SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5982 

5 more reviews
Viewed 1172 times 
Reviewed by:ReneeO
photo

 
 
About ReneeO
Member since: 10/20/03
Reviews written: 3
patterns reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/04 4:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Toddlers    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
Renee, I would be *bursting* with pride had I made these darling outfits. Love your embellishments and your stick-to-it-ive-ness. I'm a beginner, too, and enjoy reading experiences like yours--the struggles sound *so familiar*, and make me feel more "normal" somehow, while spurring me on to greater adventures!
4/21/04 9:28 PM
drsue said...
These outfits are adorable!!! Your experience with this pattern shows there is more than one way to skin a cat. I used steam a seam when I attached some trim reacently and it made it so much easier than it had ever been in the past. You might consider it for trim attachment in the future. BTW, V-necks are a pain, takes a lot of practice to really get them down. You really did a very, very nice job. You should be very proud.
4/17/04 11:57 AM
moushka said...
Cute, cute, cute! I love sailor suits on little boys! Now to get busy on one for my new DGS who is due July 6th. Thanks for the inspiration. You did a great job.
4/16/04 6:55 PM
PVA said...
Great job, Renee! That v-neck and sailor collar is a challenge for any and all of us. (Looks like that little guy would just as soon be naked.)
4/16/04 10:28 AM
Sew it seams said...
Renee you did a wonderful job. No one would know you are a "beginner"! I love the beach photo. :)
4/16/04 9:21 AM
Lou. said...
OH my word, they are adorable. I have a similar oop pattern in Kwiksew that I really want to try now!
4/16/04 9:13 AM
Joos said...
These are so cute!
4/15/04 11:28 PM
ReneeO said...
Thank you all for the sweet comments. I should probably be *ashamed* I'm so proud of these! I always wonder, as inexperienced as I am, if it will be helpful to anyone to post a review. I guess the drive to show off my hard work is the greatest motivator. I partake of the fruits of this site daily and feel a little guilty for not having much to give back. Maybe one day I will sew as well as the Gigi's and Ann's of this world... Until then, I appreciate the encouragement, It does the heart good.... :) Thanks
4/15/04 10:43 PM
SandraB said...
Renee, these suits are absolutely gorgeous. Great job and great review. I have been looking for a sailor collar kids pattern for a long time, because my daughter's school uniform has a sailor collar and I had to draft my own pattern when I made them the first time. Now that you have pointed me in the right direction, I won't have to draft from scratch again when my second daughter starts school. Thanks.
4/15/04 10:20 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Too cute!! Great review with lots of great tips! You have to update later with a pic of them IN the suits ;-), bet they look adorable!!!
4/15/04 9:56 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So precious!!! The beach pic made me smile. So sweet. :-)
4/15/04 5:59 PM
mickisews said...
Sooo Cute. I am going to have my first grandson in July, and have been kidding the new father to be, that I would make him a sailor suit (a I did for his father :>) Glad to see that there are still sailor suit patterns availible. Michele
4/15/04 5:40 PM
Gina Marie said...
As the soon to be Mother of a little boy and the proud wife of a US Sailor I have to say that these little outfits came out WONDERFULLY !! I hadn't seen this pattern and I am going to get it ASAP. Thanks for the heads up on construction !!
4/15/04 4:28 PM
clare said...
They are SO CUTE!
4/15/04 4:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now