SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> S9827 

Viewed 737 times 
Reviewed by:PittyPat
photo

 
 
About PittyPatstar
NM USA
Member since: 2/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/10/10 8:52 AM
Last Updated:8/11/10 12:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
47 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
frame said...
Wow, you got a lot of mileage out of this pattern. All of your garments are lovely. I think the wrong pattern picture is showing though. :(
8/10/10 10:09 AM
LynnG said...
Great job on all the different looks.
8/10/10 10:10 AM
BJ1400 said...
Wow, you have been busy! I love all the different looks - especially the Blue-Green rayon challis top.
8/10/10 10:56 AM
Aroura said...
Really like all the looks, though I think the red/gold and the purple/black are really gorgeous on you! I can't believe how many looks you got out of this, shorts, skirts, tuinics, dresses, knit tops. Wow! Great job on all of them.
8/10/10 11:02 AM
sarahinlafayette said...
Congratulations on doing so much with fabric you already had! Clearly our fabric stashes are in a similar league. This pattern looks great on you - especially the blue-green outfit.
8/10/10 11:31 AM
jannw said...
Wonderful versions all...you do have a great stash!
8/10/10 12:53 PM
MNBarb said...
You have proven that it just isn't necessary to buy a million patterns, just a few good basics that fit well and can be morphed a bit. Nice work!
8/10/10 12:56 PM
RLL said...
You got your monies worth out of this pattern! I like all of your different looks.
8/10/10 1:25 PM
katlew03 said...
Great wardrobe from just one pattern. It's amazing how different a pattern can look with different fabrics. Great job.
8/10/10 2:16 PM
Mazzygirl said...
absolutely brilliant use of a pattern, this is what I call getting good mileage! I love all your items, all so different but all so pretty. nicely done!
8/10/10 4:18 PM
treefrog said...
Fantastic! I'm really impressed with what you have done with just one pattern. You fabric choices are really great. I especially like the blue/green in the bottom right corner of the photo. Well done!
8/10/10 6:52 PM
Nancy1955 said...
You look gorgeous in each of the outfits. You got your money's worth for sure!
8/10/10 8:24 PM
Sandi S said...
You did a great job - lots of variety!
8/10/10 11:01 PM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW! what a wonderful wardrobe...
8/11/10 0:18 AM
velosewer said...
You go girl.
8/11/10 0:43 AM
mssewcrazy said...
If there was a tnt contest running I think you would have a good chance of winning. It was fun seeing all the variations from your pattern-very inspiring.
8/11/10 8:40 AM
carolynw said...
You sure got your money's worth out of this pattern - I love everything you have made - so versatile!!
8/11/10 8:51 AM
lnwmelon said...
Wow, you have inspired me. Good job!!
8/11/10 11:46 AM
wendlesue said...
Amazing and fabulous - all of them!!!!
8/11/10 2:38 PM
TalyQ said...
Congratulatios! You have used that pattern well.
8/11/10 3:48 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Congratulations! Outstanding job of making different garments from a single pattern.
8/11/10 4:54 PM
julie w said...
Very inspiring, you have really shown how to use a TNT well.
8/11/10 5:49 PM
barebear said...
WOW! What an amazing variety of pieces from one pattern! Aw, and you look great in all of them. :)
8/11/10 5:53 PM
persevering said...
Amazing! You made all these versions and each is unique. I believe I sewed 2 dresses, a turquoise silk dress (with piping that was from the coordinating print pants fabric and a matching belt to the dress) and a Liberty red cotton print dress and belt (which I would have matched to plain color pants, I also made, over 2 decades ago, when I lived overseas. I had totally forgotten about these sewn garments, now if I'll just get back to sewing .... :) So glad to see what you've done.
8/11/10 5:55 PM
persevering said...
Oh yes, the memories coming back... I made a 3rd dress too, a pretty green and medium white dotted cotton, oh my maybe a 4th too, blueish print cotton and made at least 2 same fabric to these 2 dresses for my baby girl, who is 31 now.
8/11/10 6:00 PM
JillyBe said...
I think you have too much time to sew, & too many clothes.....so I think you need to come visit me & sew up my stash w/ clothes for me. ;-D j/k of course! What an awesome job you did finding so many looks, AND every single one of them looks great on you!
