SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6236 

2 more reviews
Viewed 188 times 
Reviewed by:kittykate
photo

 
 
About kittykatestar
Member since: 12/18/02
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 33
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/10 6:16 PM
Last Updated:5/29/10 11:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
doctorsirena said...
Thanks for the excellent review! Love the fabric, pink lining and piping on the duffel. As for the side pocket issue and losing things in the bottom for this bag, couldn't you just sew a line of stitching through the fabric/lining near the side bottom of the bag where you would like the pocket to end? I don't think the stitching would be very noticeable and would probably look like it was part of the design.
5/31/10 8:29 AM
kittykate said...
I think it's having to cut all the bias strips that makes me nuts about piping. I agree, it's too bad this pattern is OOP, I was surprised when I went to review it and it didn't pop up in the list. I looked around and there's only one pattern out right now, Simplicity I think, in a closet accessories line. For the zipper, it's from the home decorating store, it's meant to around a sofa seat cushion. That might not be easy to find for everybody. Another option is to buy one of those cheap clear garment bags from the dollar store. They have quite workable zippers in them, and steal the zipper from that, although they're always white.
5/1/10 11:45 AM
JDpenelope said...
Aren't you industrious? And frugal. I would never have thought of making garment bags. Where did you find a zipper long enough, by the way? Onto the duffel bag -- I wish the pattern weren't out of print. Yours is so cute -- especially with that lining. The purchased piping looks great, too! Who'd know? Kenneth King has some great instructions for making your own piping. I do it rarely and need to consult his instructions every time. They are fussy, but very good -- if you are patient. (Maybe it I did it more often, it wouldn't be a big deal.)
4/30/10 4:59 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Love your duffle!! How satisfying you could make something this nice all from stash (except the piping).
4/29/10 8:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
More Knits
More Knits

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3567

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now