SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5982 

5 more reviews
Viewed 1172 times 
Reviewed by:ReneeO
photo

 
 
About ReneeO
Member since: 10/20/03
Reviews written: 3
patterns reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/04 4:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Toddlers    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
Renee, I would be *bursting* with pride had I made these darling outfits. Love your embellishments and your stick-to-it-ive-ness. I'm a beginner, too, and enjoy reading experiences like yours--the struggles sound *so familiar*, and make me feel more "normal" somehow, while spurring me on to greater adventures!
4/21/04 9:28 PM
drsue said...
These outfits are adorable!!! Your experience with this pattern shows there is more than one way to skin a cat. I used steam a seam when I attached some trim reacently and it made it so much easier than it had ever been in the past. You might consider it for trim attachment in the future. BTW, V-necks are a pain, takes a lot of practice to really get them down. You really did a very, very nice job. You should be very proud.
4/17/04 11:57 AM
moushka said...
Cute, cute, cute! I love sailor suits on little boys! Now to get busy on one for my new DGS who is due July 6th. Thanks for the inspiration. You did a great job.
4/16/04 6:55 PM
PVA said...
Great job, Renee! That v-neck and sailor collar is a challenge for any and all of us. (Looks like that little guy would just as soon be naked.)
4/16/04 10:28 AM
Sew it seams said...
Renee you did a wonderful job. No one would know you are a "beginner"! I love the beach photo. :)
4/16/04 9:21 AM
Lou. said...
OH my word, they are adorable. I have a similar oop pattern in Kwiksew that I really want to try now!
4/16/04 9:13 AM
Joos said...
These are so cute!
4/15/04 11:28 PM
ReneeO said...
Thank you all for the sweet comments. I should probably be *ashamed* I'm so proud of these! I always wonder, as inexperienced as I am, if it will be helpful to anyone to post a review. I guess the drive to show off my hard work is the greatest motivator. I partake of the fruits of this site daily and feel a little guilty for not having much to give back. Maybe one day I will sew as well as the Gigi's and Ann's of this world... Until then, I appreciate the encouragement, It does the heart good.... :) Thanks
4/15/04 10:43 PM
SandraB said...
Renee, these suits are absolutely gorgeous. Great job and great review. I have been looking for a sailor collar kids pattern for a long time, because my daughter's school uniform has a sailor collar and I had to draft my own pattern when I made them the first time. Now that you have pointed me in the right direction, I won't have to draft from scratch again when my second daughter starts school. Thanks.
4/15/04 10:20 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Too cute!! Great review with lots of great tips! You have to update later with a pic of them IN the suits ;-), bet they look adorable!!!
4/15/04 9:56 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So precious!!! The beach pic made me smile. So sweet. :-)
4/15/04 5:59 PM
mickisews said...
Sooo Cute. I am going to have my first grandson in July, and have been kidding the new father to be, that I would make him a sailor suit (a I did for his father :>) Glad to see that there are still sailor suit patterns availible. Michele
4/15/04 5:40 PM
Gina Marie said...
As the soon to be Mother of a little boy and the proud wife of a US Sailor I have to say that these little outfits came out WONDERFULLY !! I hadn't seen this pattern and I am going to get it ASAP. Thanks for the heads up on construction !!
4/15/04 4:28 PM
clare said...
They are SO CUTE!
4/15/04 4:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3343

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 97002-1000

photo
by: Sharonspil...

Review
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

More Info