SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6963 (Misses' Tops)

12 more reviews
Viewed 807 times 
Reviewed by:dfr2010
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About dfr2010star
FL USA
Member since: 3/27/10
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/10 1:17 PM
Last Updated:8/7/10 1:30 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GlButterfly said...
Once you get those cutting cuts in control, you can make many and have them look completely different. Good luck with the FBA. I think you'll like the fit better.
6/19/10 2:06 AM
craftygamma said...
I hate tracing patterns PERIOD. For myself, I just cut the pattern, especially a $4 pattern. I sew a lot for my daughter & grandkids, and I force myself to trace to utilize the entire cost of the pattern. I like this blouse design, though, and will be watching to see how it works out for you. Will probably buy the pattern now though.
6/20/10 1:13 PM
Margaret said...
Looks like a nice pattern/fabric choice. Good luck on the FBA -- this looks like a relatively simple method. I think those jog lines on the sleeve are to make the hem flare out correctly for the shorter sleeve... the longer sleeve should definitely be cut w/ the jog smoothed out and it's too bad the pattern doesn't indicate that.
6/22/10 9:21 PM
craftygamma said...
I have this pattern now. The jogs on the sleeve are for the hem on the short sleeve version, but you are correct that there is no indication of this. I have it cut out, but did not go any further. Am looking forward to seeing your finished version. I am making a wearable muslin (I hope it's wearable).
6/26/10 4:58 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Good luck with the fitting, it is a nice pattern. I downloaded the kwik sew link you posted...Thanks! OH....I was surprised to read that kwik sew designs for a C cup, good info to know!!!
6/28/10 11:30 AM
Longarm said...
I hope when you get back to this project you will let us know how it goes. Wishing all good luck. I just finished making this pattern and posted comments on my experience with the pattern, which you can find if you do a search under "big shirt" in the boards. I plan to post an actual review once I buy the right buttons to complete my shirt. I am really pleased with it overall.
6/30/10 6:13 PM
Margaret said...
The single interfaced layer sounds really odd, thanks for pointing that out. :( Anyway, hope it goes well once you do go back to it.
7/1/10 4:47 PM
frame said...
The cutting lines not lining up are because the shorter sleeve lengths are giving an allowance for turning under the hem. This is a very common pattern design and necessary when you turn under that hem. You correctly merged your line from the shorter version to the longer version. You will see this a lot. HTH I never heard of interfacing a back yolk in a woman's blouse, so I can't say eliminating that is bad. I do like the idea of doubling the fabric in the yoke. Good for you. Sorry this pattern didn't work out for you. There are lots more to try. :)
7/26/10 4:05 PM
Aroura said...
Thanks for this review. I'm sorry it didn't work out for you, and that you lost some fabric you really liked :( But the reveiw and coments are very helpful! I'll steer clear of this pattern if I want a nice button front shirt.
8/7/10 2:55 PM
craftygamma said...
This pattern turned out to be a wadder for me. I should have taken a picture, but didn't. My facing was all ripply at the neckling and about 2" longer than the blouse. That can just be cut off, but struck me as strange. I used a size 18 which was right for my measurements, but was too tight. I let out the back darts, and it fit snugly. I decided not to invest the cost of buttons or any more time in this pattern & wadded it.
8/20/10 11:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Butterick 5584

photo
by: Futuralon

Review
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now