SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2010-124 (Jerkin/Vest)

Viewed 299 times 
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo

 
 
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/10 3:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Such a knockout of a vest with delectable details! I like your comment about Burda's welt instructions and I totally agree. Thank you for an enjoyable and informative review!
6/9/10 2:36 PM
Mahler said...
Wonderful !!!! All appologises for missing so many of your wonderful reviews. this vest is awsome. I love it... funny thing, I am tracing the other version this afternoon ;-)
6/6/10 12:50 PM
eugenia123 said...
What a fabulous vest. The style is so interesting and I think that your choice of fabrics perfectly highlights the wonderful construction lines of this piece. As always your work is impeccable and the overall look is totally awesome - it looks like a very expensive, designer garment. I love it!
6/6/10 12:28 PM
Maree P said...
Dear Catbird....I always admire your work and this is no exception ...so dare I say I think you are wrong...this vest is so chic and beautifully made.
6/5/10 6:48 AM
sugarduck said...
I love the way this turned out. You were right about the top-stitching; it looks great with the style of the vest. I like your scarf, too! ;-)
6/5/10 4:50 AM
Twinset said...
Well, this is a beautifully made vest with some special details! And thanks for the super helfpul review and for recommending a light fabric!
6/4/10 11:05 PM
MNBarb said...
The pattern sounds like a nightmare. I'm not even a vest person and yours makes me want to have one. it's really beautiful.
6/4/10 8:03 PM
annie11 said...
I absolutely love this. All of your special touches make this just gorgeous.
6/4/10 6:46 PM
Peggy L said...
Would it be okay if I just say DITTO? Wow, I am in awe!!! It turned out beautifully. I am glad you have made peace with it.
6/4/10 6:05 PM
BJ1400 said...
I LOVE your vest! The lining & the bias binding look great. I have this issue of the mag & never gave that vest a second look, but now I want to make one like yours. Thanks for the review.
6/4/10 5:40 PM
sew2little said...
I love love love the bias binding on this altogether great vest!
6/4/10 5:10 PM
Karendee said...
You have again made another wonderful garment that looks so good on you. Despite your trials along the way, the outcome is perfect and so flattering. Your review was so thorough and I learn so much from each of your posts. As others have said, the welt pockets info. is a great tutorial and has been saved to the appropriate folder. What I really admire about your work is your persistence and attention to the smallest detail; perhaps that is why your outcomes are always so outstanding. I'm still laughing about your safari to Starbucks!!!!
6/4/10 4:49 PM
Seaspur said...
Your work is superb, the vest looks fabulous and the review was very informative!
6/4/10 4:36 PM
Christas said...
Oh, Catbird, just HIDE it in a box with my address on the top of it!!! I LOVE it! You have done a gorgeous job of sewing it. I think it is PERFECTIMUNGO! Thanks for the wonderful review and especially the extra welt pocket info!
6/4/10 4:36 PM
JillyBe said...
Wonderful review, and a big thank you for the welt info! I just attempted a welt pocket from one of those "run for the hills" instruction sheets; you've given me hope! ;-D
6/4/10 4:09 PM
Annette1 said...
AS USUAL, a SUPERB review. I ESPECIALLY like the new info (to me) on the welt pockets, complete with pictures. I didn't think about it until you said it, that there would be four layers of fabric on the front of this vest. That is a lot! I LOVE your end result, though, and I don't think it's "stuffy" at all. The striped lining and bias trim add an element of surprise and fun. NOW I'm curious to see if you really ARE going to sandpaper it. :o)) I hope you wear this on your next safari to Starbuck's! :o)
6/4/10 3:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1283

photo
by: Naehfreund...

Review
Butterick 5814

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

More Info
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

More Info