SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2902 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE DRESS)

24 more reviews
Viewed 858 times 
Reviewed by:Patty the Snug Bug
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patty the Snug Bugstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 2/25/10
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 72 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/10 6:22 PM
Last Updated:7/2/10 10:37 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
barbesaintjohn said...
I love your version! I just pulled out this pattern today to tackle, since all my sundresses are too small after a winter of living in the midwest and living on carbs. I have completely screwed up the contrast section. I am not "getting" how to sew the back and front pieces so it looks nice. Mine look awful and lumpy! I am bound and determined to make this dress and will do it as Patti suggested by altering the bodice pieces into one and appliqueing the contrast.
5/30/11 7:28 PM
Kayseri said...
Love the black and white polka dots.
7/9/10 5:24 AM
carnelian said...
Brava! Bravissima!
7/5/10 1:41 AM
AuntieShel said...
Well the dress looks fabulous and fits your MOH great despite the fabric and pattern difficulties.
7/3/10 8:50 AM
ClaireEmily said...
WOW! The polka dot dress is amazing! What a gorgeous wedding party. Congratulations =)
7/2/10 6:00 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Oh I see what you mean about the one piece strap... oh I see what you mena...poo. Thanks for pointing that out on this GREAT review with oh so fun pictures! thanks for sharing and happy wedding bliss to you both!
7/2/10 3:30 PM
Aroura said...
Despite the difficulties, it really turned out lovely! Great job!
7/2/10 12:09 PM
nglalala said...
Great dress!!
7/2/10 12:03 PM
kim*brown said...
Summer Fresh!
6/7/10 10:34 PM
Patty the Snug Bug said...
lamstu - (and anyone else interested) - the bodice pieces and the contrast piece are exactly the same at the top. You could pretty easily cut off the straps and tape them to the bodice patter pieces, and than just use the contrast piece as an actual contrast if you wanted! I might do that in the future - I think design wise it might be cuter to have the bodice and straps in the main pattern, with the contrast added in after, if you know what I mean!
5/26/10 10:00 PM
lamstu said...
I have this pattern and never sewed it. Every time it floats to the top of the pile that one piece contrast piece puts me off. Like the look, but I think your experience confirms my reluctance. But in the end, you look adorable and the aggravation was worth it.
5/26/10 8:46 AM
MissTaraTara said...
What a cheerful print, and summery too! The circle skirt falls beautifully.
5/26/10 0:02 AM
Patty the Snug Bug said...
Thanks guys - the pattern's not so bad, just boring and that dumb one-piece strap that makes for hard altering! And the fabric.... I AM wearing it to my bachelorette part, but also I have a friend who had a Hawaiian-themed wedding and I chose the fabric for that - it's not my usual style and I ended up liking it a lot!
5/25/10 9:20 PM
MNBarb said...
Cute. Sounds like a nightmare pattern.
5/25/10 9:10 PM
ryansmumAria said...
adorable and so are you!
5/25/10 8:32 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Wow, once again you made a great dress from a difficult pattern. Love the bright print!
5/25/10 8:06 PM
Terri A said...
Sooo colorful!
5/25/10 8:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Simplicity 3626

photo
by: PostMuse

Review
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now