Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 2217 (Harem pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 290 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/16/10 9:40 PM
Last Updated:7/16/10 9:41 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
A very thoughtful review of this style driven by style for its own sake. Thank you.
7/16/10 11:14 PM
mastdenman said...
I actually like the way they look.
7/17/10 0:07 AM
sfshaza said...
I think they are really cute! I love them on you.
7/17/10 2:04 AM
Fictionfan said...
These look really comfortable, even if the whole sarouel revival is silly and can't possibly flatter any shape human body. I like the way they look on you much better than some of the crotch-below-knees versions I've seen. I wonder if you had some really limp fabric, like silk jersey or voile, whether these would give you the drape the drawing suggests the pants should have. Perhaps cotton, like linen, simply has too much body? Thanks for the review and the blog details.
7/17/10 2:47 AM
julesberry said...
Fictionfan: You'd think drapey fabric would be the answer. But I don't believe it, because, as I wrote on my blog, as I was finishing these I saw a very thin, fashionable woman wearing a drapey version, and they looked just awful. Basically they swung around as she walked, drawing attention in a very unflattering way to her bum. The cotton I used was not very crisp, and didn't have much body. Admittedly, as it was light it didn't hang heavily, but as I say, I don't think that would be an advantage when the trousers are in motion!
7/17/10 3:51 AM
FreyaStark said...
They don't look too bad for light-hearted casual wear, especially just at home.
7/17/10 6:16 AM
marec said...
I think they look fun, fresh and lighthearted. They're cute! I think they would be great for a patio/terrace party.
7/17/10 10:35 AM
sewtime said...
I am with the group, I love them!!
7/17/10 1:16 PM
mendospot said...
I like them on you also. They look fun and cute. The harem pant in my opinion doesn't look GOOD on anybody either but they're fun. And you can pull it off.
7/17/10 2:15 PM
Robin Denning said...
I loved your review, it made me laugh. They really look terrific, though. I like them on you.
7/17/10 9:45 PM
yorkshire lass said...
I am sorry you didn't like these. Thanks for a very thoughtful review. I think this is one Marfy pattern I won't be getting.
7/29/10 7:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Vogue Patterns 8805
photo
Review by BarrieHayw... on 6/12/12
Read Review

Vogue 8863 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8863 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8987 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8987 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1093
photo
Review by SueV on 1/21/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us