SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Design and Sew> 327 (Kimono Encore)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2116 times 
Reviewed by:Moxie Carol
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Moxie Carol
WI USA
Member since: 4/7/02
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/02 1:27 PM
Last Updated:12/2/02 0:55 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Alison Cummins said...
Carol, you posted a photo... but when I tried to look at it I got an error message saying that I was forbidden access.
12/5/03 5:05 PM
said...
Carol, it sounds really beautiful and interesting!
11/7/02 4:52 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I like this vest, too, but will also cut the shoulders a little narrower next time. And I wish I had realized earlier that the lining shows...I wouldn't have cheaped out.
11/7/02 1:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I made the jacket using heavy weight silk and scraps of vintage kimonos from Ah! Kimono. I embellished the back and upper front with pieced strips from the scraps, made a pleated pocket, and all in all used about 5 different fabrics, not including the kimone scraps. The end result was great! While it sounds busy, in fact, the jacket is designed for embellishment, and ended up looking well thought out, rather than scattered. Since I'm a plus size, I appreciate the roominess that Lois allows in her patterns. I did, however, have to add some extra fabric around the bottom - which is where there is more of me - the lines were a bit too straight for my pear shaped figger! The top, however, fit fine - although I did have to use shoulder pads as well. I plan to make this pattern more than once - it's one of the few commercial patterns that has worked for me.
10/8/02 3:37 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I agree with most everything the reviewer had to say but the shoulders are extremely broad which is normal with most of these patterns. I sized down a size, too. I made my out of a black rayon with some weight to it but made the bands in a taupe and black tiny checked rayon that I had to interface to give it some body. My pants were in that same fabric so it was a smart looking pantsuit. I put antique gold beads on the pockets and hanging on the ties and it is one of my favorite outfits and I always get compliments on it. I am going to make a shirt next. You can almost always count on going down a size on all her tops but I never make her bottoms, too many other good patterns out there.
5/27/02 12:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have made this vest up twice and I really liked the results. Pay attention to the width across the shoulders, if that is too wide you will look like a "Romulan" from Star Trek. It is a fun pattern and I agree that it's a natural for art to wear projects. I hope to make some of the tops from this pattern, too.
5/26/02 6:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 281988-1004

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

More Info
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

More Info
Vogue Patterns 1318

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review