8/11/10 6:08 PM
persevering said...
Yes, I made my dresses from the same pattern (or one very close to it), which I no longer possess.
8/11/10 6:10 PM
amy in mpls said...
you are the CUTEST! what a great set of looks!
8/12/10 6:18 AM
PittyPat said...
Thanks for the nice comments, everyone. Had been meaning to make alot of outfits this summer but held off until the contest start date. I usually make 1-2 summer shorts sets tops from this pattern every year as it is so easy to adapt and accent. I bought the new Butterick pattern listed in the review as I think would be a close second to the OOP one I used. Love that I could winnow down my stash, have a new wardrobe, and enter them into the contest - all at the same time. :->
8/12/10 12:19 PM
Nessa09 said...
FABULOUS!
8/12/10 3:17 PM
rebija said...
You are a SEWING DIVA!!! Absolutely amazing!
8/14/10 3:42 PM
sewmodest said...
WOW.....now gotta pick my jaw up from the floor
8/15/10 3:36 PM
RuthieSews said...
Wow! What a huge number of variations. Those simple patterns can give really great flexibility.
8/15/10 5:09 PM
Heatherrique said...
Impressively versatile, creative, and stylish!
8/17/10 2:07 AM
SexiSadi said...
Wow, I would have never guess that you got all those garments from just one pattern. Great job!
8/19/10 10:35 AM
slvrsage said...
Wow, just wow! All lovely, all kinds of different looks, and all so quickly!
8/19/10 11:46 AM
LizBa said...
You have a whole new wardrobe! You must be a fast sewer.
8/19/10 5:05 PM
PittyPat said...
Basciknits - yes, I am a fast sewer - and been sewing for many years. But, having a TnT pattern made it go even faster than ever. Even the pants, shorts and skirts - although they were not part of the contest - were made from TnT patterns - so no fitting needed. . . just cut and sew them up. (:-D) Also I had all my fabrics picked out with outfits planned and ready to go on Day 1 of the contest.
8/19/10 5:34 PM
Rybe said...
They're all great! But I totally love the blue-green top, very pretty.
8/19/10 6:02 PM
Ashford said...
A great demonstration of how to use a pattern multiple times. It saves money, the environment. and your stress level when trying to get the right fit. Your example will be saved in my How To notebook.
8/21/10 4:18 PM
KathleenS said...
I'm very impressed! You've got great use out of this pattern. Personally my favourite is the oriental dress.
8/22/10 5:50 AM
Jayceebee said...
What an inspiration you are to us all. An excellent example of creativity and ingenuity!! I will be taking a new look at my pattern stash and will try to follow your example - keep up the good work!!! BTW, another pattern which is similar but OOP is See and Sew Butterick 5145 - check eBay or similar sites.
8/24/10 3:34 AM
PittyPat said...
Jayceebee, did a search for that pattern - and looks like Butterick re-uses their pattern numbers. Found the See and Sew dress but also a coat one and a suit one - all with the same number!! Wow... never knew they did that.
8/24/10 12:55 PM
SoVintage said...
WOW love all the looks
8/24/10 3:39 PM
Jayceebee said...
PittyPat, I believe the well-known pattern companies all do that - notice that the pattern numbers never go past the 9000s. The numbers are recycled so a number could turn up in the 60s , the 80s and in 2010 and so on. Means that you should have an idea of the year/era when referring to a specific pattern number in order to avoid mistakes and misunderstandings. BTW, I'll be sure to come back to congratulate you :-))
8/25/10 3:12 PM
WildWyoming said...
What a wonderful job you did. You created a wardrobe that is the same time elegant and fun, all from one pattern. It goes to prove that you don't need endless patterns to create an effective wardrobe. Just pick a few classic styles that truly flatter you and thoughtfully make them up in the right fabrics. Great use of stash as well. You are an inspiration!
8/29/10 0:08 AM
Nancywin said...
Fabulous job! You have a pattern that is flattering on you and you have made some great variations. Very nice...
8/29/10 10:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 8280

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 304975-1001

photo
by: Milenushka

Review
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now