Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7876 (wrap top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2446 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/04 2:49 PM
Last Updated:5/5/04 9:43 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
momo said...
Very nice top. A good addition to your wardrobe. Nice top indeed, it almost looks like a vest.
5/5/04 10:03 AM
SandraB said...
Very nice looking top. I am sure this will look great with your black pants.
5/5/04 11:02 AM
Ann Smith said...
Very attractive. Glad to see this review as I had missed this pattern....must buy it.
5/5/04 11:10 AM
SewTabby said...
This is very nice. I've been wondering what this pattern looked like, and I like it even better now. The sleeveless view is really sharp. Thanks for the review!
5/5/04 11:32 AM
Deepika said...
What a great wrap top. Love how well fitted your garments are. Where did you find the ring? I've been looking for a similar ring for my pants.
5/5/04 11:38 AM
AuntieShel said...
You must have read my mind. I just noticed this pattern in the Vogue book last night and today at lunch when I logged on to PR, there was your review. Your top is absolutely adorable and now I'll have to buy the pattern for sure.
5/5/04 11:39 AM
CarolynGM said...
Like this a lot, but I've been wondering how low the V is. Do you have to do anything to keep it from gaping?
5/5/04 11:57 AM
drsue said...
Irena: I made my usual shortening alterations and this caused a shortening of the V. However, I did not do any extra shortening on the V so it is probably pretty typical of what the design is supposed to be. It is not too low. I wore it to work yesterday and it did not gape. I think the ring really helps this. also the top is described by Vogue as "very close fitting" and they caution you to make sure your measurements are accurate. My fabric also was very stable and this may also have prevented gapping. Deepika: Jacki M sold me the ring via the message board. However, since I purchased it from her I did find an online source. I will attempt to put a link on this comment but I'm not too good at that sort of thing so if I can't link I'll just give directions. Click Here
5/5/04 12:34 PM
Snowblossom said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I've had my eye on this pattern since the moment it appeared on their website! Views C,D, E are very similar to a top I bought from Anthropologie about a year ago (and cost $$$, I might add. But at the time, I couldn't resist. If I had had this pattern, I wouldn't have spent all that money). The top I have looks great on a large-busted figure, so this pattern should work also.
5/5/04 12:41 PM
Hilary said...
very nice! I really like this style, its so pretty. Thanks for the detailed review- and thanksJanet, for the tip on how it fits larger busts, too :o) glad to hear that, now maybe I'll have to try it.
5/5/04 1:55 PM
elka78k said...
your top looks soooo much better than the pattern picture! I would never have even considered getting the pattern if I only saw the picture. Btw, this looks like a great pattern for large bust figures as well, as it accentuates the waistline and neckline and bias cut always looks great!
5/5/04 2:05 PM
cindyann said...
Very nice top. I love the sleeveless version. Thank you for bringing this pattern to our attention. I'm adding to my wish list.
5/5/04 2:11 PM
Peggy L said...
Glad you reviewed this top - I bought the pattern on Monday. Hope mine turns out as nice as yours. Sometimes you can get the rings at Joannes. They are hanging on the wall in the notions aisle in plastic packages.
5/5/04 2:14 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Sigh. I *almost* bought this pattern during Hancock's last 75%-off-Vogue sale, now I wish I had. Very sharp looking top!
5/5/04 2:14 PM
Gigi Louis said...
How timely, I just bought this pattern! I really love the way yours turned out.
5/5/04 2:41 PM
blue mooney said...
I agree, yours looks much better than the pattern illustration! Sharp top!
5/5/04 4:45 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
I really like the added detail of the ring on the side of this top. Cute!
5/5/04 4:52 PM
marigold said...
great looking top! i suddenly need a new top just like yours!
5/5/04 5:08 PM
Katy M said...
I dont *really* need another wrap top pattern do I? After this review YES! I love it! It's going on my wishlist! Congratulations on a gorgeous job!
5/6/04 0:10 AM
ReneeO said...
Gorgeous top, Sue. I was eyeballing this recently, as well. Thanks for the link to the d-rings. :)
5/6/04 9:20 PM
Schnauzer said...
A gorgeous top drsue.The side ring looks really good too.
5/7/04 6:51 PM
sewing up a storm said...
I got this pattern about a month ago with some flimsey poly fabric to make view C which I love the look of but I keep going back to View A and wondering if that would look good out of silk duponi.........then I found your review. I see you made yours out of cotton so I am sure that a stiffer fabric than those recomended will work. I think I will try a muslin first out of something rather stiff in the view A. I love the way yours came out!
5/6/05 9:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-117
photo
Review by ladylola on 9/3/05
Read Review

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $15.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alpine Wonderland Puffy Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Alpine Wonderland Puffy Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5520
photo
Review by atmomma on 12/18/07
Read Review

McCalls 6755 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6755 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us