SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4109 (Corsets and petticoats)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1169 times 
Reviewed by:vande
photo

 
 
About vandestar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/10 8:33 AM
Last Updated:6/17/10 2:33 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mazzygirl said...
this is looking great so far, love the contrast of the red lace over white satin! Can't wait to see the finished result.
6/2/10 4:04 AM
arianamaniacs said...
It's not like underwear at all. I was surprised when I looked at the pattern, which I also have. It's beautiful, what a great combo with the red.
6/2/10 4:37 AM
psgates said...
Lovely
6/2/10 8:05 AM
ryansmumAria said...
omg! This is incredible!
6/2/10 8:08 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Love love LOVELY!
6/2/10 10:06 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Very pretty! I also viewed this pattern thinking wouldn't it be a beautiful dress! Why not, so many of the other patterns look the same. It is beautiful with the red.
6/2/10 10:43 AM
p1xie said...
It doesn't look like underware at all so far. Wow I love how it's coming about and can't wait to see it finished.
6/2/10 11:07 AM
SoVintage said...
I agree Incredible! I have this in my stash somewhere....I can't wait to see it finished!
6/2/10 9:42 PM
Annette1 said...
Soooooooooooooo very pretty! You know, I bought this pattern, knowing full well I would NEVER have a need for the corset OR the slip, but it's just so pretty, I couldn't resist. :o) I can't wait to see your finished project. I LOVE it so far!
6/3/10 0:09 AM
RLL said...
So gorgeous so far! Can't wait to see the finished dress. What does the young lady need it for? Prom? Prom's are over around here, in fact, school is out for summer as of last week.
6/5/10 10:02 AM
Rhoda K said...
So beautiful - looking forward to seeing the finished product.
6/5/10 10:42 AM
Dale C said...
Can't wait to see the finished product! It's looking beautiful.
6/6/10 2:06 AM
tess said...
This is really beautiful, the emboidery is absolutely stunning! Thank you for your detailed review, extremely helpful!
6/6/10 7:45 AM
Bunsnpigs said...
Stunning! YOu aren't really an advanced beginner, are you????
6/6/10 9:22 AM
Fairy_Tinkerbell said...
So beautiful!!
6/7/10 12:24 PM
lesleysews said...
wow wow wow beautiful you are truly talented
6/12/10 3:40 PM
ryansmumAria said...
i'm speechless..
6/17/10 3:41 AM
Mel.J said...
That's beautiful. The lace and the sash really give this a medieval feel I just love.
6/17/10 7:25 AM
cindyann said...
Breathtaking! I'm very impressed.
6/17/10 9:36 AM
AuntieShel said...
Whoa!! That dress is absolutely stunning!!!
6/17/10 9:48 AM
BenaeQuee said...
Wow! That is stunning! The red embelishements with the sash, gorgeous.
6/17/10 10:43 AM
Puppy said...
Simple, striking and absolutely FANTASTIC!
6/17/10 11:26 AM
Aroura said...
Completely amazing!
6/17/10 1:53 PM
Leu said...
Wow. You inspire me. I taught HS for many years. Never saw anything so beautiful at any of the dances. Very lucky young lady.
6/17/10 2:58 PM
kathleencramer said...
Absolutly stunning. What an incredible piece of art work. This could be a wedding dress. It is absolutly exquisite. Nice work.
6/18/10 6:17 AM
Mazzygirl said...
well this turned out beautifully! I love the heart effect of the lace on the bodice too. beautifully finished, I love the back lacing too, welll I love the whole lot really! Would make a stunning wedding dress too. Brilliant effort, I'm sure the recipient was thrilled! (& she looked stunning too!)
6/18/10 7:52 AM
susiestitcher said...
Totally amazing. The dress is really stunning and fits beautifully. Your work is far above Advanced Beginner! I loved seeing the young lady modeling it. You should be very proud of your masterpiece.
6/18/10 8:20 AM
RLL said...
Exquisite! Definition: Characterized by intricate and beautiful design or execution. Yep, that sums up this dress......exquisite.
6/18/10 12:00 PM
vande said...
Thank you so much to all who have stopped by to comment! I can't take too much credit - It is truly a brilliant pattern, and the style and colour choices were from the girl herself (who, like Cinderella, would look brilliant even in rags!) I just plodded along VERY carefully through the pattern, and then spent so many hours handsewing that embroidered lace, found on ebay, that I have no fingertips left (lol). I have changed my skill to intermediate (but I still feel a bit of a fraud with that) - I put in my first invisible zip with this one...and that was not a great experience. I think, if you have a really good pattern, that really suits your model - and then you take a lot of time to make sure that the fit is good - and you google the sewing techniques until your brain fries, before you try them - this is the result!
6/18/10 5:35 PM
AdaH said...
Beautiful, beautiful dress.
6/19/10 0:31 AM
veritate said...
All I can say is... "stunning". This dress is absolutely stunning.
6/21/10 2:01 AM
ClioBklyn said...
GORGEOUS!!
6/30/10 4:24 PM
Christas said...
This is so lovely!
9/29/10 8:34 AM
larpgeek said...
I just wanted to say that seeing what you have done with this pattern is what made be want to try it. That is just too lovely.
1/17/11 8:01 PM
JeanJean said...
Beautiful creation!
10/3/11 11:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Vogue Patterns 1170

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now