SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Downloadable> D-01 (A-Plus A-Line)

4 more reviews
Viewed 380 times 
Reviewed by:elainemay
photo

 
 
About elainemaystarstarstar
Member since: 2/4/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:6/28/10 5:30 PM
Last Updated:6/28/10 5:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri Smith said...
Thanks so much for this review! While I really like your skirt, I do not believe it is worth the paper it's printed on! (pun intended :) Thanks again.
6/28/10 6:05 PM
MNBarb said...
I printed my first pattern last week. It was for a child's halter top and used 30 sheets of paper. I'm in your camp, really, what a waste! When a size zero kills a tree, that is a problem. I don't think it's about simiplicity since they don't bother to provide great instructions. You did get a great skirt out of this pattern and if you make it again the use of paper will make more sense.
6/28/10 6:58 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Thanks for the tip on the egregious waste of paper. I just got some fabric that would have been perfect for this, but I may use something else due to the waste...and, why bother if the pattern is asymmetrical anyway?!
6/28/10 7:12 PM
Erin D said...
Your skirt looks great. I agree-the printing sounds completely wasteful.
6/28/10 7:42 PM
Meredith P said...
Thanks to you, when I print, I'm going to figure out only the pages I really need (if I can). That also saves me from the asymmetrical issues too! :-)
6/28/10 8:12 PM
Catbird said...
Chalk up another winner! You make the greatest things -- I'm really becoming a fan. I like how you style everything, too, like the yellow shoes with this exceptional skirt. I am in total agreement with your rant on the paper waste in BurdaStyle print-it-yourself patterns. I've printed out a few and have felt ashamed of myself for the waste! Maybe we can put some loving but firm pressure on them to come up with a new plan. Anyway, I adore your skirt!
6/28/10 8:15 PM
ryansmumAria said...
adorable! and I love love love the shoes.
6/28/10 8:34 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Love it. Beautiful!
6/28/10 10:09 PM
Elke said...
Great looking skirt!
6/28/10 10:10 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Excellent point about the paper waste and the non-symmetry! All of these problems are faults with everything in the Twinkle Sews book (along with having a separate pdf for each size, so you have to print and tape it all in order to discover it may not fit!!). Another sewer had the great idea to use the AI files in the book and alter them in Illustrator to get everything on the fold to save paper... Good thing the end result of the skirt is so nice to be worth the hassle though!
6/29/10 6:08 AM
squirrellypoo said...
And just because I'm seeing comments about this - this is a Twinkle Sews pattern, NOT one made by BurdaStyle! So the asymmetrical and not-on-the-fold problems are Twinkle Sews problems, not indicative of the other, BurdaStyle-produced patterns!
6/29/10 6:09 AM
lamstu said...
Cute skirt and helpful review. Too bad about the drafting and the wastage. Maybe we can get them to give us scale drawings of these simple patterns that we can recopy onto gridded paper. But to end on a positive note, I love it when a project looks as good as RTW (or better!)
6/29/10 8:19 AM
becca a said...
Fantastic skirt and review! I haven't yet downloaded this pattern because I didn't understand why it took 51 pages. Your skirt is so chic that I may have to print out that pattern anyway.
6/29/10 8:27 AM
Paris75008 said...
I just LOVE that skirt on you. Beautifully sewn and great review. I downloaded the pattern, I just have to have a skirt like that for my summer vacation. I'm going to print it on the reverse side of used paper I keep in a box for recycling. I would never print this out on clean, unused paper. Unbelievably wasteful! Thanks for pointing this out, your review is really helpful
6/29/10 10:37 AM
Mirakel said...
Wonderful job, it is so cute and looks better than the BR version. Thanks for the info on the pattern issues. I've tried downloading BurdaStyle patterns and have had the same complaints - I can't justify the paper waste when I can buy a similar pattern for $1.99 on sale! It looks great on you and I love the yellow shoes (although a nice yellow cardigan is a must, too!).
6/29/10 12:48 PM
valgal said...
What a cute skirt but you're right that's a lot of paper.
7/6/10 0:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 2596

photo
by: meggipeg

Review