Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-110 (Silk Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 502 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/10 12:30 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TJSEWS said...
Oh, I absolutely love, love, love your orange tunic! It fits you wonderfully too! And the color is great!
6/25/10 12:37 PM
ryansmumAria said...
THis is beautiful! I love all the details and it looks perfect on you. I admire anyone who will take the time to do a Burda pattern ~ I just can't get myself to do all that tracing. Orange suits you well and I love the too.
6/25/10 12:38 PM
Karendee said...
What a wonderful review with so many sewing hints and details. To me, these tunics "say summertime" and look really great on you. You have the perfect figure for this style and look so cool and comfy--though dressy. The hint about the bobby pin brings to mind my mother's way of turning tubes. Perhaps some of the "old ways" are best!! Even though you don't like the pleat in the orange tunic, I find it flirty and cool looking. Don't omit it, I'd say. The button details, elegant topstitching and modesty panel add to the perfection of these tunics. Enjoy!!!
6/25/10 1:41 PM
Christas said...
PERFECTIMUNGO! These tunics look wonderful on you! I love all the inspirational photos. What an excellent review - makes me want to see if I know how to turn on my machine. I'm wondering if I still even know how to sew, but your review sure makes me want to! Thanks also for all the terrific tips!
6/25/10 2:26 PM
Peggy L said...
Excellent detailed review with wonderful hints. Both tunics are gorgeous. Your construction is perfection.
6/25/10 2:43 PM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely beautiful - both of them!
6/25/10 2:44 PM
Sana said...
Both tunics are lovely, but I especially like the orange one.
6/25/10 3:03 PM
Birgitte said...
You look gorgeous in these tunics, love them both. And what a great idea creating a modesty panel, I'll do that on my next one, thank you! Super fantastic review. And yes, Burda is one sorry mess at the moment.
6/25/10 3:50 PM
21wale said...
Both tunics are excellent! I've been thinking about this pattern ever since it came out. Thanks for the link to the tiny-tube-turning-tutorial.
6/25/10 4:06 PM
mastdenman said...
Your tunics look much better than the magazine model.
6/25/10 4:23 PM
Mushywear said...
Both are awesome tunics. I really love both colors and they look perfect on you. What a very thorough review. The loop turning tip is the one that Kwik Sew patterns uses as well, and I am glad I learned it there some time ago. I think it works magnificently. I like the link because she gives even more detail with using a zigzag stitch and tapering the ends. Thanks for sharing. I know it will make a big difference for a lot of sewers who are not familiar with this method. Loved the Gates 1 shot too.
6/25/10 4:34 PM
Twinset said...
Lovely tunics! I love both colors on you!! So well executed, as usual :-)
6/25/10 4:57 PM
Annette1 said...
EARTH TO JANIE, EARTH TO JANIE, you couldn't look like you were "WITH CHILD" even if you WERE with child, probably! And, along with Miss Karen, I vote to keep the pleat in the orange one. I love it! And what do you mean by that crack that the side slits aren't required for wearing ease? Speak for yourself! Seriously, though, I truly do LOVE both of your tunics, and you have just the figure to flaunt them, too. I wish I could wear this style so easily. As for the "gates" in Central Park, I remember seeing pictures of those, and I just LOVED it. I thought that was SO neat, and you're right, this is JUST the color. The white linen/cotton is truly a classic. (Did I mention I LOVE white linen?) The tutorials you included for the LOOPS is a godsend. You can't believe how I avoid LOOPS, and I even have one of those fancy turner things. I'm going to try the handy-dandy bobby pin next time, of which I have several, even though I have no HAIR at the moment -- ha! -- or not much, to use them on. I always learn so much from your reviews. I know you go to great lengths when writing them, with all of the pictures, explanations, tutorials, etc. Next time I need to write a review, can I hire you? :o)
6/25/10 5:13 PM
Elke said...
Great looking tunics and they are both pretty on you! Loved your review with terrific tips!
6/25/10 5:16 PM
frame said...
Your tops are very pretty. Great review with lots of helpful hints. I'll be sure to re-read this review if I make this tunic.
6/25/10 5:26 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two gorgeous garments. Well done.
6/25/10 5:49 PM
Mahler said...
You have all reasons to love it. It is sooo lovely. Orange is a great colour.
6/25/10 6:54 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm drooling over your tunics. They are wonderful. Orange is one of my favorite colors and linen a favorite fabric. Burda patterns scare me, and then I see these beautiful garments and want to try this one. I love your reviews and you seem to be able to make any pattern look great. I think my sewing skills improve just reading and seeing the details of your posts. Thank you!
6/25/10 7:02 PM
Catbird said...
Oh, Annette, you had me giggling with this one. You are one in a million! Thank you all for such lovely and kind comments.
6/25/10 8:06 PM
Heatherrique said...
So, those metal pins are not just for keeping hair in place? Hee, hee, hee..... You created two delectably gorgeous tops and thank you so much for your review. I always learn so much from you!
6/26/10 1:45 AM
eugenia123 said...
Everything you make is so awesomely perfect and these tunics are no exception. Every detail has been carefully thought out and executed - both tunics look so beautiful. I think that one in a classic white and another in a fabulous hot orange is exactly what every wardrobe needs for the summer months. I adore them both.
6/26/10 4:44 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great summer top, love the style. Both versions are lovely. And a very helpful review too.
6/26/10 7:45 AM
Barbara V said...
Lovely tunics! Both so nice in color, fit and construction details. I notice too your daylilies blooming right outside your window to compliment your beautiful tops.
6/26/10 10:30 AM
jaeng said...
I love the fabric & color that you picked for this pattrn.
6/26/10 5:18 PM
Ann Rowley said...
Love the tunic! You can see much more of the Burda Archive here: http://www.burdamode.com:8080/en/Magazines/Archives/1270777-1463237.html
6/27/10 11:24 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I am just loving the way you got inspiration from for the orange tunic. I am sure that things like that make the garment very personal and more enjoyable to sew, no wonder your tunic makes you happy!
6/27/10 2:08 PM
Catbird said...
Ann Rowley, thank you for that link to the Burda archives! I've bookmarked it and am so grateful to you. They have been making my head spin over there at Burda.
6/27/10 3:33 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Fabulous, and what a great review! Wow, that orange tunic is to die for.
9/8/10 9:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Tessuti Eva Dress Eva Dress
photo
Review by CissieW on 1/22/14
Read Review

Butterick 5391 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5391 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0109 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0109 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Advance Pattern Company 4440
photo
Review by BrightFeat... on 6/10/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us