SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5145 (Misses Coat)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1155 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 226 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/10 2:41 AM
Last Updated:6/16/12 0:11 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redside said...
Your skills--and taste--are awe inspiring!
6/17/12 8:49 AM
Legal.Dealer said...
I love the shape and color of your coat. Well done.
6/17/12 8:33 AM
MNBarb said...
I'm so impressed with your skills. This is one of the most perfect garments I've seen on PR!
6/16/12 9:06 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful, your sewing is amazing. Thanks for the great review.
6/16/12 2:26 PM
sewmaris said...
Beautiful job, and a lovely coat to enjoy. Thanks for the great review! Maris Olsen http://sewmaris.com
6/16/12 2:05 PM
Cristinagf said...
Ahh!! It looks wonderful!
6/16/12 11:13 AM
PattyE said...
Your coat is perfect...love it!
6/16/12 11:00 AM
Christas said...
Both coats are sooo wonderful!
6/16/12 9:46 AM
Dilliander said...
Both these coats are lovely and so different, great review.
6/16/12 4:42 AM
CynthiaSue said...
I never realized that this looks exactly like the J.Crew 375 dollar coat. I forget the name-Mary Jane or something. Fabulous!
6/16/12 2:14 AM
mm said...
Lovely coat. What an achievement.
6/16/12 1:46 AM
Terri A said...
Adding in my adoration... Love it!
6/16/12 1:27 AM
callmeRuth said...
Such a beautiful coat! You do such lovely work.
7/27/10 3:58 AM
ClaireEmily said...
I love the colour and style. You always make such amazing things!
7/25/10 8:51 PM
AuntieShel said...
Beautiful coat!! Thanks for a great review.
7/25/10 10:25 AM
mhk3boys said...
Very awesome looking coat!
7/24/10 12:01 PM
what is not taken said...
Beautiful coat with fabulous fabric a great combination. You are a professional and everything you create is beautiful. Thanks for your blog and for inspiration.
7/24/10 10:12 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
Love the style and the colour!
7/24/10 10:06 AM
tess said...
Your coat looks really professional and well tailored, a definate winner!
7/24/10 7:12 AM
Maree P said...
This is stunning - and as always your skills are exemplary. Great jacket.
7/23/10 7:05 PM
frame said...
This is fabulous!
7/23/10 3:10 PM
Annette1 said...
This is the PICTURE of perfection, the prettiest coat I've seen in a LONG time. :o) I really admire your workmanship.
7/23/10 1:38 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful coat and flawless sewing, as always!
7/23/10 12:06 PM
susiestitcher said...
Beautiful sewing! I made this coat last fall and just love the fit. Glad you were able to fix the sleeves to your liking. For some reason, my sleeves eased in perfectly, but I remember several others having issues. I also agree that a two piece sleeve does hang and fit better. Great idea! The color is gorgeous and I like the way you omitted the pleat. That gives me some ideas on using the pattern again for another view. Thanks also for the great step by step on your blog for attaching a lining with your raw edge styling.
7/23/10 11:34 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh how beautiful! BTW, I just peeked at your blog and see all sorts of posts I've missed (like several pages worth). Apparently I need to break up with bloglines because they aren't updating your blog on my feed. :-( I'll have to enjoy your posts later this weekend when I have some down time. So glad you've been posting, but so sorry I've missed out. Lovely, lovely coat!
7/23/10 11:12 AM
sewbehind said...
That is beautiful. I love it!
7/23/10 10:50 AM
annie11 said...
Wow! What a beautiful coat. I had never noticed this pattern before, but now I must get it! Thank you for explaining all of the adjustments you made.
7/23/10 9:39 AM
mrsbewley said...
Your coat is beautiful - love the color. Your version is much nicer than the pattern picture!
7/23/10 9:12 AM
DreinPA said...
OOOh. I just picked this up yesterday and will checking back for the sleeve corrections. Excellent-thank you
7/23/10 8:10 AM
Robin Denning said...
Wonderful coat, Belinda. I would never have seen the possibilities in looking at the pattern, but now I will purchase this pattern. As always, I enjoy seeing your beautiful work!
7/23/10 8:04 AM
Rebecca D said...
Stunning, pure and simple. And thanks for the great blog posts about how you did it.
7/23/10 6:46 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Gorgeous fabric that has made a gorgeous coat - great work!
7/23/10 4:07 AM
addicted2fabric said...
OOohhh its gorgeous! I want it!! Thanks for a very informative review. I have some gorgeous red boiled Merino that would look fabulous in this pattern. Thanks for the inspiration; I'm going to blatantly steal all your ideas and shamelessly copy your coat. Thank you :o)
7/23/10 3:52 AM
manola6176 said...
All the work you did paid off Thanks for very interesting and detailed review Your fabric choice is great
7/23/10 3:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 9885 from 1980

photo
by: cowgirlcre...

Review
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Cutting Line Designs 11202

photo
by: linda 7514...

Review