thought of making garment bags. Where did you find a zipper long enough, by the way? Onto the duffel bag -- I wish the pattern weren't out of print. Yours is so cute -- especially with that lining. The purchased piping looks great, too! Who'd know? Kenneth King has some great instructions for making your own piping. I do it rarely and need to consult his instructions every time. They are fussy, but very good -- if you are patient. (Maybe it I did it more often, it wouldn't be a big deal.)
4/30/10 4:59 PM
kittykate said...
I think it's having to cut all the bias strips that makes me nuts about piping. I agree, it's too bad this pattern is OOP, I was surprised when I went to review it and it didn't pop up in the list. I looked around and there's only one pattern out right now, Simplicity I think, in a closet accessories line. For the zipper, it's from the home decorating store, it's meant to around a sofa seat cushion. That might not be easy to find for everybody. Another option is to buy one of those cheap clear garment bags from the dollar store. They have quite workable zippers in them, and steal the zipper from that, although they're always white.
5/1/10 11:45 AM
doctorsirena said...
Thanks for the excellent review! Love the fabric, pink lining and piping on the duffel. As for the side pocket issue and losing things in the bottom for this bag, couldn't you just sew a line of stitching through the fabric/lining near the side bottom of the bag where you would like the pocket to end? I don't think the stitching would be very noticeable and would probably look like it was part of the design.
5/31/10 8:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 8765

photo
by: OlindaM

Review
Simplicity 2599

photo
by: katski

Review
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now