SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V1027 (DKNY Donna Karan New York)

Viewed 612 times 
Reviewed by:caelamb
photo

 
 
About caelamb
MI
Member since: 12/9/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/19/10 10:40 PM
Last Updated:6/20/10 9:09 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Thanks for all the details about your construction process, especially letting the dress hang on the dress form overnight. Great idea. From the thumbnail, your fabric looks really pretty. Any way you could enlarge the photo? I'd like to see a larger version - on you. Thanks for a good review.
6/19/10 11:20 PM
julie w said...
I'm also short waisted so this is good to know. Looks like a great style to use as dresses, tunics and tops.
6/20/10 1:17 AM
manola6176 said...
This sounds like a super dress, but is it me I can only see a very small picture. Shame
6/20/10 2:59 AM
caelamb said...
Thanks for the heads up on picture size! It was my first time uploading the picture.....will see what adjustments I can make!
6/20/10 8:16 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
This is my favorite pattern ever, and I love the fabric that you've chosen for your version. I'm sure it looks just beautiful on you!
6/20/10 8:41 AM
AuntieShel said...
Not sure how you read the belt directions, but having made this dress, the directions clearly state that you "narrow hem" the tie ends (step 10) which makes the tie ends a hemmed single layer having a "right" and "wrong" side. Step 12 illustration shows the back band and tie ends folded "wrong sides together" in preparation for attaching to dress, which might give the impression that the band and tie ends show only the "right" side. However, step 13 illustration clearly shows the tie ends as a hemmed, single layer of fabric, thus "right" and "wrong" sides.
6/20/10 11:16 AM
barebear said...
Very good, thorough review. The dress looks like it turned out really nice, and I love your choice of fabric. :)
6/20/10 12:05 PM
Laurie Lou said...
ooh...thanks for reviewing this. I have this pattern also... and of all the wrapped dresses I'm particularly fond of this one. Interesting. Perhaps they redid the instructions.I'm intrigued...I'll check mine on the belt instructions. No matter how you do the tie...personal preference and how much fabric you have. :)
6/21/10 3:45 PM
dingyadi said...
Really pretty dress and great fabric choice - it is gorgeous
6/22/10 8:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 6459

photo
by: roadtotheh...

Review
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1122

photo
by: VogueMistr...

Review