SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4712 (Men's Banded Collar Shirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 480 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/10 3:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
I love the trim look of this vintage pattern on your trim self.
7/23/10 5:05 PM
FreyaStark said...
A superb shirt. Well done.
7/23/10 6:59 PM
Maree P said...
I really like your shirt Peter, classic styling.
7/23/10 7:54 PM
barebear said...
It looks awesome Peter! Classy shirt.
7/23/10 8:05 PM
MarthaH said...
Great shirt! Your sewing is lovely.
7/23/10 8:27 PM
RLL said...
Very classic and nicely made shirt. Who couldn't use a classic white shirt?
7/23/10 8:42 PM
Snoo said...
Very, very nice fitting shirt. I agree with your feelings toward iron on interfacing. The only iron on kind I ever use is the woven fabric type. It seems to do okay for me.
7/23/10 8:50 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, all! Yeah, I'll use the weft weight interfacing from time to time, Snoo, and that's about it.
7/23/10 9:21 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY nicely done both in FIT and CONSTRUCTION. That PLACKET is just beautiful! :o)
7/23/10 11:45 PM
paulakiss said...
What a fabulous shirt! It looks so professional and tailored! Very sexy... even with those pants which I love! Thanks for the tips. Your review makes me want to sew one for my hubby!
7/24/10 1:34 AM
valerie sews said...
Lovely classic white shirt. I admired the placket/cuff too!
7/24/10 2:00 AM
tess said...
Your shirt looks great, Peter, will you be posting a photo of Michael in his?
7/24/10 7:23 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful and well made shirt! I love the style.
7/24/10 7:25 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking shirt - cool, casual and elegant!!
7/24/10 9:33 AM
frame said...
great sleeve placket
7/24/10 10:33 AM
Mahler said...
Wonderful shirt, eXcellent sewing skills !
7/24/10 11:33 AM
pterion said...
Great looking shirt, Peter! Beautiful job on those sleeve plackets.
7/24/10 6:43 PM
Jolet said...
Great shirt, very special because of the specific collar. Like you stated: cool and not too casual! Worthwhile making it again. You did a great job regarding the plackets!
7/25/10 9:20 AM
AuntieShel said...
This shirt is amazing. Impeccable sewing. Love that fabric. While I found some good deals on fabric in the garment district, none were as great as yours. Where do you go? Had to comment on that pattern envelope--so very 70's!!!
7/25/10 10:21 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Kashi at Metro Textiles (265 W 37th, 9th Fl) has great mens shirting for $4/ yd. Even cheaper is H&M @ 257 W. 39th -- cotton prints and solids are $2/yd, always. A lot of it is good quality too.
7/25/10 1:28 PM
dilucentelj said...
I love this shirt! Clean lines, simple but elegant styling...and nicely sewn! Great job!
7/26/10 3:24 PM
Hilary said...
This turned out great, both ways-with only the collar stand and with the added collar. I love that this pattern has both a knit and a woven shirt-its a very versatile pattern (now if i can manage to grade up from a size 40 to an XXL for my tall broad shouldered hubby :oP). Thanks for another very helpful review!
8/14/12 6:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Patrones Magazine 306-23

photo
by: Mikgirl

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-115A

photo
by: mkruszewsk...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now