Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Decades of Style: 4005 - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 598 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR
About SueVstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 427
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 394
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/10 7:30 PM
Last Updated:5/18/10 7:32 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Time4me said...
That really is a unique blouse. I really like the hand stitching. Sorry the fit was off on you. Thanks for writing this review as a head up for fabric and fit!
5/18/10 8:06 PM
Barbara V said...
Ah!...beautiful. I love this pattern and I'm glad to see you've made it up. Your hand work is lovely. Thanks for the heads-up on the fit.
5/18/10 9:00 PM
harmony758 said...
I love it! The detail is so unique!
5/18/10 9:10 PM
pterion said...
What a lovely blouse! Glad you rescued it from the UFO pile. You are certain to get lots of compliments when you wear it.
5/18/10 10:07 PM
chicaem29 said...
I made this top - finished it a month or two ago - but haven't reviewed it yet. I agree about the collar. I used a pretty lightweight fabric, but interfaced the collar with a very light interfacing... it is very stiff compared to the rest of the shirt, and doesn't lay quite right... but I still love it.
5/18/10 10:14 PM
thirteenstitches said...
I think it is very pretty and if you don't want it you can send it to me!!! ; )
5/18/10 10:55 PM
MarshaG. said...
Thanks Sue for reviewing this pattern. I really like your color choices in the running stitches! I've been considering this pattern for quite awhile, but was concerned about the difficulty of the multi-collars. I'm glad to hear that they aren't difficult. Also glad to hear that it runs a bit large in the chest area, because that means I probably won't have to do a FBA!
5/18/10 11:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
A pretty and original blouse.
5/19/10 1:04 AM
sfshaza said...
Sue, this is *gor*geous*. What beautiful detailing. After I wipe the drool from my keyboard, I'm running right over to the Decades of Style website to have a looksie. Not to buy today, but perhaps at some future time. :D
5/19/10 1:22 AM
JillyBe said...
Yay I'm so happy to finally see this blouse reviewed! I really need to move on from Decades of Style patterns (I'm on my 4th one now....) but this one was still on my wish list. Thanks so much for the comments about the fabric and fit. I also didn't realize it had a side zip - does it feel a bit claustrophobic putting it on & off? And chica - waiting for your review too!
5/19/10 2:39 AM
MissCelie said...
I love the detail work in the collar though. And, I think you still managed to save it.
5/19/10 8:32 AM
eugenia123 said...
Very pretty blouse - I love the style and your stitching on the collars is beautiful.
5/19/10 10:01 AM
Kathi R said...
This is really a statement piece, good job on saving the fit. The collar is outstanding.
5/19/10 10:46 AM
Athene said...
Such a lovely top and thecollar is really special.
5/19/10 7:56 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful stitching detail. How come you keep sewing up the patterns I have on my pile?
5/20/10 9:02 PM
julierl said...
I made this too and it was huge in the bust and not correspondingly proportioned in the hip - so I didn't do all the hip tucks and that was OK. I did, like you, improvise shoulder darts to take up some excess material. And like you, I agree that the collar is very heavy. I used dupioni silk and it is too bulky - could have only done 2 collars and still had a nifty looking blouse- for some fabrics, maybe 3 collars is 'overkill'. Yours is just gorgeous with the topstitching in those lovely colors!!
1/17/11 5:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 2406 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by dianconia on 3/13/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1816
photo
Review by Linda0902 on 9/23/13
Read Review

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6643 Pattern
New Look 6643 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us