SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Stretch & Sew> F845 (Women's and Girls swimsuit)

Viewed 1810 times 
Reviewed by:JDpenelope
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JDpenelopestarstar
Member since: 9/9/03
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/04 9:40 PM
Last Updated:8/28/04 2:17 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Speech girl said...
The suit looks very cute. I'd like to see the adult version if you make it.
4/25/04 11:12 PM
xxx xxx xxx xxx said...
Pretty pretty fabric. Good for you going for the gusto a swimsuit is something that even long time seamsters avoid. I am sad to hear about your serger hopefully the shop won’t ding you to bad was it a looper that was bent? Check to see if they are replacing it not just bending it back if they try to bend it you will have future problems. A serger's timing has to be set very accurately is has a lot of moving parts going at once so a looper that has been manipulated back to shape will still be off. Again I am so sad that happened to you but you were kind to pass on the info. You had asked on my review for my "beefy Skirt" haha if Style patterns were still available Style was put out by Simplicity but it appears they are no longer manufacturing this brand. To Bad they had some cute stuff. I hope Have fun on your next project your doing great. Betty Jo (Sewinstuff)
4/26/04 2:18 AM
JDpenelope said...
Mikkim, Thanks! I'm having trouble getting started sewing for myself! (Need to sew for OTHER dgd now --age 2). But have learned enough that I'm probably ready...almost! Sewin Stuff You are so kind to encourage me--that really helps to buck a person up! I don't know the technical term, but the "needle-prong" thing is attached to the plate--in the initial diagnosis they gave me, it wasn't the loopers. The machine is under warranty for 5 years and the dealer is reputable, but thanks for the warning! I really miss my serger, since I sew stretch and knit fabrics only right now.
4/26/04 5:01 AM
lilhoney57 said...
I love the fabric. I sew swim suits all the time for my 2 dd's who are on the swim team. I always line the front- just cut out another front piece on lining fabric, hand baste in seam allowance, then treat as one. Very nice!
4/26/04 8:24 AM
Julie Ann said...
Beautiful job, I'm looking forward to your review of the adult size. I just bought a bunch of swimsuit fabric from a a coop and I am searching for patterns.
4/26/04 11:56 AM
Motorposus said...
It's a beautiful suit, and beautifully lined, so you certainly deserve credit for it, even if it was too snug. You also deserve tons of credit for keeping at it. Stretch fabrics can be kind of a crapshoot sometimes. By spring, you'll probably be dying to try again!
8/28/04 3:01 PM
alicia said...
I admire your perseverence!!! Beautiful work.
8/28/04 3:17 PM
KathleenS said...
Your suit looks great; it's a pity it was too small. I'm Southern Hemisphere so this review is definitely interesting to me :)
8/28/04 5:06 PM
cindyann said...
I can relate to the frustrations of swimsuit sewing! So many tries, so few good results. Your final version does look quite becoming on you though. The bust line does not look compressed, but the comfort tells it all. It's a wonderful style and a flattering, modest suit, but still manages to look current. Well done.
8/28/04 5:16 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Penelope, you are one gorgeous woman! :-) The suit looks great -- front view AND back! Too bad it squishes, but it certainly looks like it fits in your photos. I'm Northern Hemisphere but southern US, so bathing suits are timely 10 months out of 12. Well done!
8/29/04 5:15 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful suit Penelope. The fabric and the style are both very beautiful and flattering. And what perseverance you have to keep perfecting the fit through 3 suitsl.
8/29/04 11:37 AM
rhoda bicycle said...
This is a challenging pattern! I've been sewing my own swimsuits for a few years now, always from the Kwik Sew master pattern, so when I saw this pattern on sale, I decided to give it a try just for a change. It's much harder, partly because of the zipper in the back - adding an extra 1/4" to the seam allowance seems to make it easiar - and probably fits best on, shall we say, a very young and athletic figure. I'll go back to Kwik Sew, it has a more forgiving fit for a 46 year old body.
7/8/05 11:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

New Look 6130

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now