SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V1027 (DKNY Donna Karan New York)

Viewed 616 times 
Reviewed by:caelamb
photo

 
 
About caelamb
MI
Member since: 12/9/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/19/10 10:40 PM
Last Updated:6/20/10 9:09 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dingyadi said...
Really pretty dress and great fabric choice - it is gorgeous
6/22/10 8:27 AM
Laurie Lou said...
ooh...thanks for reviewing this. I have this pattern also... and of all the wrapped dresses I'm particularly fond of this one. Interesting. Perhaps they redid the instructions.I'm intrigued...I'll check mine on the belt instructions. No matter how you do the tie...personal preference and how much fabric you have. :)
6/21/10 3:45 PM
barebear said...
Very good, thorough review. The dress looks like it turned out really nice, and I love your choice of fabric. :)
6/20/10 12:05 PM
AuntieShel said...
Not sure how you read the belt directions, but having made this dress, the directions clearly state that you "narrow hem" the tie ends (step 10) which makes the tie ends a hemmed single layer having a "right" and "wrong" side. Step 12 illustration shows the back band and tie ends folded "wrong sides together" in preparation for attaching to dress, which might give the impression that the band and tie ends show only the "right" side. However, step 13 illustration clearly shows the tie ends as a hemmed, single layer of fabric, thus "right" and "wrong" sides.
6/20/10 11:16 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
This is my favorite pattern ever, and I love the fabric that you've chosen for your version. I'm sure it looks just beautiful on you!
6/20/10 8:41 AM
caelamb said...
Thanks for the heads up on picture size! It was my first time uploading the picture.....will see what adjustments I can make!
6/20/10 8:16 AM
manola6176 said...
This sounds like a super dress, but is it me I can only see a very small picture. Shame
6/20/10 2:59 AM
julie w said...
I'm also short waisted so this is good to know. Looks like a great style to use as dresses, tunics and tops.
6/20/10 1:17 AM
Aixoise said...
Thanks for all the details about your construction process, especially letting the dress hang on the dress form overnight. Great idea. From the thumbnail, your fabric looks really pretty. Any way you could enlarge the photo? I'd like to see a larger version - on you. Thanks for a good review.
6/19/10 11:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

More Info