SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2648 (Misses & Miss Petite Dress: Am)

71 more reviews
Viewed 1846 times 
Reviewed by:DreinPA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About DreinPAstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/5/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/25/10 6:02 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DreinPA said...
Forgot to add that we are using the "C" cup, even though her bra size is a 34 D. But, based on the pattern she just barely qualified for the C too.
5/23/10 2:30 PM
ryansmumAria said...
oh my! That is beyond fabulous! What a lucky daughter you have. I have never pick stitched anything but a zipper. Can you tell us more about how you got them aligned so perfectly? You are an inspiration!
5/23/10 2:34 PM
JTink said...
This is so smart looking. I second what ryansmum asked, please give us a bit more insight to the pick stitching. It's a bold look, more so than top stitching on the machine.
5/23/10 2:56 PM
MNBarb said...
Looks great so far. Can't wait to see the next episode. PS, thanks for the review of McCall's 6124. It gave me all the information I needed to get a perfect fit the first time around. I appreciate the details of your reviews.
5/23/10 4:32 PM
Raye Ann said...
andrea, this is wonderful! i second the use of the patterns that allow for different cup sizes. i, too, found that the C cup was more than adequate even though I am a D cup. can't wait to see the finished dress on your daughter!
5/24/10 0:33 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
I Love the hand stitching. It certainly adds that something special!
5/24/10 0:55 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! The pick stitching looks amazing. Thanks for all the helpful details in your review.
5/24/10 7:36 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
This is really timely for me, as I am in the midst of making this pattern and had thought about pick stitching. Thanks for the detail in your review.
5/24/10 12:29 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Wow! Gorgeous corporate looking dress! I'm sure your DD will feel confident in that.
5/25/10 7:16 PM
homejewel said...
AMAZING! She's gorgeous and she looks stunning in that beautiful masterpiece. Love it! Her dress is better than the pattern picture by far.
5/25/10 7:23 PM
valgal said...
Great review! I have this pattern and plan on using it because of your review.
5/25/10 7:36 PM
MNBarb said...
One word. WOW!
5/25/10 8:53 PM
Big in Japan said...
She looks flawless! Very well done!
5/25/10 10:33 PM
o3b said...
Your pickstitching really makes the dress. It's beautiful and it fits her so well.
5/26/10 2:06 AM
Mazzygirl said...
I agree wholeheartedly with everyone here that your beautiful pick-stitching has really made this dress. The fit is perfect & the stitching just highlights an already gorgeous dress! Well done!
5/26/10 4:16 AM
Paris75008 said...
It's absolutely PERFECT! That pickstitching really makes the dress into something special. I have this pattern and thanks for the tip that the slim / curvy / average are all the same. Oh, pattern companies...
5/26/10 4:32 AM
Hilary said...
Very nice!! I love the pick-stitching and the fit is perfect on your DD-she looks great in her corporate wear dress :o)
5/26/10 8:05 AM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous. I agree that the pickstitching does bring the dress to a whole different level. Well done.
5/26/10 12:32 PM
RLL said...
Gorgeous dress with an impeccable fit for a beautiful young lady. And yes, the pick stitching is the icing on the cake!
5/26/10 2:42 PM
CCQ said...
Love it! Nice job.
5/26/10 4:04 PM
SusiM said...
Great looking with the hand stitching. Gives it a real WOW!
5/26/10 7:40 PM
yummymummy38 said...
looks great, flattering fit on your lovely daughter and the white stitching really makes it pop
5/27/10 1:22 AM
KathleenS said...
Very nice. Great fit.
5/27/10 5:40 AM
eugenia123 said...
Stunning dress - beautifully made!
5/27/10 2:27 PM
born2bead said...
I can't believe you did all of that pickstitching by hand! It was so worth it though from what I can see. The dress looks fabulous and the fit is spot on.
5/28/10 2:45 PM
susiestitcher said...
Okay! I've been waiting for your review and somehow, I missed it! You did a superb job. How beautiful is both the dress and the hand stitching. And your DD as well. It is just the perfect first corporate dress. Now...please start work on mine!
6/20/10 7:32 PM
caelamb said...
What fabulous work. The pickstich detail is what makes it stand OUT. Thank you for sharing this!
6/20/10 7:38 PM
bananaoil said...
She looks beautiful. The dress points that out clearly.
8/21/10 12:58 PM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful dress!
1/21/11 1:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Buy Now
Simplicity 9829oop

photo
by: redsilvia

Review