Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: S9827 - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 736 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:PittyPat
photo
About PittyPatstar
NM USA
Member since: 2/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/10/10 8:52 AM
Last Updated:8/11/10 12:18 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
47 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
frame said...
Wow, you got a lot of mileage out of this pattern. All of your garments are lovely. I think the wrong pattern picture is showing though. :(
8/10/10 10:09 AM
LynnG said...
Great job on all the different looks.
8/10/10 10:10 AM
BJ1400 said...
Wow, you have been busy! I love all the different looks - especially the Blue-Green rayon challis top.
8/10/10 10:56 AM
Aroura said...
Really like all the looks, though I think the red/gold and the purple/black are really gorgeous on you! I can't believe how many looks you got out of this, shorts, skirts, tuinics, dresses, knit tops. Wow! Great job on all of them.
8/10/10 11:02 AM
sarahinlafayette said...
Congratulations on doing so much with fabric you already had! Clearly our fabric stashes are in a similar league. This pattern looks great on you - especially the blue-green outfit.
8/10/10 11:31 AM
jannw said...
Wonderful versions all...you do have a great stash!
8/10/10 12:53 PM
MNBarb said...
You have proven that it just isn't necessary to buy a million patterns, just a few good basics that fit well and can be morphed a bit. Nice work!
8/10/10 12:56 PM
RLL said...
You got your monies worth out of this pattern! I like all of your different looks.
8/10/10 1:25 PM
katlew03 said...
Great wardrobe from just one pattern. It's amazing how different a pattern can look with different fabrics. Great job.
8/10/10 2:16 PM
Mazzygirl said...
absolutely brilliant use of a pattern, this is what I call getting good mileage! I love all your items, all so different but all so pretty. nicely done!
8/10/10 4:18 PM
treefrog said...
Fantastic! I'm really impressed with what you have done with just one pattern. You fabric choices are really great. I especially like the blue/green in the bottom right corner of the photo. Well done!
8/10/10 6:52 PM
Nancy1955 said...
You look gorgeous in each of the outfits. You got your money's worth for sure!
8/10/10 8:24 PM
Sandi S said...
You did a great job - lots of variety!
8/10/10 11:01 PM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW! what a wonderful wardrobe...
8/11/10 0:18 AM
velosewer said...
You go girl.
8/11/10 0:43 AM
mssewcrazy said...
If there was a tnt contest running I think you would have a good chance of winning. It was fun seeing all the variations from your pattern-very inspiring.
8/11/10 8:40 AM
carolynw said...
You sure got your money's worth out of this pattern - I love everything you have made - so versatile!!
8/11/10 8:51 AM
lnwmelon said...
Wow, you have inspired me. Good job!!
8/11/10 11:46 AM
wendlesue said...
Amazing and fabulous - all of them!!!!
8/11/10 2:38 PM
TalyQ said...
Congratulatios! You have used that pattern well.
8/11/10 3:48 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Congratulations! Outstanding job of making different garments from a single pattern.
8/11/10 4:54 PM
julie w said...
Very inspiring, you have really shown how to use a TNT well.
8/11/10 5:49 PM
barebear said...
WOW! What an amazing variety of pieces from one pattern! Aw, and you look great in all of them. :)
8/11/10 5:53 PM
persevering said...
Amazing! You made all these versions and each is unique. I believe I sewed 2 dresses, a turquoise silk dress (with piping that was from the coordinating print pants fabric and a matching belt to the dress) and a Liberty red cotton print dress and belt (which I would have matched to plain color pants, I also made, over 2 decades ago, when I lived overseas. I had totally forgotten about these sewn garments, now if I'll just get back to sewing .... :) So glad to see what you've done.
8/11/10 5:55 PM
persevering said...
Oh yes, the memories coming back... I made a 3rd dress too, a pretty green and medium white dotted cotton, oh my maybe a 4th too, blueish print cotton and made at least 2 same fabric to these 2 dresses for my baby girl, who is 31 now.
8/11/10 6:00 PM
JillyBe said...
I think you have too much time to sew, & too many clothes.....so I think you need to come visit me & sew up my stash w/ clothes for me. ;-D j/k of course! What an awesome job you did finding so many looks, AND every single one of them looks great on you!
