Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Design and Sew: 327 (Kimono Encore) thumbsup - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 2110 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Moxie Carol
photo
Friend of PR
About Moxie Carol
WI USA
Member since: 4/7/02
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/02 1:27 PM
Last Updated:12/2/02 0:55 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I have made this vest up twice and I really liked the results. Pay attention to the width across the shoulders, if that is too wide you will look like a "Romulan" from Star Trek. It is a fun pattern and I agree that it's a natural for art to wear projects. I hope to make some of the tops from this pattern, too.
5/26/02 6:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I agree with most everything the reviewer had to say but the shoulders are extremely broad which is normal with most of these patterns. I sized down a size, too. I made my out of a black rayon with some weight to it but made the bands in a taupe and black tiny checked rayon that I had to interface to give it some body. My pants were in that same fabric so it was a smart looking pantsuit. I put antique gold beads on the pockets and hanging on the ties and it is one of my favorite outfits and I always get compliments on it. I am going to make a shirt next. You can almost always count on going down a size on all her tops but I never make her bottoms, too many other good patterns out there.
5/27/02 12:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I made the jacket using heavy weight silk and scraps of vintage kimonos from Ah! Kimono. I embellished the back and upper front with pieced strips from the scraps, made a pleated pocket, and all in all used about 5 different fabrics, not including the kimone scraps. The end result was great! While it sounds busy, in fact, the jacket is designed for embellishment, and ended up looking well thought out, rather than scattered. Since I'm a plus size, I appreciate the roominess that Lois allows in her patterns. I did, however, have to add some extra fabric around the bottom - which is where there is more of me - the lines were a bit too straight for my pear shaped figger! The top, however, fit fine - although I did have to use shoulder pads as well. I plan to make this pattern more than once - it's one of the few commercial patterns that has worked for me.
10/8/02 3:37 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I like this vest, too, but will also cut the shoulders a little narrower next time. And I wish I had realized earlier that the lining shows...I wouldn't have cheaped out.
11/7/02 1:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Carol, it sounds really beautiful and interesting!
11/7/02 4:52 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Alison Cummins said...
Carol, you posted a photo... but when I tried to look at it I got an error message saying that I was forbidden access.
12/5/03 5:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's 6700
photo
Review by ISewedIt on 4/9/14
Read Review

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4873
photo
Review by chrisquilt... on 1/14/08
Read Review

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2817 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2817 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1576 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1576 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us