Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6963 (Misses' Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 793 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:dfr2010
photo
Friend of PR
About dfr2010star
FL USA
Member since: 3/27/10
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/10 1:17 PM
Last Updated:8/7/10 1:30 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GlButterfly said...
Once you get those cutting cuts in control, you can make many and have them look completely different. Good luck with the FBA. I think you'll like the fit better.
6/19/10 2:06 AM
craftygamma said...
I hate tracing patterns PERIOD. For myself, I just cut the pattern, especially a $4 pattern. I sew a lot for my daughter & grandkids, and I force myself to trace to utilize the entire cost of the pattern. I like this blouse design, though, and will be watching to see how it works out for you. Will probably buy the pattern now though.
6/20/10 1:13 PM
Margaret said...
Looks like a nice pattern/fabric choice. Good luck on the FBA -- this looks like a relatively simple method. I think those jog lines on the sleeve are to make the hem flare out correctly for the shorter sleeve... the longer sleeve should definitely be cut w/ the jog smoothed out and it's too bad the pattern doesn't indicate that.
6/22/10 9:21 PM
craftygamma said...
I have this pattern now. The jogs on the sleeve are for the hem on the short sleeve version, but you are correct that there is no indication of this. I have it cut out, but did not go any further. Am looking forward to seeing your finished version. I am making a wearable muslin (I hope it's wearable).
6/26/10 4:58 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Good luck with the fitting, it is a nice pattern. I downloaded the kwik sew link you posted...Thanks! OH....I was surprised to read that kwik sew designs for a C cup, good info to know!!!
6/28/10 11:30 AM
Longarm said...
I hope when you get back to this project you will let us know how it goes. Wishing all good luck. I just finished making this pattern and posted comments on my experience with the pattern, which you can find if you do a search under "big shirt" in the boards. I plan to post an actual review once I buy the right buttons to complete my shirt. I am really pleased with it overall.
6/30/10 6:13 PM
Margaret said...
The single interfaced layer sounds really odd, thanks for pointing that out. :( Anyway, hope it goes well once you do go back to it.
7/1/10 4:47 PM
frame said...
The cutting lines not lining up are because the shorter sleeve lengths are giving an allowance for turning under the hem. This is a very common pattern design and necessary when you turn under that hem. You correctly merged your line from the shorter version to the longer version. You will see this a lot. HTH I never heard of interfacing a back yolk in a woman's blouse, so I can't say eliminating that is bad. I do like the idea of doubling the fabric in the yoke. Good for you. Sorry this pattern didn't work out for you. There are lots more to try. :)
7/26/10 4:05 PM
Aroura said...
Thanks for this review. I'm sorry it didn't work out for you, and that you lost some fabric you really liked :( But the reveiw and coments are very helpful! I'll steer clear of this pattern if I want a nice button front shirt.
8/7/10 2:55 PM
craftygamma said...
This pattern turned out to be a wadder for me. I should have taken a picture, but didn't. My facing was all ripply at the neckling and about 2" longer than the blouse. That can just be cut off, but struck me as strange. I used a size 18 which was right for my measurements, but was too tight. I let out the back darts, and it fit snugly. I decided not to invest the cost of buttons or any more time in this pattern & wadded it.
8/20/10 11:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-117
photo
Review by ladylola on 9/3/05
Read Review

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $15.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alpine Wonderland Puffy Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Alpine Wonderland Puffy Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5520
photo
Review by atmomma on 12/18/07
Read Review

McCalls 6755 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6755 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us