Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2648 (Misses & Miss Petite Dress: Am) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1822 times 67 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:DreinPA
photo
Friend of PR
About DreinPAstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/5/06
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/25/10 6:02 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DreinPA said...
Forgot to add that we are using the "C" cup, even though her bra size is a 34 D. But, based on the pattern she just barely qualified for the C too.
5/23/10 2:30 PM
ryansmumAria said...
oh my! That is beyond fabulous! What a lucky daughter you have. I have never pick stitched anything but a zipper. Can you tell us more about how you got them aligned so perfectly? You are an inspiration!
5/23/10 2:34 PM
JTink said...
This is so smart looking. I second what ryansmum asked, please give us a bit more insight to the pick stitching. It's a bold look, more so than top stitching on the machine.
5/23/10 2:56 PM
MNBarb said...
Looks great so far. Can't wait to see the next episode. PS, thanks for the review of McCall's 6124. It gave me all the information I needed to get a perfect fit the first time around. I appreciate the details of your reviews.
5/23/10 4:32 PM
Raye Ann said...
andrea, this is wonderful! i second the use of the patterns that allow for different cup sizes. i, too, found that the C cup was more than adequate even though I am a D cup. can't wait to see the finished dress on your daughter!
5/24/10 0:33 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
I Love the hand stitching. It certainly adds that something special!
5/24/10 0:55 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! The pick stitching looks amazing. Thanks for all the helpful details in your review.
5/24/10 7:36 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
This is really timely for me, as I am in the midst of making this pattern and had thought about pick stitching. Thanks for the detail in your review.
5/24/10 12:29 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Wow! Gorgeous corporate looking dress! I'm sure your DD will feel confident in that.
5/25/10 7:16 PM
homejewel said...
AMAZING! She's gorgeous and she looks stunning in that beautiful masterpiece. Love it! Her dress is better than the pattern picture by far.
5/25/10 7:23 PM
valgal said...
Great review! I have this pattern and plan on using it because of your review.
5/25/10 7:36 PM
MNBarb said...
One word. WOW!
5/25/10 8:53 PM
Big in Japan said...
She looks flawless! Very well done!
5/25/10 10:33 PM
o3b said...
Your pickstitching really makes the dress. It's beautiful and it fits her so well.
5/26/10 2:06 AM
Mazzygirl said...
I agree wholeheartedly with everyone here that your beautiful pick-stitching has really made this dress. The fit is perfect & the stitching just highlights an already gorgeous dress! Well done!
5/26/10 4:16 AM
Paris75008 said...
It's absolutely PERFECT! That pickstitching really makes the dress into something special. I have this pattern and thanks for the tip that the slim / curvy / average are all the same. Oh, pattern companies...
5/26/10 4:32 AM
Hilary said...
Very nice!! I love the pick-stitching and the fit is perfect on your DD-she looks great in her corporate wear dress :o)
5/26/10 8:05 AM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous. I agree that the pickstitching does bring the dress to a whole different level. Well done.
5/26/10 12:32 PM
RLL said...
Gorgeous dress with an impeccable fit for a beautiful young lady. And yes, the pick stitching is the icing on the cake!
5/26/10 2:42 PM
CCQ said...
Love it! Nice job.
5/26/10 4:04 PM
SusiM said...
Great looking with the hand stitching. Gives it a real WOW!
5/26/10 7:40 PM
yummymummy38 said...
looks great, flattering fit on your lovely daughter and the white stitching really makes it pop
5/27/10 1:22 AM
KathleenS said...
Very nice. Great fit.
5/27/10 5:40 AM
eugenia123 said...
Stunning dress - beautifully made!
5/27/10 2:27 PM
born2bead said...
I can't believe you did all of that pickstitching by hand! It was so worth it though from what I can see. The dress looks fabulous and the fit is spot on.
5/28/10 2:45 PM
susiestitcher said...
Okay! I've been waiting for your review and somehow, I missed it! You did a superb job. How beautiful is both the dress and the hand stitching. And your DD as well. It is just the perfect first corporate dress. Now...please start work on mine!
6/20/10 7:32 PM
caelamb said...
What fabulous work. The pickstich detail is what makes it stand OUT. Thank you for sharing this!
6/20/10 7:38 PM
bananaoil said...
She looks beautiful. The dress points that out clearly.
8/21/10 12:58 PM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful dress!
1/21/11 1:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 3677
photo
Review by suliabryon on 7/22/09
Read Review

Vogue 1237 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1237 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2938 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2938 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8209
photo
Review by Annette1 on 3/22/08
Read Review

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us