Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2009-123 (Classy Comfort Jersey Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 239 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Donna Likes Golf
photo
Friend of PR
About Donna Likes Golfstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/29/05
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/10 10:26 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristmasHills said...
Hi Donna, I like it on you. Could it be that you are very used to tight fitting styles that have been around for a while and just need to "adjust" to a looser fit? That is certainly the case for me. I also remember when jean tops left the waist and migrated south and I thought I would never wear them, now the high style looks odd. Just a thought. And I repeat - I think it looks good on you.
7/2/10 5:46 AM
Rebecca D said...
It is a tad voluminous, isn't it? Still, it's cute and maybe if you size down for the next one?
7/2/10 6:45 AM
Levone said...
I think this is cute on you. Maybe a size down or so would help, but I like the look.
7/2/10 10:14 AM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Thank you all for the kind comments! I may just have to try this one again, smaller size, narrow back adjustment, raised neckline, etc, etc.
7/2/10 11:13 AM
Lizz said...
It's cute on you! I agree that a muslin is a must. It may take some getting used to the looser fit. To be honest, I was looking for a pattern for a summer nightgown and had picked this one out! I thought I would leave off the sleeves and take away some of the fullness in the back and it would work just fine. Silkweight Powerdry is my chosen fabric. What do you think?
7/2/10 1:30 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Liz, it could work as a night gown but take a LOT of the ease out. Otherwise, you could wake up in one big knot! ;-)
7/2/10 3:20 PM
carolynw said...
I like this - yes it is big fitting but cute and I don't really see a mu-mu on you - actually my initial response was how can she mean didn't work for me - great for a hot summer day!!
7/2/10 9:44 PM
gabc said...
I had a lot of problems with this too - mainly because I forgot to check the neckline! The result was a dress was wayyyyyyy too low cut to be of any use; it made me really annoyed. I cut it up again and made it into a top and am much happier :-)
11/7/10 7:21 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the warning!
1/25/12 5:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Self Drafted Pattern 00035
photo
Review by cloudyhn on 3/8/11
Read Review

McCalls 6532 Pattern ( Size One Size )
McCalls 6532 Pattern ( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9477 Pattern
Burda 9477 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7381 SHORTS
photo
Review by LTC on 1/6/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Day-to-night Drape Top Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Day-to-night Drape Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us