SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2010-123 (Shoulder Gather Sack Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 561 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/10 8:28 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Cute dress. Love the colors.
7/23/10 8:58 AM
cindyann said...
It's lovely and a very nice look on you. Great fabric placement!
7/23/10 9:12 AM
annie11 said...
Love the fabric! This looks very chic on you. I remember that Allie had said that the front neckline felt too high to her- do you notice that when wearing it too?
7/23/10 9:36 AM
Mufffet said...
Great use of this fabric - terrific styling! :)
7/23/10 10:13 AM
Catbird said...
I love this. Great use of fabric and very helpful review, too. I smiled at your calculations and the amortization of your Burda subscription. Your $14 was well spent! Thanks also for pointing out Allie's lovely version, which I had somehow missed.
7/23/10 10:31 AM
nicegirl said...
Annie11--the weight of the fabric pulls the dress to the back so the front neckline is very high. I tried to keep it situated in a more balanced way with a lower front neckline, but it is impossible. I don't find it uncomfortable, but it is much different than my usual style.
7/23/10 11:27 AM
Jeannine1976 said...
You couldn't have chosen a better fabric for this project. It really makes the dress and the result looks wonderful on you.
7/23/10 11:33 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
Lovely dress! Silk jersey for $5.22/yd? Holy cats, what a find!
7/23/10 11:49 AM
Levone said...
Pretty dress and lovely fabric.
7/23/10 1:25 PM
Annette1 said...
Another great review! I LOVE the way you've put this print to use, a designer dress, to be sure. :o)
7/23/10 1:43 PM
thirteenstitches said...
Darling!
7/23/10 5:52 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very clever marriage of fabric and pattern.
7/23/10 6:48 PM
CarolynGM said...
Darling dress in a truly wonderful fabric. This is incredibly cute!
7/24/10 7:06 PM
jeanielynn said...
I love your reviews. So nice with the pictures and the line drawings. You've made me want to make this dress.
7/24/10 11:15 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I love what you did with this fabrid! Certainly DOESN'T look like a sack!! ;o)
7/27/10 3:57 PM
SusiM said...
Very cute and original. Great placement of the fabric pattern.
8/26/10 11:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 8278

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 45793-1018

photo
by: nancy2001

Review
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now