SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6963 (Misses' Tops)

12 more reviews
Viewed 804 times 
Reviewed by:dfr2010
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About dfr2010star
FL USA
Member since: 3/27/10
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/10 1:17 PM
Last Updated:8/7/10 1:30 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GlButterfly said...
Once you get those cutting cuts in control, you can make many and have them look completely different. Good luck with the FBA. I think you'll like the fit better.
6/19/10 2:06 AM
craftygamma said...
I hate tracing patterns PERIOD. For myself, I just cut the pattern, especially a $4 pattern. I sew a lot for my daughter & grandkids, and I force myself to trace to utilize the entire cost of the pattern. I like this blouse design, though, and will be watching to see how it works out for you. Will probably buy the pattern now though.
6/20/10 1:13 PM
Margaret said...
Looks like a nice pattern/fabric choice. Good luck on the FBA -- this looks like a relatively simple method. I think those jog lines on the sleeve are to make the hem flare out correctly for the shorter sleeve... the longer sleeve should definitely be cut w/ the jog smoothed out and it's too bad the pattern doesn't indicate that.
6/22/10 9:21 PM
craftygamma said...
I have this pattern now. The jogs on the sleeve are for the hem on the short sleeve version, but you are correct that there is no indication of this. I have it cut out, but did not go any further. Am looking forward to seeing your finished version. I am making a wearable muslin (I hope it's wearable).
6/26/10 4:58 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Good luck with the fitting, it is a nice pattern. I downloaded the kwik sew link you posted...Thanks! OH....I was surprised to read that kwik sew designs for a C cup, good info to know!!!
6/28/10 11:30 AM
Longarm said...
I hope when you get back to this project you will let us know how it goes. Wishing all good luck. I just finished making this pattern and posted comments on my experience with the pattern, which you can find if you do a search under "big shirt" in the boards. I plan to post an actual review once I buy the right buttons to complete my shirt. I am really pleased with it overall.
6/30/10 6:13 PM
Margaret said...
The single interfaced layer sounds really odd, thanks for pointing that out. :( Anyway, hope it goes well once you do go back to it.
7/1/10 4:47 PM
frame said...
The cutting lines not lining up are because the shorter sleeve lengths are giving an allowance for turning under the hem. This is a very common pattern design and necessary when you turn under that hem. You correctly merged your line from the shorter version to the longer version. You will see this a lot. HTH I never heard of interfacing a back yolk in a woman's blouse, so I can't say eliminating that is bad. I do like the idea of doubling the fabric in the yoke. Good for you. Sorry this pattern didn't work out for you. There are lots more to try. :)
7/26/10 4:05 PM
Aroura said...
Thanks for this review. I'm sorry it didn't work out for you, and that you lost some fabric you really liked :( But the reveiw and coments are very helpful! I'll steer clear of this pattern if I want a nice button front shirt.
8/7/10 2:55 PM
craftygamma said...
This pattern turned out to be a wadder for me. I should have taken a picture, but didn't. My facing was all ripply at the neckling and about 2" longer than the blouse. That can just be cut off, but struck me as strange. I used a size 18 which was right for my measurements, but was too tight. I let out the back darts, and it fit snugly. I decided not to invest the cost of buttons or any more time in this pattern & wadded it.
8/20/10 11:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now