SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2009-123 (Classy Comfort Jersey Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 239 times 
Reviewed by:Donna Likes Golf
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Donna Likes Golfstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/29/05
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/10 10:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the warning!
1/25/12 5:03 AM
gabc said...
I had a lot of problems with this too - mainly because I forgot to check the neckline! The result was a dress was wayyyyyyy too low cut to be of any use; it made me really annoyed. I cut it up again and made it into a top and am much happier :-)
11/7/10 7:21 AM
carolynw said...
I like this - yes it is big fitting but cute and I don't really see a mu-mu on you - actually my initial response was how can she mean didn't work for me - great for a hot summer day!!
7/2/10 9:44 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Liz, it could work as a night gown but take a LOT of the ease out. Otherwise, you could wake up in one big knot! ;-)
7/2/10 3:20 PM
Lizz said...
It's cute on you! I agree that a muslin is a must. It may take some getting used to the looser fit. To be honest, I was looking for a pattern for a summer nightgown and had picked this one out! I thought I would leave off the sleeves and take away some of the fullness in the back and it would work just fine. Silkweight Powerdry is my chosen fabric. What do you think?
7/2/10 1:30 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Thank you all for the kind comments! I may just have to try this one again, smaller size, narrow back adjustment, raised neckline, etc, etc.
7/2/10 11:13 AM
Levone said...
I think this is cute on you. Maybe a size down or so would help, but I like the look.
7/2/10 10:14 AM
Rebecca D said...
It is a tad voluminous, isn't it? Still, it's cute and maybe if you size down for the next one?
7/2/10 6:45 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Hi Donna, I like it on you. Could it be that you are very used to tight fitting styles that have been around for a while and just need to "adjust" to a looser fit? That is certainly the case for me. I also remember when jean tops left the waist and migrated south and I thought I would never wear them, now the high style looks odd. Just a thought. And I repeat - I think it looks good on you.
7/2/10 5:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-129

photo
by: wendlesue

Review
Simplicity 2648

photo
by: katski

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now