SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Decades of Style> 4005 

2 more reviews
Viewed 605 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 441
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 113 people
patterns reviewed: 408
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/10 7:30 PM
Last Updated:5/18/10 7:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Time4me said...
That really is a unique blouse. I really like the hand stitching. Sorry the fit was off on you. Thanks for writing this review as a head up for fabric and fit!
5/18/10 8:06 PM
Barbara V said...
Ah!...beautiful. I love this pattern and I'm glad to see you've made it up. Your hand work is lovely. Thanks for the heads-up on the fit.
5/18/10 9:00 PM
harmony758 said...
I love it! The detail is so unique!
5/18/10 9:10 PM
pterion said...
What a lovely blouse! Glad you rescued it from the UFO pile. You are certain to get lots of compliments when you wear it.
5/18/10 10:07 PM
chicaem29 said...
I made this top - finished it a month or two ago - but haven't reviewed it yet. I agree about the collar. I used a pretty lightweight fabric, but interfaced the collar with a very light interfacing... it is very stiff compared to the rest of the shirt, and doesn't lay quite right... but I still love it.
5/18/10 10:14 PM
thirteenstitches said...
I think it is very pretty and if you don't want it you can send it to me!!! ; )
5/18/10 10:55 PM
MarshaG. said...
Thanks Sue for reviewing this pattern. I really like your color choices in the running stitches! I've been considering this pattern for quite awhile, but was concerned about the difficulty of the multi-collars. I'm glad to hear that they aren't difficult. Also glad to hear that it runs a bit large in the chest area, because that means I probably won't have to do a FBA!
5/18/10 11:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
A pretty and original blouse.
5/19/10 1:04 AM
sfshaza said...
Sue, this is *gor*geous*. What beautiful detailing. After I wipe the drool from my keyboard, I'm running right over to the Decades of Style website to have a looksie. Not to buy today, but perhaps at some future time. :D
5/19/10 1:22 AM
JillyBe said...
Yay I'm so happy to finally see this blouse reviewed! I really need to move on from Decades of Style patterns (I'm on my 4th one now....) but this one was still on my wish list. Thanks so much for the comments about the fabric and fit. I also didn't realize it had a side zip - does it feel a bit claustrophobic putting it on & off? And chica - waiting for your review too!
5/19/10 2:39 AM
MissCelie said...
I love the detail work in the collar though. And, I think you still managed to save it.
5/19/10 8:32 AM
eugenia123 said...
Very pretty blouse - I love the style and your stitching on the collars is beautiful.
5/19/10 10:01 AM
Kathi R said...
This is really a statement piece, good job on saving the fit. The collar is outstanding.
5/19/10 10:46 AM
Athene said...
Such a lovely top and thecollar is really special.
5/19/10 7:56 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful stitching detail. How come you keep sewing up the patterns I have on my pile?
5/20/10 9:02 PM
julierl said...
I made this too and it was huge in the bust and not correspondingly proportioned in the hip - so I didn't do all the hip tucks and that was OK. I did, like you, improvise shoulder darts to take up some excess material. And like you, I agree that the collar is very heavy. I used dupioni silk and it is too bulky - could have only done 2 collars and still had a nifty looking blouse- for some fabrics, maybe 3 collars is 'overkill'. Yours is just gorgeous with the topstitching in those lovely colors!!
1/17/11 5:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6324

photo
by: Salymander...

Review
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now