8/11/10 6:08 PM
persevering said...
Yes, I made my dresses from the same pattern (or one very close to it), which I no longer possess.
8/11/10 6:10 PM
amy in mpls said...
you are the CUTEST! what a great set of looks!
8/12/10 6:18 AM
PittyPat said...
Thanks for the nice comments, everyone. Had been meaning to make alot of outfits this summer but held off until the contest start date. I usually make 1-2 summer shorts sets tops from this pattern every year as it is so easy to adapt and accent. I bought the new Butterick pattern listed in the review as I think would be a close second to the OOP one I used. Love that I could winnow down my stash, have a new wardrobe, and enter them into the contest - all at the same time. :->
8/12/10 12:19 PM
Nessa09 said...
FABULOUS!
8/12/10 3:17 PM
rebija said...
You are a SEWING DIVA!!! Absolutely amazing!
8/14/10 3:42 PM
sewmodest said...
WOW.....now gotta pick my jaw up from the floor
8/15/10 3:36 PM
RuthieSews said...
Wow! What a huge number of variations. Those simple patterns can give really great flexibility.
8/15/10 5:09 PM
Heatherrique said...
Impressively versatile, creative, and stylish!
8/17/10 2:07 AM
SexiSadi said...
Wow, I would have never guess that you got all those garments from just one pattern. Great job!
8/19/10 10:35 AM
slvrsage said...
Wow, just wow! All lovely, all kinds of different looks, and all so quickly!
8/19/10 11:46 AM
LizBa said...
You have a whole new wardrobe! You must be a fast sewer.
8/19/10 5:05 PM
PittyPat said...
Basciknits - yes, I am a fast sewer - and been sewing for many years. But, having a TnT pattern made it go even faster than ever. Even the pants, shorts and skirts - although they were not part of the contest - were made from TnT patterns - so no fitting needed. . . just cut and sew them up. (:-D) Also I had all my fabrics picked out with outfits planned and ready to go on Day 1 of the contest.
8/19/10 5:34 PM
Rybe said...
They're all great! But I totally love the blue-green top, very pretty.
8/19/10 6:02 PM
Ashford said...
A great demonstration of how to use a pattern multiple times. It saves money, the environment. and your stress level when trying to get the right fit. Your example will be saved in my How To notebook.
8/21/10 4:18 PM
KathleenS said...
I'm very impressed! You've got great use out of this pattern. Personally my favourite is the oriental dress.
8/22/10 5:50 AM
Jayceebee said...
What an inspiration you are to us all. An excellent example of creativity and ingenuity!! I will be taking a new look at my pattern stash and will try to follow your example - keep up the good work!!! BTW, another pattern which is similar but OOP is See and Sew Butterick 5145 - check eBay or similar sites.
8/24/10 3:34 AM
PittyPat said...
Jayceebee, did a search for that pattern - and looks like Butterick re-uses their pattern numbers. Found the See and Sew dress but also a coat one and a suit one - all with the same number!! Wow... never knew they did that.
8/24/10 12:55 PM
SoVintage said...
WOW love all the looks
8/24/10 3:39 PM
Jayceebee said...
PittyPat, I believe the well-known pattern companies all do that - notice that the pattern numbers never go past the 9000s. The numbers are recycled so a number could turn up in the 60s , the 80s and in 2010 and so on. Means that you should have an idea of the year/era when referring to a specific pattern number in order to avoid mistakes and misunderstandings. BTW, I'll be sure to come back to congratulate you :-))
8/25/10 3:12 PM
WildWyoming said...
What a wonderful job you did. You created a wardrobe that is the same time elegant and fun, all from one pattern. It goes to prove that you don't need endless patterns to create an effective wardrobe. Just pick a few classic styles that truly flatter you and thoughtfully make them up in the right fabrics. Great use of stash as well. You are an inspiration!
8/29/10 0:08 AM
Nancywin said...
Fabulous job! You have a pattern that is flattering on you and you have made some great variations. Very nice...
8/29/10 10:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

McCall's 6441
photo
Review by pdiddly on 11/25/12
Read Review

Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Riviera Shirt
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 5/3/11
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us