Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2919 (Pleated Cardigan and Vest) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1856 times 35 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 36 people   
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/27/10 8:50 PM
Last Updated:6/2/10 0:51 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TKW said...
Thank you for the heads-up. I just received my pattern and am looking forward to making one. I would have been so frustrated. I appreciate your post.
5/12/10 5:54 AM
no7262 said...
Thank you for posting this. It will be very helpful! Nora :)
5/12/10 7:10 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks Belinda - I am hoping to make this one up soon. Thanks again for finishing this garment and review I will be following your advice on the shoulders and sleeves (I think we may be similar body shapes, except for the fba - which I definitely don't need!)
5/12/10 7:11 AM
Time4me said...
Thanks for posting this. This is a good example of how one person can make a pattern (I did) and not even notice the errors to put in their review.
5/12/10 1:38 PM
addicted2fabric said...
This is my current favourite pattern. I'm working on my 4th variation of it now, and until reading this, had never given any thought to the top of the pleats. You are correct, they dont line up properly. I've always just wacked that bit off with the overlocker after I've sewn all the pleats. I have never noticed the hem inconsistencies. I glanced at the printed off instructions the first time I made it, but I tend to size hems to suit myself rather than go by the pattern. I cant wait to see your Jalie cardi, I'm sure it will as gorgeous as all your other creations :o)
5/12/10 3:45 PM
JenniferBee said...
Thanks Belinda, Just received this pattern in the mail yesterday so will put your comments in the pattern for future reference
5/14/10 4:03 AM
dresser 123 said...
Thanks for this. I made my first one of these a few weeks ago. Did not notice the errors but recall overlocking off the protruding piece at the shoulder. Just cut out my second one, a lighter weight knit for summer, will look at the hem instructions a bit closer. Great pattern, really pleased with my first cardigan.
5/20/10 12:59 PM
lynny said...
Thanks Belinda, I have printed off your comments too. I have some lovely fine merino I am hoping to make up soon.
5/27/10 9:17 PM
Skye said...
Brilliant - thanks for the heads up regarding the instructions and sleeve draft. This pattern is waiting in an ever increasing queue for me to trace of and make. Like the fabric that you have used
5/27/10 9:31 PM
RadarRadiance said...
The more I see this pattern done up the more I love it! It looks great and interesting tips. It is too bad they don't fix it and the symetrical sleeves is something to think about if I get the pattern. Love them all, yours looks very nice.
5/27/10 9:34 PM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful cardi and, as always, a very thorough review - thank you.
5/27/10 10:23 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is beautiful - I love the fabric!
5/27/10 10:27 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely! And as always, a thorough and informative review. Very much appreciated. Thank you.
5/27/10 10:35 PM
whistlin dixie said...
This is a very nice looking cardi. I appreciate the pattern corrections you indicated. Thanks for a thorough review!
5/27/10 10:36 PM
brissie71 said...
Thanks for the review, Belinda. I've got this one in my must-sew list for this winter. I'm printing out your review now and putting it with my pattern.
5/28/10 3:01 AM
1SewSweet said...
Thanks for the info! I have not purchased this one yet, but had planned to. Your tips will help me to be successful...thank you!
5/28/10 7:03 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Thank you for all the information you put in your review. It is so very helpful and I love your version of this cardi!
5/28/10 11:32 AM
emilieatjalie said...
Thanks for pointing out the error. We updated the PDF instructions on our website and made the correction on the pattern file for the next reprint. Step 14 should read: "Fold lengthwise, right sides together, and stitch across both ends (fig. 14), 1 cm (3/8) from edge." Steps 15 and 17: 2 cm (3/4'') is the correct distance/hem allowance.
5/28/10 1:42 PM
RLL said...
This is really attractive. Your fabric choice really shows the pleats very nicely.
5/28/10 3:07 PM
JDpenelope said...
Jalie should hire you to test their patterns. After your head scratching and hard work, you have a very nice cardi.
5/28/10 4:32 PM
MareeAlison said...
Belinda - a great review as usual. I really like this pattern and your rendition of it. Hugs Maree PS not sure if you can have a rendition of a pattern but it sounded good at the time. :-)
5/29/10 1:40 AM
Aixoise said...
Your cardigan looks just lovely on you. Thanks for the photo (and for all your informative and helpful reviews).
6/2/10 1:26 AM
Mel.J said...
Looks great on you, Belinda. Thanks for another very useful review!
6/2/10 7:17 AM
ryansmumAria said...
ooooh, very nice!
6/2/10 8:09 AM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. I think I have to get this pattern. Thanks for the review.
6/2/10 10:17 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
100 pattern reviews! Great!
6/2/10 12:44 PM
CarolynGM said...
A very helpful review. The cardi looks wonderful on you. I do love those front pleats.
6/2/10 5:25 PM
ClaireEmily said...
You have so sold me on this pattern - it looks great on you! Pity I JUST ordered from PR - and now I'll have to pay postage again =)
6/2/10 7:51 PM
Peggy L said...
Great review! It looks great on you.
6/10/10 0:17 AM
cindyann said...
Thank you for the great review of this pattern. It's been very helpful.
8/31/10 9:40 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Thanks for the heads up on the shoulders and sleeves being so small, and i love the fabric you used. I used the same fabric in a Sandra Betzina cardi and it is so comfy to wear, yours looks really nice.
4/6/11 7:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 7610
photo
Review by velosewer on 4/11/09
Read Review

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1107
photo
Review by Sue Anfang on 2/19/11
Read Review

Burda 7378 Pattern
Burda 7378 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us