Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2009-115 (Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 455 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/10 9:53 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Your jacket is incredible, great job.
5/15/10 10:06 PM
dingyadi said...
Utterly exquisite! The pintucking is a masterstroke - it makes the coat look very special.
5/15/10 10:11 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This is an amazing interpretation of the pattern, the pintucking is divine. I have bookmarked the yoox site, thanks for the tip!
5/15/10 10:44 PM
JuneHawk said...
Amazing! Love it.
5/15/10 10:47 PM
DorothyK said...
This is a masterful job. Congratulations.
5/15/10 11:12 PM
CynthiaSue said...
oh gosh, what have you done now??!!:):) I just crawl into bed in a ball of inadequacy after I see your stuff. lol. I just love the grey. Such a timeless piece. exquisite pintucks. sigh.
5/15/10 11:16 PM
MNBarb said...
Wow!
5/15/10 11:44 PM
gsp1066 said...
OMG, the inside is as gorgeous as the outside. Good job, again!
5/16/10 0:34 AM
Fran G said...
Your work is simply beautiful. From your fabrics to your pattern choices to your accessories...totally chic. Your wonderfully detailed reviews encourage me to be precise and patient. Thank you for taking the time to review and for including so many helpful extras be they tutorials or links to inspirational sites. You are an artist.
5/16/10 8:54 AM
Lisa p said...
Absolutely beautiful work .
5/16/10 9:04 AM
Margie T said...
What beautiful work! Congratulations! Enjoy wearing your stunning coat.
5/16/10 9:19 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Birgitte, I love everything you make!
5/16/10 9:45 AM
birdmcfarland said...
this is absolutely fabulous and is the kind of thing I find so inspirational. You really did an amazing job.
5/16/10 9:54 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Wow, seriously, I prefer your coat to a Dior coat!
5/16/10 10:45 AM
Catbird said...
Oh my goodness, this is astounding. Your thought process is so much fun to follow and your work is absolutely meticulous. I love that Dior inspiration coat but I really do like yours even better. I also bookmark yoox and other sites when I like something, and also right click on the photos and save them in an ever-growing inspiration file. Come to think of it, some of the pictures hanging around in my inspiration file were inspired by you, like the Bluemarine coat and the Balmain jacket! I love all the details and the double collar on this coat, and LOVE it worn open. Great boots and jewelry, too. And yes, I'd say you could definitely get away with rowdy! ;-))
5/16/10 12:55 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very beautiful. You did a fabulous job.
5/16/10 1:55 PM
JillyBe said...
I've been looking through the Burda reviews trying to figure out why everyone likes them so much - when I came on your pic I said to self "Wow! THAT's a Burda!?? NOW we're talkin'...." Of course, now I see it's more a You than a Burda lol. I bow to your awesome skills! Simply Stunning!
5/16/10 4:15 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Craziness! Look at those perfect pleats! It brings back nightmares of my pleated silk Victorian skirt... Wonderful jacket!
5/16/10 11:49 PM
Nancywin said...
Another beautiful garment, Birgitte. I love all the pleating/tucks in the back and on the collar.
5/16/10 11:59 PM
Lynz said...
Wow. You have done a wonderful job. Thanks for such a detailed post.
5/17/10 5:52 AM
Gold said...
WOW you did an fantastic job!
5/17/10 9:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Other Mini Wardrobe - May 2008
photo
Review by nellc on 5/30/08
Read Review

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 604 Pattern
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2512 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by SueV on 6/8/11
Read Review

Vogue 8648 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8648 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7207 Pattern
Burda 7207 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us