SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2909 (Women's Classic Trousers)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1110 times 
Reviewed by:Lynn67
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lynn67star
AL USA
Member since: 7/21/09
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/10 2:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cultured Purl said...
I was looking thru the reviews for this pattern as I am about ready to cut it out, I noticed the problem with the undergarment peeping thru problem, THANK YOU(!) for helping me to solve this problem , I love the pattern and I think you found the most clever way to use it! Your pants are great and I will be copying your lining as Xtra security!
5/7/11 12:10 PM
Lynn67 said...
Thank you guys for all the awesome tips - they're extremely helpful! I definitely have a saddlebag problem (I refuse to call them pones!) and another reviewer said these weren't great if you had them. I'll look into those other ones you recommended, Kayabunga.
5/11/10 6:23 PM
Kayabunga said...
I'm on a pant fitting/great TNT pattern quest too and some of what I discovered that has really helped me is ... 1. Cutting a size smaller than the actual hip and then enlarging the hip area only made a huge difference to the fit (in the back particularly). 2. Making a tracing of one's crotch is very helpful in discovering that things may have moved a little southward while you weren't looking. This will give some insight in regards to shaping the crotch curve in line with your shape. 3. In regards to the hip indentation on your pants, I've had that too. Try pinching out some of the length on the hip curve by making a dart from hip side seam and tapering to nothing towards CF/CB. Experiment with different places below high hip, it all seems to make a difference. 4. Even if you have no interest in drafting your own pant pattern, Kenneth King's CD book on pant drafting is an excellent reference for addressing fitting ... so far it's been the most helpful to me. Everyone is shaped differently so a pattern that works for me may not be so good for you but I've been working with Hot Pattern's Razor Sharp Pants and they've been the best so far (you would not believe how many I've tried thus far). Since they're more of a trouser silhouette than what you're working on you may be more interested in the Plain & Simple model which is next on my list. Anyway, hope this helps. Pant fitting is a real bugger but once you get that pattern perfect a gazillion pants are yours! At least that's my dream. :)
5/11/10 9:12 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice looking pants!! I have had those indents in the hip area with most RTW pants. In my case I have slim hips but full thighs. I don't know if that is the case with you but I think that has been the cause of this for me.
5/10/10 11:20 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great pants! I had the same 'jumping for joy' feeling you wrote about on your blog when I made this pattern. Re the panty-line thing. I had the same issue until I changed to boy-leg underwear. Comfortable, no panty-lines and no side seam indents. HTH
5/10/10 7:33 PM
MNBarb said...
Speaking from someone who has been fine tuning pants for the past month I know the issue with the dent on the side. It's that we don't have "hourglass" figures. You just need to sew the curve out of the hip area. Problem solved. You might notice this happens on some of your RTW pants, too. The good thing about working on the fit is you will come up with the "perfect" fit for you. Hopefully this will happen before the styles change.
5/10/10 6:56 PM
JudiBee2 said...
thanks for all the info. I don't think those would ever fit me what with the small thigh area. I love your final paragraph. You have really put a lot of thought and work into making these pants work correctly. With pants, you have to be able to walk and ultimately sit. So somehow, there has to be a happy medium.
5/10/10 4:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

New Look 6802

photo
by: HRigg

Review
Other Patterns by Gertie

photo
by: Bex81

Review
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now