SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4827 (Misses Medieval Dress and Belt)

19 more reviews
Viewed 791 times 
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo

 
 
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 149
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 144
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/10 11:39 PM
Last Updated:5/20/10 12:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tess said...
This looks wonderful but I'm wondering how difficult were the eyelets to place?
4/30/10 5:37 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
4/30/10 7:11 AM
Aroura said...
I've been using eyelets in garments for a while, and the hardest part is getting the spacing correct. The eyelest come with the tool to set them, all you need is a regular hammer a stable work surface. It works very well! Thanks for the comments :) Hope to finish this up soon!
4/30/10 10:10 AM
dfr2010 said...
The eyelets do look good, and I am sure the cotton will be comfortable even if it may not be as drapey as you wanted. I think the colors and print are lovely.
4/30/10 3:48 PM
MagpieJen said...
Some lovely looking work on the lacing so far! I'm looking forward to seeing your gown!
5/1/10 12:23 PM
michalklimer said...
this is so so pretty!
5/5/10 0:56 AM
tess said...
Oh, you're finished gown looks beautiful! Wonderfully tailored, you should be very proud!
5/5/10 4:06 AM
JEF said...
This is gorgeous! It really is so very pretty and you look lovely in it.
5/5/10 9:27 AM
p1xie said...
This is beautiful. I just love the details of the sleeves. And the back wow!
5/5/10 10:06 AM
CarolynGM said...
This is sensational! You look like you stepped right out of a medieval painting.
5/5/10 12:07 PM
Re Becca said...
That looks fabulous! I love the way that your colors work together. Thanks for the wonderful pictures too.
5/5/10 12:56 PM
Aroura said...
Thanks everyone! I tried very hard to match colors with that enormous floral print. Even though it isn't terribly period, (the key letter to me in SCA is C for "creative"), I think it will wear well at events.
5/5/10 5:41 PM
MagpieJen said...
Gorgeous gown! Your inspirational painting is one of my favorites too, and you do it justice!
5/5/10 9:45 PM
JillyBe said...
Wow. Just wow! That's so beautiful on you! Where do you wear your costumes?
5/20/10 12:25 PM
Aroura said...
JillyBe, I am an SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism) member. It's kind of like A Ren Faire, just a bit more serious. I made this garb because I will be attending the coronation of our new King in July. I know it sounds wierd and nerdy, but it is a lot of fun :) And thanks so much for the compliments, I am really flattered!
5/20/10 12:33 PM
droxy said...
It's nice to see the picture of the whole costume including the hat. The look and color combinatiosn work. I like that you extended the costume and mentioned how that impacted your project.
5/20/10 6:41 PM
Gloria W said...
I have to ask ... If the laces are in back, how do you manage to get in it by yourself?
5/20/10 7:21 PM
Aroura said...
Gloria, good question! First I cut the lacing itself to have about 12 inches of "extra" length on each side. Knot the ends so it won't slip through the eyelets. This gives me lots of room to open it up and slip in. Only downside is the long bow/tie on my bottom when I'm done. Because the lacing extends so far down the back, about 8 in below my waist, I can easily reach around and gently snug and tighten, without straining my arms/shoulders. On almost all other backlacings, I could not reach around, it would be too high up. This gown, the bottom eyelets are low enough for me to reach. I'm sure this isn't true for everyone, but I find it fairly easy to get into, which was a pleasant surprise to me as well! MDH appreciates not having to spend 10 minutes getting me into this outfit, like so many previous ones!
5/20/10 8:51 PM
Taarna said...
This is absolutely beautiful! And so creative!
5/21/10 9:54 AM
Maggiedoll said...
Oh it's beautiful!!
5/27/10 6:55 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely, came out great. It fits you very nicely, and the style works nicely for you. You will look great at the coronation.
6/5/10 9:25 PM
russkie3 said...
Absolutely gorgeous!! You said that you weren't crazy about the fabric but I love it. Did you know that the floral is from Ralph Lauren's Guinevere/Aragon bedding collection (now retired) and highly sought after. Go to Ebay and type "Ralph Lauren Guinevere" in to the All Categories" search box and you'll be blown away by the prices this pattern sheets are going for!
6/9/10 7:13 PM
Aroura said...
Russkie3, wow, I had absolutely no idea! I did the search you suggested, and almost fainted at the price of the pillowcases alone! Mine are well used, granted, but I got a king fitted sheet with one pillowcase for $5 at a little church thrift store. And I still have more than 2 yards + the pillowcase uncut left. How wonderfully ironic that it is from the "Guinevere" collection. I guess it was fated to become a Medieval gown! Thank you so much for the info, it makes me love my gown that much more! :D
6/9/10 9:15 PM
arianamaniacs said...
The next time you make this, you could switch to spiral front lacing. That is period as well
6/10/10 6:39 AM
knwalli said...
Do you think crushed panne would work for this dress?
9/30/10 3:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Pattern C: Jodhpurs

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review
Simplicity 2326

photo
by: Larisa

Review
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now