SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4712 (Men's Banded Collar Shirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 487 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/10 3:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
This turned out great, both ways-with only the collar stand and with the added collar. I love that this pattern has both a knit and a woven shirt-its a very versatile pattern (now if i can manage to grade up from a size 40 to an XXL for my tall broad shouldered hubby :oP). Thanks for another very helpful review!
8/14/12 6:45 PM
dilucentelj said...
I love this shirt! Clean lines, simple but elegant styling...and nicely sewn! Great job!
7/26/10 3:24 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Kashi at Metro Textiles (265 W 37th, 9th Fl) has great mens shirting for $4/ yd. Even cheaper is H&M @ 257 W. 39th -- cotton prints and solids are $2/yd, always. A lot of it is good quality too.
7/25/10 1:28 PM
AuntieShel said...
This shirt is amazing. Impeccable sewing. Love that fabric. While I found some good deals on fabric in the garment district, none were as great as yours. Where do you go? Had to comment on that pattern envelope--so very 70's!!!
7/25/10 10:21 AM
Jolet said...
Great shirt, very special because of the specific collar. Like you stated: cool and not too casual! Worthwhile making it again. You did a great job regarding the plackets!
7/25/10 9:20 AM
pterion said...
Great looking shirt, Peter! Beautiful job on those sleeve plackets.
7/24/10 6:43 PM
Mahler said...
Wonderful shirt, eXcellent sewing skills !
7/24/10 11:33 AM
frame said...
great sleeve placket
7/24/10 10:33 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking shirt - cool, casual and elegant!!
7/24/10 9:33 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful and well made shirt! I love the style.
7/24/10 7:25 AM
tess said...
Your shirt looks great, Peter, will you be posting a photo of Michael in his?
7/24/10 7:23 AM
valerie sews said...
Lovely classic white shirt. I admired the placket/cuff too!
7/24/10 2:00 AM
paulakiss said...
What a fabulous shirt! It looks so professional and tailored! Very sexy... even with those pants which I love! Thanks for the tips. Your review makes me want to sew one for my hubby!
7/24/10 1:34 AM
Annette1 said...
VERY nicely done both in FIT and CONSTRUCTION. That PLACKET is just beautiful! :o)
7/23/10 11:45 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, all! Yeah, I'll use the weft weight interfacing from time to time, Snoo, and that's about it.
7/23/10 9:21 PM
Snoo said...
Very, very nice fitting shirt. I agree with your feelings toward iron on interfacing. The only iron on kind I ever use is the woven fabric type. It seems to do okay for me.
7/23/10 8:50 PM
RLL said...
Very classic and nicely made shirt. Who couldn't use a classic white shirt?
7/23/10 8:42 PM
MarthaH said...
Great shirt! Your sewing is lovely.
7/23/10 8:27 PM
barebear said...
It looks awesome Peter! Classy shirt.
7/23/10 8:05 PM
Maree P said...
I really like your shirt Peter, classic styling.
7/23/10 7:54 PM
FreyaStark said...
A superb shirt. Well done.
7/23/10 6:59 PM
Elona said...
I love the trim look of this vintage pattern on your trim self.
7/23/10 5:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 281988-1004

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-1013-130

photo
by: Kbenco

Review
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

More Info